Review: Yvolution Glider Refresh XL

As a family there is nothing we love more than getting out and about and we do so as much as possible. Although all of the children have scooters which they love to play on they are fast out-growing them, so when we were asked to review the Yvolution Glider Refresh scooter, it came at the perfect time!

The Y Glider scooters are designed to be used both indoors, if you have the space, and outdoors and are a great way to help little ones develop their balance, co-ordination and motor skills. We decided to take ours for a test drive down the park and all three of the children were excited to have a turn.

We were gifted the pink scooter, although they are available in other colours, and the wheels can be customised with colourful wheel inserts, something which the girls were really excited about.

The deck can also be customised with both a black and blue deck insert included. The girls chose to use the black one which presses on easily.

With rubber grip handlebars the scooter is easy to hold and the height can be adjusted within an 11cm range as your child grows.

The scooter also has a brake at the back of the deck which is easy to use, even for little dare devils like mine who go at the speed of light!

The unique thing about these scooters are that they have a “lean to steer” steering mechanism which helps your child to learn how to steer correctly. The patented lean to steer system can be changed from loose to firm as your child progresses though the ranks, making them a great scooter for first time riders!

With an easy to change mechanism for the adjustable steering, we were able to flip between the three levels for each child. Although Harry is below the recommended age for the scooter he is tall for his age and level one he was more than capable of using the scooter.

At four Megan was able to use the scooter at level two and, despite being notoriously clumsy, she could steer without any problems.

And at five, Eva moved up the levels within the space of a couple of hours and was soon zipping around on the top level, much to Megan’s annoyance!

As much as I love this scooter for the customisable features and the lean to steer system, when I asked Eva what her favourite thing about the scooter was she told me, “It’s fast and it’s pink!”.

As with all days at the park, when the kids get tired, Gaz ends up carrying the children’s scooters or bikes, and today was no different. That said, the scooter is light weight which is always a bonus for us parents!

We are really impressed with the Yvolution Glider Refresh and will be looking at getting both Harry and Megan the same scooter at Christmas. Because let’s face it, one scooter and three children is never going to end well…….

The Yvolution Glider Refresh is available from Toys r Us and www.yvolution.com where you can find a range of safety accessories.

*** We were sent this scooter for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own. ***

 

 

 

Follow:

125 Comments

  1. September 17, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    This looks fab! My son has a little four wheeler than can be turned into a two wheeler, but he’s quickly getting too tall for it. I like the lean to turn feature, I bet that’s really good for building their steering confidence.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:15 am

      Yes it’s great for building confidence, they soon learn! xx

  2. September 17, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    My eldest has a scooter that she loves. This lools a great one too. I like that the lean to steer is adjustable and being light weight is a real bonus.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:14 am

      That’s always a bonus for us parents! xx

  3. September 17, 2017 / 7:44 pm

    This scooter looks fantastic. My daughter would be in her element with it. She loves the scooter she has and even at only 3 has great control of it. I know she would want one of these though, especially as it can be customised 😊

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:13 am

      I love that it grows with the child, it’s always great that something can last long term! xx

  4. September 17, 2017 / 8:04 pm

    I bet there’s been a fair few squabbles over it! I love the idea of changeable inserts for the wheels

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:13 am

      Haha just a few!! xx

  5. September 17, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    I would have freaked out over this as a child, I just know it. What a cute scooter!

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:12 am

      Me too! It’s a fab scooter! xx

  6. September 17, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    That looks like a great scooter. Mine would squabble too lol we have to buy of almost everything to keep the children happy. Glad it’s light weight as that sure does help.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:11 am

      Haha one scooter and three children is never fun! It’s fab though! xx

  7. September 17, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    Such a super cute set of photographs. Plus, everyone looks like they are having so much fun!.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:10 am

      Thanks Anna! xx

  8. September 17, 2017 / 10:22 pm

    This sounds like a great scooter! I love that the wheels are quite thick too, perfect for children. I find that a lot of scooters have really small wheels so aren’t great for more rough terrain.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:10 am

      I agree! This one is really sturdy! xx

  9. September 18, 2017 / 3:46 am

    The scooter seems cool! I loved your detailed review. And, you have the cutest family💕

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:08 am

      Thank you so much. x

  10. September 18, 2017 / 4:46 am

    We do get a similar scooter here in India. Trust me my three year old son loves no other toy as much! He zips all over the house everyday on it!

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:08 am

      It’s great when they an use them inside too! xx

  11. September 18, 2017 / 4:48 am

    I remember wanting a scooter as a child but got a bike instead. This looks so cute though. Will definitely suggest to my nieces. 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:08 am

      Ahh bikes are fun too! xx

  12. September 18, 2017 / 5:09 am

    How cool are these?! They remind me of scooters my kids had when they were little. A gift from their grandma. I tell you what, they wore the wheels off of them. x

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:08 am

      Oh I remember doing that with mine too! xx

  13. September 18, 2017 / 6:32 am

    We are just getting Sophie into the world of scooters & we are getting there slowly! I love how customisable this one is, esp the wheels! x

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:07 am

      Ahh scooters are so much fun! My eldest is never off his! xx

  14. September 18, 2017 / 6:43 am

    But Laura….we wanted to see YOU take a turn on the scooter!! I am glad your kids really enjoyed their new ride!!

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:07 am

      Hahah I did have a turn, you just don’t get to see that! xx

  15. September 18, 2017 / 6:45 am

    That glider is amazing. This looks ideal for my sisters little girl so going to show her this post!

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:07 am

      I’d definitely recommend it! xx

  16. September 18, 2017 / 7:43 am

    Love this scooter. The wheels are my favourite part of it and I really like the grips on the handle bars too.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:06 am

      It’s really good, I love that it grows with your child! xx

  17. September 18, 2017 / 8:27 am

    Ahh, my two love their scooters. It’s the only way I can persuade to get outside sometimes! This looks like a fab one and I love that you can customise the wheels. What a brilliant idea 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:05 am

      My girls love anything like that, it’s a nice touch! xx

  18. September 18, 2017 / 8:45 am

    This is really cool. We have an older model of this so no customised wheels. I’m sure my youngest would love this.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:05 am

      Yvolution scooters are fab, I’m definitely going to get two more for Megan and Harry! xx

  19. September 18, 2017 / 9:46 am

    This scooter looks great! I’m loving the customised wheels. Looking at this scooter I can imagine that it doesn’t hurt as much when it hits your ankle like scooters did when I was younger! Xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:02 am

      Haha yes I remember that too! It’s a fab scooter! xx

  20. September 18, 2017 / 10:04 am

    Alessia has a scooter like this , she absoulately loves it xx

  21. September 18, 2017 / 12:21 pm

    This sounds like a great scooter, I love the fact that the steering is adjustable, my daughter has taken ages to get the hang of the ‘lean to steer’ steering on hers so something like that might have really helped her.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:31 am

      Yes I think that’s a great feature. Lean to steer does take some getting used to so to make it easier is a real bonus! xx

  22. September 18, 2017 / 3:03 pm

    Now that is one awesome looking scooter, it looks like something you could ride for ages and get to explore lots of places.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:27 am

      The kids love their scooters, this one is fab! xx

  23. September 18, 2017 / 3:25 pm

    I’m quite pleased scooters have come back stronger than ever. It’s a great form of exercise not to mention transportation. I recently saw a man using one around the high street to run errands and shop! Your little girl can possibly run your errands when she’s older 🙂 What do you think?

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:27 am

      Haha yes! My eldest is 13 and is never off his scooter! xx

  24. September 18, 2017 / 3:39 pm

    Such a cute post! I don’t have children, but this would definitely make a fab gift! Thanks for sharing.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:26 am

      Thanks Jana. xx

  25. September 18, 2017 / 6:03 pm

    That is so cute! She is adorable with her little pink helmet! It looks very safe to ride on with the rubber mat that it has on, because it is not as easy to slip on the scooter that way! Great review!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:17 am

      Yes I agree, it helps them keep their footing. xx

  26. Joanna
    September 18, 2017 / 6:19 pm

    The scooter looks so cute and it looks like your daughter already masters it! She is really adorable on it. Scooters like this are a great way of getting the kids out of the house and playing outside in the garden or in the park. It’s so important these days, when most of the children prefer to spend their time in front of the computers.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:16 am

      Definitely! We are always outdoors, it’s way more fun that way! xx

  27. Kayleigh Bestwick
    September 18, 2017 / 7:19 pm

    This reminds me of when I was a kid! Is it too small for a 24 year old? Please say no!

    Kayleigh x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:16 am

      Haha you could always try?! xx

  28. September 18, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    My nephew has a similar scooter and he loves going fast on it, I love that he can grow with it and provided he doesnt wreck it they wont need to get one anytime soon.
    What a lovely review

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:15 am

      Thanks Anosa. xx

  29. September 18, 2017 / 7:53 pm

    I love th fact it has a learn to steer mechanism and it helps with hand eye co ordination. I used to have a scooter as a kid, glad they have improved on safety now!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:15 am

      I remember mine was metal and so dangerous, it’s crazy looking back!

  30. September 18, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    What a gorgeous wee scooter and I love anything that a child can grow with – mega awesome points for that!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:15 am

      Definitely! They grow so fast! xx

  31. September 19, 2017 / 1:57 am

    Now that is one cool looking scooter, I love that it is such a bright and colourful colour and has customizable inserts. Plus a “lean to steer” steering mechanism sounds brilliant x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:12 am

      It’s so easy to steer, less accidents that way! xx

  32. September 19, 2017 / 4:31 am

    This Yvolution Glider scooter is really a beautiful pink scooter. I love its pink color. Adjustable steering is a good feature of this produce. Your daughter is enjoying her ride.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:12 am

      It’s a fab scooter, I’d recommend it! xx

  33. September 19, 2017 / 7:29 am

    Looks like the perfect scooter for learners – love the funky wheels

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:11 am

      It really is, just need another two now! xx

  34. September 19, 2017 / 8:49 am

    I had a scooter just like this when I was a kid and my parents loved it as it wore me out! x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:11 am

      Hahah well yes, that’s my favourite part!

  35. September 19, 2017 / 9:43 am

    This actually sounds really cool – wish I’d had something like this when younger! Seems like the perfect way to help them gain more confidence.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:10 am

      I agree, the different levels ease the into it! xx

  36. September 19, 2017 / 10:17 am

    I’ve recently got this glider scooter for my kid and just loves it. Ayytime we go to garden he is ready with his scooters to carry all over.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:10 am

      Ah it’s great when they can be outdoors though. xx

  37. September 19, 2017 / 10:28 am

    What an awesome glider. It looks like a far more sturdy scooter than my children had! This would be great for my Goddaughter

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:10 am

      Yes it’s really sturdy, it needs to be with these three! xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:09 am

      It’s fab isn’t it? I just need two more! xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:09 am

      Thank you Emma. xx

  38. September 19, 2017 / 11:25 am

    My kids love scooting and this looks like a great scooter. I love that you can change bits of it to different colours.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:09 am

      Me too! It’s a great little feature! xx

  39. September 19, 2017 / 11:56 am

    Both of mine have gone through a few scooters as they’ve grown and still love it! This would have been a wonderful early model that would have lasted them ages

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:08 am

      Yes that’s the best part when something lasts a little longer! xx

  40. September 19, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    Oooh, I’m loving the Scooter. I’ve got 2 that would enjoy these scooters. I think Macsen would spend more time on his behind though! Haha!
    As an aside I’m loving Megan’s (I think) trousers! They are lovely.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:08 am

      Thanks Beth, they are from Primark! Mine spend a lot of time on the floor too! xx

  41. September 19, 2017 / 1:27 pm

    This looks like a brilliant scooter and the lean to steer system sounds ideal! I need to get the boys sorted with scooters – I need to speed up the walk to school!! x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:06 am

      Hahah yes!! These scooters are fab! xx

  42. September 19, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    This looks great and I love the fact that you can customize it. My son loves to go everywhere on his scooter, it really makes shopping trips a whole lot easier 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:05 am

      Oh definitely! Anything is easier than dragging their feet! xx

  43. September 19, 2017 / 5:43 pm

    This scooter looks fab deffo going into the consideration list for Christmas for my little boy

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:02 am

      Ah Christmas….definitely one to consider! xx

  44. September 19, 2017 / 6:27 pm

    So glad I came across this post. My little girls scooter broke in the summer and I promised her I’d buy her a new one. Me and my partner have been looking online recently as a Christmas gift for her. This one look great and I know the colour choic would win her round instantly anyway lol x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:01 am

      OH I definitely recommend this Sarah, it’s great in that it grows with your child too. xx

  45. September 19, 2017 / 6:58 pm

    That’s a seriously cool scooter! I love how bright and pink it is too. Do they do adult versions haha?!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:01 am

      Haha sadly not but I did have a try myself! xx

  46. September 19, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    Oh gosh I remember my scooter when I was little girl. I loved that thing so much. Also great outdoor activity for any child 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:00 am

      Definitely, I love them being outdoors. xx

  47. Helen
    September 19, 2017 / 8:55 pm

    This looks a fab scooter and it sounds like the girls love it. The lean to steer sounds really interesting, I’d quite like to try it myself!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 9:59 am

      Well I did have a turn Helen, it’s fab! xx

  48. September 19, 2017 / 10:48 pm

    The glider looks like a super cool scooter and will make a great gift :)x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 9:59 am

      It really is a great scooter! xx

  49. September 20, 2017 / 5:18 am

    This looks like such a beautiful scooter. I am sure that my daughter would have loved one. I didn’t get one for her until later down the line. She likes playing with it now but I think it would have been better getting it for her much sooner to help her with balance issues.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 9:58 am

      She’ll soon get the hang of it, mine have had scooters from being tiny but my youngest daughter still falls off it every two minutes! xx

  50. September 20, 2017 / 8:57 am

    I was literally just thinking in my head: ‘Oooh, one divided by three is not the best scenario…’ then I read your final paragraph, haha! Santa might need to be briefed soon, to ensure World War III doesn’t break out… 😉

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 9:48 am

      Haha yes, although I’m not sure I will survive until Christmas!!! xx

  51. Shoshana Sue
    September 20, 2017 / 10:26 am

    This a super cute glider and best of all that it has a patent on the lean-to steer, helping the child steer correctly. It is a must-have for toddlers. Wish it came in bigger sizes too 😉

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 11:49 am

      Haha me too! xx

  52. September 20, 2017 / 11:59 am

    Awww that looks like a fab little scooter! She certainly looks like she is having an awesome time with it! Love the bright colours x

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 9:06 pm

      Scooters are always fun, the kids love it! xx

  53. Elizabeth O
    September 20, 2017 / 12:21 pm

    That Yvolution Glider Scooter looks so adorable. and I think your daughter having a blast with her scooter.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 9:06 pm

      All of the children loved it! xx

  54. September 20, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    This looks like so much fun – I like that it’s lightweight too because us parents inevitably end up carrying them!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 8:56 pm

      Haha yes, why does that always happen!? xx

  55. September 20, 2017 / 8:21 pm

    I am in the market for a scooter for my son for his 4th birthday and this looks fab. The fact you can customise it is a big bonus.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 8:55 pm

      I definitely recommend this one! xx

  56. Danielle
    September 20, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    That looks so much fun! It is my nieces birthday soon and I bet she would love this.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 8:54 pm

      Oh Im sure she would! It’s fab! xx

  57. September 20, 2017 / 10:00 pm

    My girls would love this! We need to upgrade Holly to the next level of scooter, poor second child syndrome here! Its great you can customise it and that it has different levels. Fab review and photos as always x

    • Laura Dove
      September 21, 2017 / 1:15 pm

      Haha we have fourth and fifth child syndrome here. Megan and Harry are desperate for one of their own now! xx

  58. September 21, 2017 / 12:35 pm

    This looks like it would be so much fun for my daughter! Might have to get one for her birthday next year.

    • Laura Dove
      September 21, 2017 / 1:12 pm

      I’d recommend them! xx

  59. September 23, 2017 / 2:35 pm

    This scooter is too cute! I would have loved this as a child, especially since it’s pink.

    • Laura Dove
      September 25, 2017 / 11:47 am

      Oh me too! I had pink everything! xx

  60. September 24, 2017 / 6:59 am

    This looks fab! I like how that you can change the height of it so all the kiddies could have a go and the fact that it’s lightweight! We always end up balancing Monkeys on the buggy!! X

    • Laura Dove
      September 25, 2017 / 11:43 am

      Haha yes, why do they always end up with us carrying it? xx

  61. September 25, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    This looks so cute! And your daughter looks so happy! Also, it’s a great idea for a birthday gift!

    • Laura Dove
      September 25, 2017 / 11:07 pm

      She was made up with it, thank you! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *