Feeling more secure in our home with Neos SmartCam

I don’t know about you but ever since I’ve had the kids I’ve become a bit (ahem) of a worrier. And it’s not just when we are out and about, or when they are away from me at school, but due to a spate of attempted break-ins across the village, I even worry when we are safely in our home.

As much as I’d love to have CCTV in every corner of our house and garden, I know that isn’t really achievable on a small budget, and so when I was introduced to the new Neos SmartCam, packed with features found in more expensive indoor cameras, for the insanely low price of £19.99 (plus £4.99 for tracked next day delivery) I couldn’t wait to give it a try!

The Neos SmartCam is perfect for the family home, not just for monitoring the outside of your house, but for the indoors too. How many times have you left the house and wondered what your dog got up to whilst you’ve been gone? Or left the room and come back to suspicious little children and wondered what on earth they’d been up to while your back was turned? I love that for such a low price you can use the Neos SmartCam in a number of rooms, and a number of ways, constantly changing from one day to the next.

For me the main focus was to use our SmartCam to monitor the front of our house. When I’m home alone during the day I get super nervous when someone knocks at the door and I love that, linked to my phone, I can view the live-streaming, in razor sharp 1080p full HD, and see exactly who is there before I choose whether to answer it! And although the SmartCam is an indoor camera, discreetly placed on a window sill facing outwards, it is the perfect way to monitor the front of our house and show me exactly what is going on, and who is coming and going.

The SmartCam is powered by mains electricity and comes with a 1.8 metre power cable. For those who prefer to mount the SmartCam you can buy a mounting kit with a 1.5 metre extension cable form the Neos online store.

I’ll be honest with you, whenever we get a new gadget such as this, I instantly hand it to Gaz and assume it will be way too complicated for my frazzled brain to deal with. But, with Gaz at work and desperate to give it a go, I thought I’d have a look at the instructions and literally within a couple of minutes I had the app downloaded, the SmartCam registered, and up and running on my phone! Easy!

For those who want to use multiple SmartCams in their home you can add more than one camera to the same app which definitely makes life easier. At £19.99 I am already planning on buying a second camera for the back of our house just to feel extra secure when we are in, or away from, our home.

Once your SmartCam is connected to your wifi you can begin the set up process, each step explained along the way (for even the least technically minded people like me!) so it really couldn’t be any easier.

I love that if for some reason you do come across any difficulties there are handy troubleshooting options for further details, as well as a fantastic customer service team.

With the SmartCam all set up you can start to explore the settings and really get to grips with all of the features. For such a low price, small device, it’s pretty amazing what it can offer –

  • 1080p Full HD: Captures sharp images to see every detail
  • Night vision: Enhanced night vision to see in the dark
  • Motion detection: Senses movement and sends alerts straight to the smartphone
  • Live stream: See through the camera lens in real time, anytime via the app
  • Auto-arming: Automatically switches on and off as you arrive or leave the home
  • Noise detection: Built-in motion sensor, with push notifications and sound sensitivity controls in the app
  • 2-way audio: Hear what is happening in real time and respond accordingly
  • 8x digital zoom: Pinch and zoom to see more in live view and playback
  • Cloud recording: Automatically records motion, storing 12 seconds of video on the cloud
  • Flexible design: Simple installation and setup, with a 3-axis movement to point the camera in the best position
  • SD card enabled: SD card compatible to continuously record video even without Wi-Fi
  • Download clips: Save video clips on the phone and share with family and friends

I have to say I was super impressed with the quality of the camera and the fact that I could take photos, zoom, record and speak via the app. With the SmartCam perfectly position I have full view of my front door, car and driveway straight from my phone, which is pretty amazing and, over the last week of using the camera, I have felt so much more secure when I’m home alone with the children which can only ever be a good thing.

It’s also been good fun to turn the camera around and take a look at the things going on inside our home, the fact that every time we leave the house Oscar spends the whole time sat up against the window waiting for our return. Or how every time I disappear upstairs to sort the washing, or the front room to hoover round, I can see exactly what the kids have been up to and who has been up to mischief. Now that’s what I call a success!!

We are so impressed with the Neos SmartCam and whether you’re after a little extra home security, something to look out for your pets, your kids, or even to check whether your teens leaves for school on time on the days you’re not there (I checked, he did….), I honestly can’t recommend it enough!

You can buy the Neos SmartCam over at www.shop.neos.co.uk

** We were sent the Neos SmartCam for the purpose of this review and compensated for our time. All words and opinions are my own. ** 

 

Follow:

48 Comments

  1. January 22, 2019 / 9:25 pm

    wow! that’s really nice, love minimal design and the video quality is really good! I’ll thinking about this camera even for my shop! Thank you for this review!

  2. January 23, 2019 / 2:05 am

    This is great. I don’t know if you guys have this across the pond but we have the type that’s embedded into your doorbell to see who rings and you can even open the door from wherever you are to let he person in…all through your phone. It’s amazing the various smart tech we have today.

  3. January 23, 2019 / 3:09 am

    OH WOW! I will need to share this information with my husband. He is our security guru in our home and he is always looking for new ways to further secure our home! Thanks for the great information

  4. January 23, 2019 / 5:22 am

    This system has fantastic features, providing such peace of mind for such a low price. I love how you can also add multiple cams to the same app as this makes the possibilities quite endless. I hadn’t heard of this at all before but I think it’s brilliant.

  5. January 23, 2019 / 9:19 am

    Wow there are so many fantastic features on this smartcam! I love that you can feel safer at home and more in control of your own security 🙂

  6. January 23, 2019 / 10:26 am

    In the family we were just considering buying a video surveillance device but there are so many that we did not know where to start. Your review saved our life!

  7. January 23, 2019 / 10:54 am

    I have seen something similar on TV before and I thought they would be really expensive! That is such a great price and a brilliant idea for a bit of peace of mind!

  8. January 23, 2019 / 12:36 pm

    This looks really good and I can;t get over how reasonably priced it is. We need a new alarm system since we disconnected ours when we had the kitchen done and this would go hand in hand with it.

  9. January 23, 2019 / 2:28 pm

    I’m looking to upgrade out home security. This looks so much better than the camera we have at the moment.

  10. January 23, 2019 / 3:06 pm

    We have something very similar and yes it’s great to give you just that little peace of mind.

  11. Becca Wilson
    January 23, 2019 / 6:06 pm

    We have always wanted to get a camera for our home. This one looks like it would be so awesome!

  12. January 23, 2019 / 6:36 pm

    This is great, looks nice, and a very decent price too. I always used to wish I could see what our dog was up to when he was alive, and thought it might be very fun to see xx

  13. January 23, 2019 / 7:32 pm

    What a neat camera! We have an outdoor security camera, and I like the idea of having this one inside too. I do like to keep track of the kids and also my cats while I am away.

  14. January 23, 2019 / 7:33 pm

    Wow! That is a really cool device. The kind of security device that everybody should have.

  15. Monidipa Dutta
    January 23, 2019 / 8:10 pm

    This SmartCam does almost everything you need it to and is a real bargain. It’s so cheap you could put SmartCams in seven rooms for the same price as a single Nest Cam. I recently replaced my old security cameras with these and they are good. I can keep a track of each and every room.

  16. January 23, 2019 / 8:18 pm

    This is a great piece of tech, it must make you feel so secure at home. It would be good to use if you leave the kids with a babysitter too, just for a bit of reassurance that everything is okay.

  17. January 23, 2019 / 8:26 pm

    I’m impressed that you managed to set it up in a few minutes. It looks a really useful security camera and brilliant for peace of mind. You can also spy on the kids or pets!

  18. January 24, 2019 / 9:32 am

    I need this smartcam in my life, that price is such a steal for everything you get with it and not just indoors but outdoors too

  19. January 24, 2019 / 1:36 pm

    I have been wanting to get some sort of security camera for my home but they are too expensive. I like that this one is so cheap. I will definitely have to look into this.

  20. January 24, 2019 / 9:03 pm

    what a brilliant little camera for the price, when I saw the price I expected the quality to be rubbish, but it’s not at all. Very impressed with this

  21. January 24, 2019 / 10:04 pm

    This does sound and look exceptionally easy to set up and a great price too!

  22. January 24, 2019 / 11:35 pm

    Is it wrong that I want to rush out to buy one of these just so I can spy on the kids!? LMAO. In all seriousness though, it sounds like a great device. We’ve had some problems with a couple keep snooping around the outside of our property so it would be good to get something like this to actually see what’s going on. At the moment we just keep seeing evidence of trespassers and are relying on our neighbours keeping us informed about the snooping!

    Louise x

  23. shyn
    January 25, 2019 / 1:47 am

    Wow. great features. its very impressive too..

  24. Helen Neale
    January 25, 2019 / 3:00 am

    Safety comes first, that’s why we always make sure that our house is secured. This actually we are looking for

  25. January 25, 2019 / 1:11 pm

    Oh I need one of these! Just to spy on the kids of course LOL! What an absolute bargain x

  26. January 25, 2019 / 3:13 pm

    It’s amazing they have the good cams like this out there. I remember what we used to try to do to set up cameras around the house as a child versus how versatile the cameras are. This does look like such a great cam.

  27. January 25, 2019 / 8:38 pm

    This looks like such a great little camera I love that it is so simple to set up and and can be checked from your smart phone! What a great idea.

  28. January 25, 2019 / 9:39 pm

    Looks very practical and a simple solution to home CCTV which can be quite complicated with other video camera systems! The smartphone integration is good xx

  29. January 25, 2019 / 9:50 pm

    WOW this looks fab and the video feed on your phone is so clear! Like you I often feel incredible nervous when I am home alone which is quite often so this would be so handy to have. I love the idea of placing it facing outside and being able to see exactly what is going on! What a great little gadget and amazing price too!

  30. January 26, 2019 / 12:10 am

    It sound like a really fantastic little camera! The number of features on it sound amazing too, but the PRICE! You can’t really go wrong with that bargain can you!?

  31. Hannah Marie
    January 26, 2019 / 1:49 am

    This is so cool! I’ve been wanting a security camera for so long, I need to check this out.

  32. January 26, 2019 / 9:57 am

    This looks like a smart little device for security! I wouldn’t be needed it because I live in an enclosed apartment building and I live by myself.

  33. January 26, 2019 / 2:06 pm

    When we move and get our own home we’ll definitely have at least one or two cameras as I think they’re so good for security, this is such a good price for one x

  34. January 26, 2019 / 2:25 pm

    This sounds like a great camera with some really impressive features. We’ve been having a spate of robberies round our area recently so I may invest in one of these.

  35. January 26, 2019 / 9:17 pm

    I like how simple it looks to set up and install and if it gives you a peace of mind, then it is more than worth it!

  36. January 26, 2019 / 11:44 pm

    We have been thinking of installing a home security system. Thanks for sharing your views, this will really help.

  37. January 27, 2019 / 11:22 am

    I feel more secure knowing we have a security system in the home

  38. January 27, 2019 / 4:29 pm

    The house over the road from mine has just been burgled so I am now feeling a little paranoid and searching for some security ideas. Off to check this out.

  39. January 27, 2019 / 9:11 pm

    This is so cool, I want to get one to see what my dog gets up to when we aren’t in the house! And its a lot cheaper than I expected it to be too.

  40. January 27, 2019 / 11:28 pm

    When my husband is working on site, and I’m working in my garden office, I only know if there’s someone at the front door if the dogs go mad and bark. This would be really useful!

  41. January 28, 2019 / 1:49 pm

    This is a really good review Laura and I’ve been so indecisive with which security system to go with as we’ve had a few issues on the street . Thanks lovely x

  42. January 29, 2019 / 9:36 pm

    Love the idea of the SmartCam and the opportunity to know who is at the front door. I love ideas like this to make you feel safer at home, and what a fab price too!

  43. January 29, 2019 / 9:50 pm

    I’ve not heard of this before. Such a good price for it. We really should get a better security system for our house

  44. January 30, 2019 / 10:49 am

    This is such an amazing little product and anything that gives you any form of added safety or security is a winner in my book!

  45. Helen Neale
    February 17, 2019 / 12:39 pm

    I have a problem dealing with our security, this might be the solution thankyou for sharing this information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *