Review: Disney Princess Ariel styling head

One of the girls favourite things to do at the moment is style hair which, although lovely to see, is not quite so lovely when it’s my hair being pulled, twisted and yanked out by the handful. For that reason I was incredibly grateful to be sent the Disney Princess Ariel Styling Head, and they were super happy about it too!

The girls have been Little Mermaid fans from being tiny, singing along to every song and acting out their favourite scenes – even if that does mean arguing it out over who gets to be Ariel!

This deluxe styling head looks just like the famous Princess from the Disney film and comes with 14 accessories to create stunning new looks – a hairbrush, tiara, 3 spiral hair twists, 2 heart hair clips, 2 seashell hair clips and 4 rubber band hair ties.

The girls loved that Ariels hair was silky soft and so easy to brush. My girls can get a little brutal with the hairbrush (don’t I know it!) so it was great that Ariel’s hair didn’t tangle or become knotty, even after some vigorous brushing!

The girls loved experimenting with different hair styles using the accessories, although did find it frustrating at times as the styling head is very light weight and easily topples when styling the hair. It would’ve been good to have suckers on the bottom to stick the styling head to a flat surface.

I love toys that can double up to teach our children something and, although the styling head was certainly fun, it also really helped with their fine motor skills. Megan suffers with hypermobility, which can often mean she struggles with her motor skills, and is easily frustrated as a result.

It was great to see her really focusing on styling Ariel’s hair with the hair clips and bobbles and later, when the girls finally allowed Harry a chance to play, he too enjoyed doing the same. Priced at £18.99 I think that’s a great price for a toy which the children will play with, over and over, for years to come.

Megan was so proud of her hair creation, “Doesn’t she look beautiful?” she told me, “I wish I had red hair like Ariel!”

You can join in with the #StylingHeadMonth Twitter Frenzy at @UKmums.tv on Friday 13th April 1-2pm. See you there!

 

** We were sent this item for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own. **

Follow:

42 Comments

  1. April 1, 2018 / 3:42 pm

    This Ariel styling head is so cute. Can image how your kids enjoy playing with it. Made me remember a styling head I had as a child. I loved to brush and style it in different ways. Bad thing I had the brilliant idea one day to try out a short hair style… after that there weren’t a lot of options left to play with it 😉

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 3:01 pm

      Oh ahaha! I can imagine my Megan doing the same! XX

  2. April 1, 2018 / 4:52 pm

    It looks like they are having so much fun! I used to love the little mermaid as a kid, great review! thanks for sharing

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 3:00 pm

      I still love it now! xx

  3. April 1, 2018 / 5:44 pm

    What a cute gift! my niece would love it!

  4. April 1, 2018 / 6:38 pm

    Looks like so much fun to have, if only we had this when I grew up.

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 3:00 pm

      Oh I know! I wanted one too! xx

  5. April 1, 2018 / 7:28 pm

    Omg I always wanted to have a toy like this but just never got one! Looks like you have a future stylist there 😉

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:59 pm

      Me too! My girls love it! xx

  6. April 1, 2018 / 11:24 pm

    Looks like she really enjoyed playing with Ariel. My granddaughter would love one of these, so thank you for sharing because which little girl doesn’t get lost for hours playing dressup and styling her doll? Looks like a gift is order. 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:58 pm

      I agree, I would have loved it at their age! xx

  7. April 2, 2018 / 12:10 am

    They are precious! I would have so much fun teaching them to braid and do all the fun hairstyles!

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:58 pm

      Me too! I don’t get a look in! xx

  8. April 2, 2018 / 5:00 am

    This is adorable! I love all the Disney princesses 🙂
    Xo, Sondra
    Cuisineandtravel.com

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:57 pm

      Us too! The girls go crazy for them! xx

  9. April 2, 2018 / 6:34 am

    This is such a cute toy. I wonder if they have a tiana doll that I could for my niece to style her hair. Hmmmm

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:57 pm

      Oh I’m not sure, we love Tiana too! xx

  10. April 2, 2018 / 6:52 am

    It is so adorable. By the by, the little child is also wonderful. I love her smile.

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:57 pm

      Ahh thank you so much! xx

  11. Minakshi Bajpai
    April 2, 2018 / 11:02 am

    Oh my god. This toy is so cute , beautiful and engaging at the same time. My daughter will love it.

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:55 pm

      The little mermaid is the best isn’t she? xx

  12. April 2, 2018 / 1:41 pm

    What a great gift for little girls. I know one or two who would love this. Thanks for the thorough and thoughtful review.

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 2:55 pm

      Thank you for reading Cris! xx

  13. April 2, 2018 / 3:19 pm

    This is really very beautiful. I would love give this to my daughter she will like it.

    • Laura Dove
      April 2, 2018 / 4:02 pm

      I’m sure she would enjoy it! xx

  14. Akamatra
    April 2, 2018 / 6:46 pm

    Awww what little kid wouldn’t like to play with this? And learn some easy hair styles too? Lovely!

    • Laura Dove
      April 3, 2018 / 7:16 pm

      I agree, it’s fun for them to play pretend too! xx

  15. Danielle Fox
    April 2, 2018 / 8:39 pm

    My 5 year old would love this. I just wonder how to get all the makeup out of the hair – is it easy to wash?

    • Laura Dove
      April 3, 2018 / 7:08 pm

      The girls haven’t put any make up in the hair yet although I think it would be easy to wash. I read a great tip somewhere to use fabric softener on dolls hair to make it brushable again! xx

  16. Andrea
    April 3, 2018 / 12:01 am

    This is so awesome when I was a little kid I loved the little mermaid. I even had a themed mermaid party like three years in a row. I am pretty sure my little cousin would adore this.

    • Laura Dove
      April 3, 2018 / 7:04 pm

      Ahh that’s so cute!! We still love it here too! xx

  17. April 3, 2018 / 4:56 am

    Omg! That’s so nice. I wish all my barbie before have the same hair so I could also style it, but nah. This is a good present for a girly kid.

    • Laura Dove
      April 3, 2018 / 7:04 pm

      I loved doing hair at their age too! It’s so much fun for them! xx

  18. April 3, 2018 / 1:39 pm

    I had one of these when I was growing up and I loved it. I love how your girls are really getting into it, must be nice to give them a good distraction every once in a while.

    • Laura Dove
      April 3, 2018 / 7:00 pm

      They love styling hair, usually mine!! It’s a great toy! xx

  19. April 3, 2018 / 2:32 pm

    My niece had something like this but it was bratz doll head. She loved it. She would put so many hairstyles on it. This was a adorable review. Thanks for sharing.

    • Laura Dove
      April 3, 2018 / 7:00 pm

      I always wanted one when I was their age too! xx

  20. Khushboo
    April 5, 2018 / 12:54 pm

    Thats a beautiful toy.. Wish we had such toys to play with when I was kid.. It’s good option for gifting too

    • Laura Dove
      April 7, 2018 / 11:36 am

      I know me too, toys these days are great!

  21. April 7, 2018 / 8:39 pm

    I use to have a styling head when I was a little girl. Although no where near as pretty as this. I love the red hair and the fact that it comes with so many different accessories. Nice way to practice those fine motor skills without them realising xx

  22. April 16, 2018 / 7:13 pm

    How lovely is this as a styling head and I mean who doesn’t love Ariel. I remember styling heads from when I was a kid as well though they definitely weren’t this cool.

    • Laura Dove
      April 17, 2018 / 5:59 pm

      Yes!! Even I wanted to have a go, haha! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *