When Harry met Luvabeau

With three young children it should come as no surprise that our playroom is overflowing with toys.  And whilst I am very much about gender equality and I hate stereotyping children, in a lot of ways our family has naturally evolved in a way where, whilst the girls are still very much into their dolls, Harry has naturally gravitated towards dinosaurs, racing cars, and action figures. So last year Christmas when the girls both asked for a Luvabella doll, and opened them to a huge amount of excitement on Christmas morning, I never for one moment thought that Harry would be disappointed not to receive one for himself. And yet I was surprised to discover, he was. 

When we were offered the chance to review Luvabeau this month, the most adorable baby boy with all of the features we have come to know and love from Luvabella, I knew that Harry would be over the moon to finally receive one of his own. And I was right.

Luvabeau is utterly adorable, with big brown eyes and blonde hair, very much like Harry as a baby and, very imaginatively, it was soon decided that his name would of course be Harry, “Just like me!”.

For those who have never seen the Luvabella or Luvebeau dolls before, they are literally the most fabulous interactive dolls you can imagine, with life like facial expressions, personalities, and fun games to play.

Luvabeau requires 4 C Cell batteries which aren’t included, something I always think is a real shame as there is nothing worse than making a mad dash to the shop and hunting down a screwdriver. But still, he was well worth the wait.

Luveabeau also comes with four interactive accessories – a dummy, a bottle, a lamb toy and spoon.

Each accessory enables a different feature and Harry was so excited to have his own ‘real life baby’ to feed. Luvabeau tells you when he is hungry or thirsty, even asking for more if he isn’t quite full.

By using the spoon he chews his food, and when it’s time for his bottle he sucks, and I guess when you are a young child those kind of things are pretty amazing. I actually felt quite emotional at the pride in Harry’s face as he fed and burped his baby.

When Luveabeau cries you can pacify him with his dummy, or rock him to sleep and his eyes close as you lay him down for bed. It was adorable to hear Harry tucking him up for bed, repeating all of the same phrases I say to him every night at bedtime.

Harry’s favourite feature was most definitely that, just like him, Luvabeau is a real chatter box! The more you talk to him the more he talks back and he eventually moves from baby babble to 100 clear words and phrases, just like a real baby meeting his milestones. I think this is really impressive for a doll and every time Harry heard a new word of phrase he got so excited!

By playing with the toy lamb, tickling her feet or tummy, and through games such as Peek-a-boo, Luvabeau responds with the most adorable giggle.

At four Harry was quick to work out how to play with Luvabeau, knowing that when he heard a kissing sound he had entered play mode, or that using the Lamb led to him learning new animal noises.

For me, my favourite thing about Luvabeau is that he really encourages a child to learn how to nurture and care for a small baby. Harry is such a loving little boy and yet to see him play with his dinosaurs or smash down towers of lego, we don’t often get to see that side of him through play. But the way he rested his head against Luvabeau’s chest to listen to his heartbeat, gently rocked him to sleep, or tickled his tummy during playtime, was just heart warming. “My love my baby!” he told me, and my heart could have burst.

Currently on sale at Argos for £89.99, there’s no denying that Luvabeau is more expensive than the average doll. That said, Luvabeau is way more than just a doll. Having seen the way my girls play with their Luvabella dolls, and now Harry with Luvabeau, they are a real learning experience to teach social development, problem solving, nurturing skills and most of all how to express love and affection. Honestly, if you could see the way that Harry looks at Luvabeau it is with complete and utter true love in those eyes, and the only negative I could possibly think of is that, every time I see the two of them together, they make me long for a sixth little dove….

** We were sent this item for the purpose of this review and compensated for our time. All words and opinions are my own unless other wise stated ** 

Follow:

62 Comments

  1. Alexandra
    October 31, 2018 / 12:31 pm

    What a cool toy! I can imagine this would be quite a nice interactive and learning experience for kids. And Harry is just lovely! 🙂

  2. October 31, 2018 / 1:51 pm

    Seems like harry loves toys just like I do. I can bet after seeing it that he’s loving it. Who wouldn’t. Such a lovely thing.

  3. October 31, 2018 / 1:53 pm

    It’s lovely how the doll encourages a nurturing side to Harry….it sounds like playing with it is a really interactive learning experience!

  4. October 31, 2018 / 2:44 pm

    Learning how to take care of small when small. I bet Harry would be a good daddy in the futire

  5. October 31, 2018 / 3:39 pm

    That is so sweet! I can totally relate- I have 2 boys…one of them is 4, and he is definitely a “boy” with his play. But he also has a very sweet side to him- I could see him loving this toy and taking care of the baby. Great idea!

  6. October 31, 2018 / 3:50 pm

    I can see that Harry is enjoying his new toy. A doll like this will nurture a child to be more responsible, caring and loving.

  7. October 31, 2018 / 4:39 pm

    So cute! Reminds me of the American Baby Alive dolls. Looks like Harry is loving his doll too. I so agree, I don’t like gender stereotyping. When T was younger she loved trains and cars and she had loads 🙂

  8. October 31, 2018 / 10:27 pm

    What a cute toy. My son would love to play around with this. It is so cute!

  9. November 1, 2018 / 1:39 am

    That doll is so cute! Also, an amazing tool to help kids learn about nurturing. Looks like he loves it though! I Gender stereotypes can go out the window. Younger me was a power ranger, wrestling toys and Transformers fan whilst loving the occasional barbie doll here and there.

  10. Catherine Santiago Jose
    November 1, 2018 / 2:11 am

    My daughter and my son always love to with their stuff toys and they treat it as a little and I agree that a doll like this will help the child to be more responsible and to learn how to take care the small baby. This is so cute and I would love to buy this for my kids.

  11. November 1, 2018 / 3:26 am

    This is great for kids who are expecting to have a new baby sister or brother. It will make them feel that they are responsible of taking care of the baby in a fun way.

  12. Bindu Thomas
    November 1, 2018 / 4:50 am

    What a cute and amazing toy! Great gift for kids. This is a good idea for making child more responsible.

  13. November 1, 2018 / 7:22 am

    How wonderful to see this doll bringing out such a lovely quality in Harry. Mine has a thing for these type of interactive toys too. It would made a fab Christmas gift! Xx

  14. November 1, 2018 / 8:19 am

    Oh my goodness, this is so cute. What a great interactive doll! I agree, I don’t think dolls are just for girls at all.

  15. November 1, 2018 / 8:44 am

    It sounds like a fantastic doll. So many features & definitely great for developing nurtuing skills 🙂

  16. November 1, 2018 / 9:40 am

    Oh my goodness this is so adorable! I searched high and low for a boy doll when my boys were little. Not they were bothered they just loved dolls. Harry looks too cute with his new baby.

  17. Jackie
    November 1, 2018 / 12:49 pm

    Ooh that looks like a great gift for sure. My son used to love carrying around his ‘baby’ so I imagine he would appreciate this because it’s interactive!

  18. Eboni Dixon
    November 1, 2018 / 1:20 pm

    This is amazing! I love that Harry got one of his own (and that he called it harry). I love the idea of inclusivity and smashing down gender roles from such a young age! Great review!

  19. November 1, 2018 / 1:34 pm

    Good for Harry. That looks like an amazing doll. And adorable too just like Harry. I truly enjoyed looking at all these photos.

  20. November 1, 2018 / 1:43 pm

    Looks like Harry had a great time with his doll and what a caring little boy! I really like the look of these dolls

  21. November 1, 2018 / 3:09 pm

    That’s so sweet. I have two boys, and they both have a baby doll. One had a girl and one has a boy. They love playing with them, even my older boy who is almost 8.

  22. November 1, 2018 / 6:52 pm

    Oh what fun. I can’t imagine teaching a doll to speak. Seems unreal no?

  23. November 1, 2018 / 9:38 pm

    So cute!! Lol. Man! I’m not sure there were interactive dolls when I was a kid. Barbie & Ken and the closest thing to an interactive doll was one I had that could open and close her eyes as you lifted her. Lol. Toys should be gender-neutral even though kids might have a favourite. Heck, I only started wearing skirts and dresses at 18 or so. I was a pants gal lol.

  24. November 1, 2018 / 10:08 pm

    Luvabeau Is such a great idea and my little boy cousins are always taking my dolls to play with! Will signpost them to this!

  25. November 1, 2018 / 10:23 pm

    I would love this….if I didn’t have such an irrational fear of dolls. Darn you Child’s Play series!!!! lol. But seriously, this would be a perfect gift for my nephew. I will be checking this company out!!

  26. November 2, 2018 / 2:35 am

    happy he’s enjoying his new toy!

  27. November 2, 2018 / 3:18 am

    It is great there are interactive dolls for both boys and girls. When I was little, I had wished for something like this.

  28. Sundeep
    November 2, 2018 / 9:59 am

    This looks the perfect gift for the little ones. This baby doll is amazing. And Harry looks so happy after getting his doll. He is damn cute

  29. November 2, 2018 / 10:27 am

    Aww, he’s so adorable, it’s so obvious how much he loves his Luvabeau doll! I think it’s great that they’ve made one that’s perfect for little guys! When my kids were that age, no 3 was into dinosaurs like her older brother, but my youngest, just never got into them. Kids are always keeping you on your toes!

  30. Princess Quinn
    November 2, 2018 / 12:07 pm

    These dolls are purely awesome and lovely. I like it when toys are extra innovative and interactive. I am sure kids and the not so young ones would love it.

  31. November 2, 2018 / 12:23 pm

    Love these kinds of toys, they are both fun and educational

  32. Melissa
    November 2, 2018 / 8:05 pm

    That is so adorable!! I am sure my son would enjoy playing with that as well. It is great to see a boy doll.

  33. November 2, 2018 / 8:21 pm

    Looks like he enjoyed playing with her and posing for those cute pics! Love all the bits the doll comes with.

  34. November 2, 2018 / 11:20 pm

    This is awesome! I love seeing a boy doll! Recently, I found my twelve year old son was playing barbies with his six year old sister! It was great!

  35. November 3, 2018 / 12:05 am

    This was so sweet to read. Toys like this help bring joy and educational experiences to children. Christmas is right around the corner, maybe I’ll get it for one of the kids in my life.

  36. Gervin Khan
    November 3, 2018 / 4:17 am

    Wow, this Luvabeau toy looks really cute and I am glad that they love and really enjoyed playing it. Since Christmas is near I think this is the best Christmas gift to receive by my kids.

  37. November 3, 2018 / 5:40 am

    Such a cute post. I think it’s great that you were able to find one for him. I’ve never heard of them before but it looks like it would be a great gift idea!!

  38. November 3, 2018 / 9:37 am

    Luvabella and Luvebeau look like an amazing toy for any gender. Glad your kids enjoy it!

  39. November 3, 2018 / 11:36 am

    I’ve seen these dolls everywhere lately and my youngest daughter would love one for the holidays so much! She is baby doll obsessed and these are so much more than the average doll.

  40. Elizabeth O
    November 3, 2018 / 12:48 pm

    Perfect doll to recommend for kids so they are able to learn how to value a real child in the future. Kids will surely enjoy this kind of stuff. Thanks for sharing it!

  41. November 3, 2018 / 5:38 pm

    That is a seriously amazing looking doll. So realistic too. My son has a doll and while he doesn’t play with it anymore he does sleep with “Baby” every night and refuses to let me take it out of his bed to give him more room.

  42. claire
    November 3, 2018 / 9:53 pm

    Definitely a fun activity for kids to learn how to use tools and play with the doll. Your son is so good looking!

  43. November 3, 2018 / 11:54 pm

    I would have absolutely loved one of these when I was younger. Such a great toy and would make a lovely gift.

  44. November 4, 2018 / 1:31 am

    Learns to speak?? Oh my gosh ! I need two right now, please??! haha That way. the two girls can talk to their dolls and I can also rest my ears. haha

  45. Surekha Busa
    November 4, 2018 / 3:35 am

    Nice! I love a toy that will help children on how to help them to be responsible and on how to take care of someone .

  46. Waren Jean
    November 4, 2018 / 5:11 am

    Oh my, this is exactly what I was looking for for my niece. I will save up to buy her something like this, in girl version!

  47. November 4, 2018 / 12:11 pm

    He looks very impressed with his doll. We have luvabella and Eliza plays with her all the time

  48. November 4, 2018 / 1:13 pm

    Oh the doll looks so good and one that my daughter would love. I hate how some people still stereotype toys. Toys are toys, all should be played with. Harry looks super happy.

  49. November 4, 2018 / 5:47 pm

    This is amazing! This is such a great way to make all of our kids feel included. Kids shouldn’t have to worry about “societal norms” when it comes to something as simple as what they play with!

  50. November 4, 2018 / 6:37 pm

    Arhhh this is super cute and yess sterotyping toys is still a thing a lot do isn’t it. But your boy is totally learning from this a skill boys and girls should be able to do. It also looks like great fun too !!!

  51. November 4, 2018 / 7:04 pm

    That’s kind of cool that he learns animal noises. It reminds me of my daughter when she was young and so excited to know all of the animal noises.

  52. November 4, 2018 / 9:39 pm

    Like you guys we have so many toys, with 2 girls probably more dolls and tea sets however Alfie always gravitates towards the cars and balls. This is a great doll and I am pretty sure it will appear on a Christmas list this year!

  53. blair villanueva
    November 5, 2018 / 5:51 am

    This is a cute toy!
    I remember back in the days when my Mom bought a doll for my little brother, in preparation of the arrival of our little sister. It serves as a training sessions for him.

  54. November 5, 2018 / 11:32 am

    this is interesting, what a great toy that allows it is to be educational and fun at the same time

  55. November 5, 2018 / 11:54 am

    Oh look at Harry’s face! He clearly adores the doll and I love how it is bringing out his nurturing side. This is why all toys should be free from any gender bias and children should feel free to play with any toy that they like. Such a fab interactive doll x

  56. November 5, 2018 / 1:43 pm

    I remember my dollies when I was younger, I’m sure they’e come a long way! Looks like harry is enjoying:)

  57. November 5, 2018 / 3:00 pm

    Aw, they make such a cute pair! I’m sure Caspian would love this too. Great for Christmas.

  58. November 5, 2018 / 9:35 pm

    Ah I love that Harry has one too, he looks adorable with his doll. I’m amazed we don’t have one of these, my girls love dolls. It’s given me an idea for Holly for Christmas x

  59. November 7, 2018 / 3:09 pm

    Luvabeau looks like a cool toy. I will suggest this to my cousin, her daughter is a late talkers. This might help.

  60. November 17, 2018 / 1:57 pm

    I love the sound of this – my four year old would love a baby, he is so loving and sensitive. He always plays with the dolls at the childminders. It’s quite pricey though! I’m not sure if he’d play with it enough xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *