Review: Introducing the huggable Lumo Stars

Just like most children, my youngest three go crazy for a plush toy. I swear their huge collection of cuddly toys take up more room in their beds than they do! And yet when it comes to cuddly toys, there is always room for more, especially when that’s the new huggable Lumo stars!!

This plush new toy collection, launching later this month, includes common animals living in the Nordic countries, in realistic and fantasy colors that are taken from nature.

“Eyes sparkle like auroras, fur colors are from common berries, like blueberry and wild strawberries, from the different colors of the four seasons, from the trees, sky and sea. Northern Brights have their special patterns inspired by the Nordic nature. The fur material is carefully chosen and the softness makes it so huggable.”

And let me tell you, they are utterly adorable!!

I love that, unlike like other plush toys, they are born from the most beautifully illustrated storybook, by Kati Helijakka, Northern Brights Bedtime Story. The story tells the tale of Nordic animals who live in a land which is filled by blinding light and mystical darkness. As Summer grows to Autumn, and then a dark Winter, the animals share their excitement over the Northern Lights whilst building on their friendships, a theme which as a parent, I think is so important.

The children’s favourite thing about the book is that it brought their new friends to life, with each plush character represented within the story. By the end of the story they had each chosen a favourite and decided which character they would most like to buy next! And with 36 different toys available in sizes 8.5cm, 15cm and 24cm, there is ample choice to build up a huge collection. Megan’s favourite was undoubtedly Wuff, an adorable dog who she hasn’t put down since he arrived!

The Lumo Stars also has a free app where you can scan your Lumo buddy using the QR code on the tag, give it a name and enjoy a number of activities such as playing games, feeding and making sure your Lumo animal sleeps well! You can even take silly selfies and share them with friends, as well as reading educational cards that are full of fascinating facts.

We loved that the Lumo Stars come in a range of sizes ranging from £12.99 for the large, £6.99 for a classic and even keyrings at just £3.99. It’s great that the range is affordable for all budgets, and that children can use their pocket money to purchase a smaller sized keyring or save up for a larger Lumo Stars toy. Eva, who is obsessed with keyrings, was more than happy with her rainbow puffin, Lenni.

Not only do the children adore this new range, but I do too. I think they offer so much more than a standard plush toy, and alongside the book they provide a wonderful bedtime story with a tangible character to love and hold when the lights go out. We will definitely be adding to our collection, and if the children get their way, their beds will soon be overcrowded with all thirty six!!

 

** We were sent these items for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own unless otherwise stated **

 

 

 

Follow:

57 Comments

  1. April 13, 2018 / 8:43 pm

    Oh my goodness how cute are all those toys, I love that they have their own books! Absolutely fantastic and such a great idea!

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:23 pm

      They are adorable Sarah! xx

  2. April 14, 2018 / 6:41 pm

    Oh wow these are adorable! Alfie would love these – he’s also a big fan of cuddly toys, so much that Grandad built him a zoo!

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:19 pm

      Oh that sounds amazing!! cx

  3. April 14, 2018 / 8:10 pm

    Oh you got Lenni, this is on Alice’s wish list! Her favourite was Wuff too, with his big ears flopping over his eyes, so cute! It’s a gorgeous collection and the book brings it all together x

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:18 pm

      Eva is obsessed with Lenni! She loves anything in rainbow colours! xx

  4. April 15, 2018 / 6:33 am

    Ah these look lovely and a real hit in your house! They’re not badly priced which is good too.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:15 pm

      Yes I love that there is a price range! xx

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:07 pm

      Me too! It’s such a great idea! xx

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:06 pm

      They are super cute! xx

  5. April 16, 2018 / 5:55 am

    These are so adorable, I know a little girl who would go mad for these

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:05 pm

      They are lovely aren’t they! xx

  6. April 16, 2018 / 9:47 am

    These have got to be the most adorable huggable creatures ever – my boys LOVE them! I wish I was smaller some days…. hahah!

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:04 pm

      Haha me too! xx

  7. April 16, 2018 / 11:06 am

    I think the little faces will appeal to kids. It’s great they are a bit different to most ordinary soft toys.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:03 pm

      They are adorable aren’t they> xx

  8. April 16, 2018 / 11:43 am

    Oh no I can see another trend for my sister to be getting into aha! Great review yet again!

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:03 pm

      Thank you! They are fab! xx

  9. April 16, 2018 / 1:13 pm

    Those look cute along with your daughter. Really great idea and post.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 6:02 pm

      Thank you Aditya! xx

  10. April 16, 2018 / 10:42 pm

    Yep my daughters would love these! I love how they have bought the story to life and with these cute little character set.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:55 pm

      They are lovely and the book is a great addition to the collection! xx

  11. April 16, 2018 / 10:52 pm

    The Lumo Stars are absolutely beautiful and I love how they are influenced by not only beautiful Nordic animals but also an illustrated book which from what I can see is magical. I love the surrealism of the colours used for the plus toys as well they are beautiful.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:54 pm

      They are lovely aren’t they? The kids have gone crazy over them! xx

  12. April 17, 2018 / 2:35 am

    That’s really awesome! I love how adorable they are and I’m pretty sure they’ll be a hit with the kids! This will also encourage kids to read more and have a great time reading to their new “friends” too.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:53 pm

      Yes definitely! My kids love them! xx

  13. April 17, 2018 / 2:45 am

    I love that this collection is so much more than just a plush toy, the corresponding book really does make it that much more special!

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:53 pm

      Me too! It really makes them come alive to the children! xx

  14. April 17, 2018 / 3:09 am

    Oh my! These are adorable! Yeah, my youngest also likes her plushies. And she has been begging me to buy those puppy eyed beanies because they are so adorable. I am tempted but they cost a lot of money and I know she wouldn’t stop asking for them. hahaha

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:53 pm

      Yes they never want to stop at one do they? They are gorgeous though! xx

  15. Geraline Batarra
    April 17, 2018 / 4:38 am

    Those are so cute and I am sure that my daughter will like it she really wants to read a book.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:52 pm

      They are great Geraline, my girls love them! xx

  16. April 17, 2018 / 7:28 pm

    I like how realistic the toys are. Growing up in the ’90s, my toys consisted of plush toys. I kept so many hoping I can pass them down to my children.

    • Laura Dove
      April 18, 2018 / 9:26 am

      Me too, they are super cute! xx

  17. Akamatra
    April 17, 2018 / 7:45 pm

    My daughter would love these! She’s very font of the ones I crochet for her but these are a whole new level of cute!

    • Laura Dove
      April 18, 2018 / 9:05 am

      They are adorable aren’t they?! xx

  18. April 17, 2018 / 8:40 pm

    Those toys are super cute! My nephew is going to love this, though he is more interested in his tablet these days!

    • Laura Dove
      April 18, 2018 / 9:04 am

      Ahh it’s good to see them drag themselves away from technology! xx

  19. April 18, 2018 / 9:58 am

    These are super cute! Alessia would love these , especially with the additional book. She’s a little
    Book worm

    • Laura Dove
      April 20, 2018 / 11:09 pm

      It’s lovely to see them enjoying books isn’t it?! xx

  20. April 18, 2018 / 11:58 am

    My daughter would totally lose her nut if I came home with these cute adorable toys. She is going through a major soft toy moment.

    • Laura Dove
      April 20, 2018 / 11:07 pm

      I was exactly the same at that age! xx

  21. Autumn Murray
    April 18, 2018 / 4:33 pm

    My niece would love these – they are so cute! I love the price range as well. Thank you!

  22. April 18, 2018 / 7:14 pm

    It’s crazy all the things toys do now as opposed to when we were children. From the apps to all of the other elements, these toys are magical in a way I cannot express. Those plush toys do look pretty adorable on their own as well.

    • Laura Dove
      April 20, 2018 / 11:03 pm

      Yes! It’s a whole new world isn’t it? xx

  23. April 18, 2018 / 9:32 pm

    They truly look adotable but we have very strict rules against soft toys… our Son got one when he was born and he still “uses” that one. I told the whole family that we have a no soft toy policY, yet 2 years later we already have 3 more animal figures in his bed and who knows how much more at the grandparents…. no rules can stop plushes ?

    • Laura Dove
      April 20, 2018 / 11:02 pm

      My son is the same! But my girls have about 50 each!! xx

  24. April 19, 2018 / 11:04 pm

    Oh these are so adorable! My daughter loves cuddly toys like this, she has a few of them. These look like something she would like and I think the book it’s a great addition.

    • Laura Dove
      April 20, 2018 / 10:51 pm

      They are fab Pamela, and the book is just lovely! xx

  25. Blair villanueva
    April 21, 2018 / 2:29 pm

    Omg these huggable toys are so cute! And they all have beautiful eyes 🙂
    I want them all!

    • Laura Dove
      April 22, 2018 / 8:11 pm

      Dont they just? Super cute! xx

  26. April 22, 2018 / 12:11 pm

    I love the idea of combining a toy with a book. Then the kids will be excited to read about their toy and what adventures they had. So it encourages them to like reading as well.

    • Laura Dove
      April 22, 2018 / 8:06 pm

      It’s a great idea isn’t it? And so lovely for the kids! xx

  27. April 23, 2018 / 8:38 am

    I know this has little to do with anything, but I love the penguin shirt. We are a penguin family. Isla wants a rainbow Lumo!

  28. April 23, 2018 / 8:44 am

    They are super adorable aren’t they. I love the idea of them coming with a story to help spark young imaginations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *