Playing Shop with Casdon Self-Service Supermarket

Over the last six years we have accrued a number of toys, way more than any child could ever play with, and yet when we were offered the chance to review the Casdon Self-Service Supermarket I found myself saying yes, knowing with utter certainty that my children would go crazy for it!

At almost four, five and six, the children love nothing more than role play, getting completely into character and creating the most imaginative games together. And, as a parent, any toy that stimulates their imagination is always a hit with me!

The Casdon Self-Service Supermarket is a modern day take on the classic role play game of shop. With Supermarket checkouts fast becoming self service tills, Casdon have created a child friendly version aimed at children aged 3 – 8 years, with all of the features a real supermarket provides.


I’ll be honest with you, the initial set-up is a little time consuming, with the Self-Service Supermarket needing full assembly and each individual cardboard item constructed and stickers applied. Word of advice to any parent, do this before you show it to your children otherwise you face thirty minutes of children hovering/grabbing/whining whilst incessantly moaning, “Is it done yet??”. 

The good news is that when the toy is assembled, it’s pretty amazing! Infact, in the words of Megan, it’s the “best toy ever!!!”, and I have to agree. Not only does the Supermarket have all of our favourite household brands, but it also has realistic sounds and features.

With a shopping basket to fill with groceries and shelves, a chilled, and freezer section bursting with goodies, the girls took it in turns to go shopping, with one acting as “The lady who comes when your shopping won’t scan!” and the other as the “Mummy buying the tea” (job descriptions courtesy of Eva!).


With a realistic scanner that beeps as items are swiped, it was funny to see how much the girls have taken from our visits to the Supermarket. “Please check bagging area!” Megan said, in a robotic voice, “Are you using your own bags?” Eva added, in fits of giggles.

I love that the Self-Service Supermarket can also be used in a general customer/shopkeeper style of play too, with one of the girls scanning the items as a typical cashier. It even has scales for loose fruit and veg taking Eva from cashier to Greengrocer in no time!

The girls favourite part was making payment using the coins, notes and debit card that comes with the set. With a chip and pin machine with realistic sounds, the girls were in their element!

There is also a slot for notes just like a real Self Service check-out…

And a slot for coins with a button to return your change!

If I could change anything I would make the cardboard boxes a little more sturdy and yet we found that reinforcing then with cellotape was enough to keep them from bending or tearing as the children play. Priced at £39.99 I honestly think that this is one of the best toys we have had for the children and I am certain it will be played with, every single day, for years to come. Because surely the success of any toy should be measured in fun, and for these two little shoppers, they are having the best time with it!!

 

** We received this item in exchange for an honest review. All words and opinions are my own. **  

Follow:

54 Comments

  1. Katie Davis
    May 9, 2018 / 9:43 am

    Oh I absolutely love this. I was thinking of getting alyssa one for her birthday. Love the scanner especially.
    Commenting for Talya Stone

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:20 pm

      It’s fab isn’t it? My kids are obsessed with the scanner! xx

  2. May 9, 2018 / 9:55 am

    I absolutely loved playing shop when I was a child and to be honest – I still do! This looks super fun – I love the branded items too! I think its not bad in price too!

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:19 pm

      Me too! I love the branded items, it’s such a fun way for children to play and also learn! xx

  3. May 9, 2018 / 3:09 pm

    Aw this reminds me of when I was young, I loved playing with my kitchen and shops.Your girls look like they enjoyed it too!

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:17 pm

      They adore it Nikki! xx

  4. May 9, 2018 / 3:23 pm

    I loved playing shops when I was little and my daughter still loves it now! Nothing like a bit of imaginary play to encourage kids 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:17 pm

      Me too! I love that I get to play with the kids now too! xx

  5. May 9, 2018 / 6:05 pm

    How cute! I wish that had this when my children were little. they would have loved this. playing shop is always a favorite and helps them learn about what it’s like to have shop ettiquette.

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:16 pm

      Yes! They learn so much from pretend play! xx

  6. May 9, 2018 / 7:32 pm

    Those kids are so cute! This toy looks super fun because kids always want to play house and shop and make believe!

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:14 pm

      Thank you Sabrina! It’s a fab toy! xx

  7. May 9, 2018 / 7:34 pm

    Oh wow this looks incredible. I love all of the detail – I am sure my daughter would adore this, she is 4 and loves ‘playing shops’

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:14 pm

      Oh I’m sure she would Jenni. Megan is 4 and is having so much fun with it! xx

  8. Elizabeth O
    May 9, 2018 / 7:51 pm

    Oh this is such a cute little shop and it looks so real to life too. I love that it is self service and has all the prices and brands. It really looks like your little ones enjoyed it.

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:14 pm

      I loved that too Elizabeth, it’s always fun for the kids when toys are life like! xx

  9. May 9, 2018 / 9:17 pm

    This looks brilliant, my girls would definitely love it. They love anything that is like real life and this has so many parts that makes you feel like your in a real shop x

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:13 pm

      It’s actually a really fun toy and so life like to the kids! I think they’ll play with it for a long time to come! xx

  10. May 9, 2018 / 9:53 pm

    My son is disabled and even though he is almost 10 he is developmentally just 1-2 years old. He loves toy food and I have looked at this toy many times. Thank you for a great post. I really will be considering this for his birthday now.

    • Laura Dove
      May 9, 2018 / 10:12 pm

      Oh I’m sure he would love it Miriam! It’s such a fun toy and the kids have had so much fun playing with it! xx

  11. May 10, 2018 / 2:35 am

    This looks like a really fun way to enjoy some childhood fun with your little one. I would have loved something like this when my kids were younger. Such a fun way to have pretend play.

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:17 pm

      They are really enjoying playing with it! xx

  12. May 10, 2018 / 4:23 am

    I used to love toys like this when I was little and I think it’s an awesome toy for the kids. It teaches them the concept of money as well. Which is great! Love the set!

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:17 pm

      I totally agree Alison, it’s really quite educational! xx

  13. May 10, 2018 / 8:53 am

    This looks so good. One of my favourite toys has a kid was my little shop checkout. I love that the prices have odd numbers like £1.87, great for helping kids with their maths. And my favourite part are those Mr Kipling cakes!!

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:15 pm

      Yes me too! It’s really educational too! xx

  14. May 10, 2018 / 9:06 am

    My kids would absolutely love this!! I’m also big fan of toys that stimulate their imaginations. So this would be perfect!

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:15 pm

      It’s a great toy and also the money really teaches them about counting and handling money! xx

  15. May 10, 2018 / 9:31 am

    Awww, this takes me back to my youth. My next-door neighbour had a wendy house in her back garden with a little kitchen a bit like this set up in it – I loved it!

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:15 pm

      Oh that sounds like fun! I loved getting to play with this with the kids, haha! xx

  16. May 10, 2018 / 10:20 am

    Talk about modern market upgrades! I loved playing shop when I was little. This is the coolest mini market I’ve seen for kids!

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:14 pm

      It’s fab isn’t it? Big hit in our house! xx

  17. May 10, 2018 / 11:30 am

    Oh wow, that looks fantastic!!! They’ve done an amazing job on that.My kids would love it they enjoy playing shopping. It comes with so many things too which make it so much more fun.

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:14 pm

      Yes I love that part, there are so many ways to play with it! xx

  18. May 10, 2018 / 4:06 pm

    aww, so cute! I remember I had one of these toys for my boys when they were little but this looks like a more updated one 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      May 10, 2018 / 8:12 pm

      Yes I remember similar items! This is such a great version and very modern too! xx

  19. May 11, 2018 / 12:16 am

    This looks like way too much fun! These girls look like they’ve just absolutely loved this! I’ve never seen anything like this actually! Wish I had a little girl now!

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 1:04 pm

      It’s fab Lexie! They are really enjoying it! xx

  20. May 11, 2018 / 4:20 am

    Oh wow, I so much loved this concept of self service supermarket. I’m sure kids would have enjoyed their shopping.. Yea, the assembly, I’m sure would have been tedious. I usually assemble such things only when my son is asleep, lol.

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 1:03 pm

      haha yes I need to do that next time!! xx

  21. May 11, 2018 / 4:38 am

    Little me would have loved this! This is totally the kind of toys I loved to play with. My cash register was always my favorite. This is such a great idea that I’m sure many kids will love

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 1:03 pm

      Me too! My kids are just the same! xx

  22. May 11, 2018 / 6:23 am

    Oh, I absolutely love this! My stepdaughter would think it’s the best thing shes ever seen as shes always roaming around pretending to play shop x

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 1:02 pm

      It’s fab isn’t it? We really love it! xx

  23. May 11, 2018 / 7:51 am

    What a great toy! My little ones have always loved playing with toy food and playing shop and this looks fab, the perfect present for one of them!

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 12:56 pm

      It’s fab Ali, we love it! xx

  24. May 11, 2018 / 8:59 am

    I wouldn’t mind to play with it! Sometimes I am missing my teenagers being kids and playing with me. Now they want to talk serious stuff. Thank you for sharing

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 12:54 pm

      Oh I know, I love getting to relive my youth with their toys! xx

  25. May 11, 2018 / 10:11 am

    I love this, I used to have one when I was a kid and me and my brother loved it so much, so to think they are still making toys like these for our kids makes me happy.

    • Laura Dove
      May 11, 2018 / 12:53 pm

      Ah I always wanted one! I love that I get to play now, 38 years later, haha! xx

  26. May 11, 2018 / 4:15 pm

    Lucas would love this! So much fun

  27. May 12, 2018 / 6:56 am

    absolutely love how they use their actual supermarket experience to play here. no one can forget the please check you bagging area notice

  28. May 13, 2018 / 1:05 pm

    I love everything about this toy. I think I just found the perfect Christmas gift for my niece and nephew.

  29. May 15, 2018 / 7:23 am

    Oh my boys would absolutely love this! Great review x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *