Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

When One Day in December by Josie Silver landed on my doormat, this months book from the Mumsnet Book Club, I just knew I was going to love it. And I know I say the same every month but, seriously, just from the short blurb on the back, I was already desperate to know what happened next. And so I read the whole book from start to finish in just three delicious hours where my heart broke and my eyes leaked, and I fell in love with the most beautifully created characters and a plot which had me hooked right from the offset.

One Day in December starts a decade earlier when Laurie spots a beautiful stranger on the bus and, as their eyes meet, she falls head over heels in love. As the bus pulls away and the stranger blurs into the distance, there begins a year long search for “bus boy”, encouraged by Laurie’s best friend Sarah who is every bit as desperate to find this handsome stranger for her friend.

And then all of a sudden, completely out of the blue, there he is, “bus boy”, standing in her apartment, being introduced as Sarah’s new boyfriend, the man that Sarah is convinced is the love of her life.

And right there and then, having made the decision to never let Sarah known the truth, Laurie’s heart is shattered.

Over the next decade we watch as Laurie and Jack battle with their feelings for each other, struggling to move on from that first moment they laid eyes on each other, desperately trying to pave a platonic friendship for the sake of Sarah, sharing moments, and making memories, all whilst trying their hardest to love their respective partners in they way they do each other. And although I won’t spoil the story for you, nor will I tell you how it ends, what I will tell you is that it is utterly captivating at every step of the way.

Josie Silver is incredibly talented as a writer and the way in which she creates such likeable, and relatable, characters is admirable. I have never willed a character to find happiness in the same way that I have with Laurie, nor have I found myself feeling every one of her emotions as they are played out throughout the years . And although we see a dark side to Jack, and his behaviour at times is inexcusable, I still liked him, for all of his faults, and found myself silently hoping that he would just tell Laurie how he feels, that the two of them would open their eyes and see that every bit of their happiness is resting on each other.

And whilst One Day in December is ultimately a love story between Laurie and Jack, the character of Sarah is paramount to every twist and turn. And as much as I fell in love with Laurie, I loved Sarah every bit as much, admiring her fierce loyalty, her unwavering confidence, her openness and honesty, and the close sisterly bond that she and Laurie shared.

I think it’s safe to say that I absolutely loved this book, so much so that when I when I finished it I felt bereft, as though I was losing three of my very best friends. I wanted to keep reading, not to find out the answers, as the book was ended so perfectly, but just to follow the three of them over the years, to read more about their lives going forward, to continue to revel in the warmth and the happiness that I felt when I turned that last page.

And if that isn’t a sign of a good book then I don’t know what is.

You can buy One Day in December here.

** I am part of the Mumsnet Book Club and received this copy for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own ** 

 

Follow:

53 Comments

  1. Linda
    October 31, 2018 / 10:06 pm

    Sounds a great book 💖

  2. robin rue
    November 1, 2018 / 1:32 pm

    That sounds like a really great read. I have a vacay coming up next month and I need a book to curl up with – and this is it.

  3. November 1, 2018 / 1:32 pm

    It sounds like a book I need to start reading! I definitely Love to read books and when I can get a recommendation that is even better!

  4. candy
    November 1, 2018 / 1:34 pm

    Okay so I am already hooked and want to know who ends up with bus boy. Going to have to go find this book now.

  5. November 1, 2018 / 2:54 pm

    This really sounds like my kind of book,I wanted you to tell us more as in who ends up with Bus Boy. I really do need to buy this now to find out x

  6. November 1, 2018 / 2:54 pm

    I do love to read, so I’ll have to pick this book up for sure. It sounds like one I’d really enjoy. I enjoy a good love story!

  7. November 1, 2018 / 3:34 pm

    This books sounds like a wonderful read. I have to make sure to add it to my winter reading list.

  8. Melanie
    November 1, 2018 / 3:48 pm

    We are going on a winter holiday, and this looks like a great book to take along. I will have to look for it at the book store.

  9. November 1, 2018 / 4:12 pm

    This sounds like such a great read! I’ve been looking for a new book.

  10. November 1, 2018 / 4:56 pm

    This sounds like a great read! I love when a book grips you that you finish it in one sitting! Thanks for sharing, I’ll be sure to add it to my reading list 🙂

    Victoria | http://www.spokenreveries.co.uk

  11. Monidipa Dutta
    November 1, 2018 / 8:27 pm

    That sounds like a really great read. And now as you have given a review I won’t read it because it already sounds good.

  12. November 1, 2018 / 8:58 pm

    It sounds like such a great read! Nothing better then a book or tv series that grips you and you just want to binge read or watch haha xx

  13. November 1, 2018 / 9:09 pm

    I am always looking for new books to read. I’ll have to check this one out.

  14. November 1, 2018 / 9:47 pm

    This is just the type of book that I love to read. It must be good, for you to read it so quickly. I’m adding this to my list x

  15. November 1, 2018 / 11:31 pm

    This book sounds right up my alley! I love reading these kinds of novels – I will have to pick this one up!

  16. November 1, 2018 / 11:32 pm

    That sounds like an interesting book. I find relationship based books very interesting. Being transformed into another life is a neat experience.

  17. November 1, 2018 / 11:40 pm

    Wow, I’m not one to read stories very often… But this is a book I’ll definitely check out! Thank you 🙂

  18. Pam
    November 2, 2018 / 12:52 am

    I have looked for a new book for a while now, but nothing is catching my eyes! This looks really cool.

  19. November 2, 2018 / 1:31 am

    This makes me wish I had more time to read! I miss sitting down with a good book.

  20. November 2, 2018 / 6:23 am

    This sounds like a really good book, I read a lot of books like this where two people fall in love and then search to find each other again x

  21. Surekha Busa
    November 2, 2018 / 9:35 am

    I like the cover of that book and it looks like a nice and interesting book to read, I will def check this out!

  22. November 2, 2018 / 11:20 am

    I love books and the title of this one,’One Day in December’ is just so intriguing. From your review, I’d love to read the book. Sounds so sweet.

  23. November 2, 2018 / 11:45 am

    I haven’t heard of this book or Author but I love checking our new Authors and giving books as Gifts. So the next time we venture into our bookstore I plan on looking for a copy of this novel you was kind enough to share with us. Also do you have another Author you would recommend?

  24. November 2, 2018 / 1:52 pm

    Sounds like a good read! Now that the cozy weather is upon us I am always looking for new books to cozy up with!

  25. Hannah Marie
    November 2, 2018 / 3:40 pm

    This is really interesting! I’ve been wanting to read a good book and I’m pretty sure I will love this!

  26. November 2, 2018 / 3:41 pm

    Oh wow, 3 hours? It must have been a good book! It sounds really good – I can see why it had you hooked

  27. November 2, 2018 / 3:54 pm

    I really love reading but never seem to give any time to it! My favourite book is called ‘the versions of us’ and it’s sooo great I recommend it! Thank you for this great review

  28. November 2, 2018 / 5:52 pm

    I’ve recently subscribed to audible and have been really getting into listening to audio books on my way to work in the car. This book sounds right up my street so will add it to my library to listen to next.

  29. November 2, 2018 / 6:14 pm

    Not much of a book reader but this right here got me all through. Will see if i get lucky in finding one for myself. Good read.

  30. November 2, 2018 / 6:38 pm

    I just love the sound of this book, going to add it to my wishlist and hope someone buys it me for Christmas x

  31. November 2, 2018 / 7:31 pm

    That sounds like such a great book, especially since you read it in one sitting. If that’s not a sign of a brilliant page-turner I don’t know what is!

  32. November 2, 2018 / 8:01 pm

    I love a book where you feel
    You really know the characters…like friends as you say. Sounds like a great read 🙂 x

  33. November 2, 2018 / 9:54 pm

    Now, this is my kind of book. I am fixing to check it out, I just bought several for these rainy cold days, but another one never hurts.

  34. November 2, 2018 / 10:29 pm

    This book sounds so interesting, I love a good romantic novel. I must have a read. Great!

  35. November 2, 2018 / 11:19 pm

    I have to say, when I saw a picture of the cover, I was immediately interested in what it is about. I love that the characters are fleshed out – I feel like in a lot of romance novels, the characters are very flat and fall into stereotypes. Will try to pick this up soon!

  36. November 2, 2018 / 11:56 pm

    Looks like great book to read. I will check it out. Nowadays I am not reading as much I need to try it.

  37. November 3, 2018 / 2:24 am

    Sounds like the perfect book to snuggle up with a cup of coffee. I love grabbing more reading time in the cooler months.

  38. November 3, 2018 / 10:42 am

    I hope they bring out another book for you to find out what they all did next!

  39. November 3, 2018 / 3:34 pm

    I am always searching for books to read. This sounds like a great book to add to my collection. Will search for it at the bookstore here.

  40. November 3, 2018 / 9:41 pm

    Oh wow! This sounds fantastic. Adding it to my list. So many of us have had a “bus boy” somewhere in our past!

  41. November 4, 2018 / 8:31 am

    Haven’t read any of this authors other books so will definitely check it out. Thanks for the recommendation!

  42. November 4, 2018 / 9:36 am

    I want to know, did the bus boy and Lauriel ever be together or is it a forever secret?

  43. November 4, 2018 / 11:51 am

    I have just got back into reading and am on the look out for a new book, this sounds right up my street

  44. Jackie
    November 4, 2018 / 12:07 pm

    Damn it, now I need to know what happens! I am going to have a look for this book and hopefully find out. Sounds like a great book though.

  45. November 4, 2018 / 9:37 pm

    I’m always on the hunt for new books/authors. Ill be giving this one a look at for sure!

  46. November 5, 2018 / 12:54 am

    this sounds like a book right up my alley – love your review of the book and how it is tempting me to go read it right now..

  47. November 5, 2018 / 9:44 am

    oh, I will have to check this out. it is always exciting to read new books. this is a well-written review.

  48. November 5, 2018 / 10:37 am

    This sounds like a fantastic book, thanks for putting it to my attention! There’s nothing like curling up with a good book, hot chocolate or a glass of wine this time of year!

  49. November 5, 2018 / 6:09 pm

    this sounds like a great book, I love books where I miss the characters and always hope for a sequel

  50. November 5, 2018 / 7:23 pm

    I also have a copy of this book and I just love it. Hope they can have a Part 2 to this.
    Anyway, do you have any recommendations similar to this?

  51. November 6, 2018 / 5:36 am

    This looks like an incredible book to read. My vacations are nearing and I would love to spend some time reading it

  52. November 17, 2018 / 1:49 pm

    I very nearly picked this book up on the food shop a few weeks ago – I have so many unread books on my shelf that I decided not to. Now I wish I had! It sounds like a book I’d love. I might have to go back and get it! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *