Our Christmas Eve Box with The Snowman & The Snowdog

Ever since I was little The Snowman has featured in our family Christmas traditions, mainly sitting down after Christmas dinner to watch it together, my Dad munching on a mince pie, Mum getting all misty eyed over the music, and me and my brother gripped until the end. Whenever I hear the iconic music played I am taken straight back to those Christmas days and I knew that when I had children, I wanted to re-create those memories.

For that reason we were delighted to be asked to take part in The Snowman & The Snowdog advent blog tour and share the ways in which we are incorporating The Snowman in our festivities this year. We were sent the most amazing box of goodies, all of which will be featuring in our Christmas Eve boxes.

We started making Christmas Eve boxes when Lewis was younger, back before they were even a “thing”, just new pyjamas, a book, a Christmas DVD and a few treats. Since having four children our Christmas Eve boxes have expanded somewhat although the basics are still very much the same.

Cuddly toy

This year we will be including The Snowman himself from Rainbow Designs. At 22cm tall he is super soft and adorable and I know that he will be loved for years to come. RRP £14.99.

 Sweet treats 

love this gorgeous Snowman biscuit from the Biscuiteers, presented in a lovely gift box and perfectly iced. The children are going to adore it although it is far too beautiful to eat! RRP £10.95.

Hot Chocolate

Ever since our first Christmas Eve box we have always included hot chocolate. There is nothing nicer than a warm drink before bed on Christmas Eve, especially if it’s brimming with marshmallows! I love this one with a hot chocolate mix included!

Christmas DVD

Although we have the original The Snowman on DVD, we don’t yet have The Snowman and The Snowdog (RRP £9.99) so I am so excited to watch this on Christmas Eve with the children! As the sequel to the classic, the story follows a young boy named Billy who, after moving into the house where the Snowman first appeared, discovers a box containing a scarf, a hat, coal lumps and a dried satsuma…..

Christmas decoration

I always like to include a Christmas decoration in the Christmas Eve boxes and this one is utterly adorable. From Wild in Art (£7.80 for one or £26 for four), The Snowdog decoration is the perfect way to finish off your tree and I look forward to adding to our collection over the years.

Christmas Books

We always include Christmas books in our boxes and the children look forward to these each year. I know that Harry will love this gorgeous Snowdog board book from Puffin, RRP £7.99, as it is lovely and chunky and tells a simple rhyming story which even small children can follow.

 

The girls will be over the moon with their own copy of the original book, The Snowman. Telling the story through beautiful pictures, I just know that this will become a fundamental part of our Christmas Eve’s from now on. RRP £7.99.

The children will also each receive a personalised book each, The Snowman and The Snowdog, a really special gift which I know they will treasure. From Pen Wizard, the story can be personalised with your child’s name, hairstyle and colour, skin tone and pyjama colour. At £17.99 it’s a really special keep sake and I just know the children will be so excited to actually feature in their very own story!

And given that Christmas Eve is such a long time away when you’re 3, 4 and 5, the children have also received their very own Snowman advent calendars from Thorntons. The first features 22 chocolate shapes, 2 snowmen with a fondant filling and a 60g Snowdog for the big day! RRP £10.

The second is a personalised advent calendar featuring the child’s name on the final door. I love personalised items and I know Eva is going to be so happy with this. RRP £7.

So there you have it, our Snowman & Snowdog Christmas traditions for this year and I for one CAN’T WAIT!!!

Head on over to Mamas V.I.B tomorrow for the next post in the advent blog tour!

 

*** We were sent these items for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own.***

Follow:

83 Comments

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 7:00 pm

      Isn’t he just? I can’t wait to watch The Snowdog with the children on Christmas eve. xx

  1. November 29, 2017 / 10:05 am

    Ahh! We love the Snowman here too! I’ve watched it every Christmas for as long as I can remember and now my girls watch it too….What lovely gifts x

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:59 pm

      It’s lovely when things come full circle isn’t it? xx

  2. November 29, 2017 / 10:39 am

    All of this merch is super cute! I can’t wait to have children & make Christmas eve boxes for them x

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:59 pm

      It’s our favourite Christmas tradition, so much fun to choose out lots of little bits for their boxes. xx

  3. November 29, 2017 / 12:19 pm

    A Snowman themed Christmas box – this has to be the ultimate Christmas box and the perfect prelude to Christmas day! It’s such a magical theme.

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:54 pm

      I am so excited Talya, I think more so than the kids! Can’t wait to see their faces xmas eve! xx

  4. November 29, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    This is so beautiful and a lovely set of gifts. My three our snowman mad, especially twin 2 who is very taken with the dog

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:54 pm

      Ahh I can’t imagine there is anyone who doesn’t love The Snowman! He’s a classic! xx

  5. November 29, 2017 / 12:36 pm

    awww how adorable is this, such a wonderful set. Lots of little ones love the snowman and the snowdog… I know my little ones do. The sweet treat looks too good to eat.

  6. November 29, 2017 / 1:46 pm

    Aww I love The Snowman, but had no idea they do so many different products now! I need to pick some of these up for my daughter 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:53 pm

      I know, they have so many amazing items, clearly there is a real market for it! xx

  7. November 29, 2017 / 2:05 pm

    How lovely!! We love The Snowman in our house too and I always make the girls a Christmas Eve box. We’r going with Paddington this year xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:53 pm

      Oh that’s a lovely theme! Big Paddington fans here too! xx

  8. November 29, 2017 / 2:18 pm

    I’ve fond memories of the Snowman as well and that looks like a well thought through gift box. The advent calander idea is a particularly fitting choice.

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:52 pm

      I think most people of our generation have fond memories of The Snowman, it’s a real classic. xx

  9. November 29, 2017 / 4:18 pm

    My little girl has become obsessed with the Snowman and Snowdog, these are so so sweet x

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:43 pm

      Oh I’m sure she would love all of these items then! xx

  10. Joanna
    November 29, 2017 / 4:21 pm

    All the items are so cute! I love the snowman biscuit, the frosting on it is made so well! Also, the advent calendar are amazing and the last day treats look amazing!

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:43 pm

      The biscuit is fab isn’t it? If only I could bake/ice as well as that! xx

  11. November 29, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    I have such lovely memories of the Snowman as a child too! I hope to incorporate them into my sons life as a tradition. These items are fantastic.

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:42 pm

      Thanks Christy, they are amazing aren’t they? Those advent calendars were met with squeals this week! xx

  12. November 29, 2017 / 5:19 pm

    Aww, these are so perfect. I love The Snowman things. I have ever since I was little. Magical at Christmas 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:41 pm

      Me too Claire, as soon as that music starts I get goosebumps! xx

  13. November 29, 2017 / 5:41 pm

    Aww what a lovely set of gifts, so perfect for your family. I dont actually remember ever watching the snowman but my mum assures me that we did when I was little. This is a film that I plan on watching with my 5 year old this december as well as the snowdog of course. I really love the personalised book, I try to get one every year and if my son likes the snowman then this may be the one I get this year.

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2017 / 6:40 pm

      Oh I’m sure he will. I love that because there are no words it can be enjoyed across the world despite language barriers. It’s my absolute favourite and I am so excited to introduce the children to The Snowdog too! Not long now at all, where did this year go? xxx

  14. November 29, 2017 / 7:34 pm

    The snowman is iconic for me when it comes to Christmas. It reminds me so much of my own childhood. Monkey had a thing about the snowdog when he was little and we had to buy three to make sure we always had one wherever we went. We are going to see the stage show after Christmas and I can’t wait. What a beautiful round up of goodies… I *may* have accidentally clicked on the link and brought the Christmas decorations…. xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:23 pm

      Ahh that’s so cute!! We are going to the show too, the weekend before Christmas I think it is, it’s going to be magical I’m sure! Ahh they are the most adorable decorations, you wont be disappointed! xx

  15. November 29, 2017 / 7:45 pm

    We are going to The Snowman tour this year and I’m so excited to introduce it to the boys. I love this little box of goodies, they are perfect for a Christmas Eve box. That Christmas tree decoration is just too cute!

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:22 pm

      Us too Emma! I can’t wait! Are you going to the Blackpool one? xx

  16. November 29, 2017 / 10:15 pm

    My brothers and I used to watch the Snowman every year at my Grandma’s house when decorating her Christmas tree, so that film brings back fond memories for me. But I’ve never seen the Snow dog – I have to see it now! X

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:21 pm

      Ahh I think everyone has a memory of The Snowman at Christmas, it definitely reminds me of those lovely Christmassy moments. xx

  17. November 30, 2017 / 3:03 am

    As this makes for the perfect Christmas Eve box. I love the snowman such a classic x

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:20 pm

      It really is, it never grows old. xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:19 pm

      Ahh Walking in the air is an absolute classic! xx

  18. Our Family World
    November 30, 2017 / 5:37 am

    I love the snowdog ornament! It is so cute and precious! The plush toy, the Snowman cookie and chocolates are great stocking stuffers too. I will get some of these for the kids.

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:19 pm

      They are gorgeous aren’t they! I love choosing new tree decorations and this one is adorable! xx

  19. Hannah
    November 30, 2017 / 6:31 am

    I really like this box and whats in it. Has a good selection of Snowman themed items. Would make a great gift

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:15 pm

      Thanks Hannah, they have some amazing merchandise for The Snowman! xx

  20. November 30, 2017 / 9:06 am

    I love the idea of Christmas Eve boxes with hot chocolate and films is the perfect Christmas Eve x

  21. November 30, 2017 / 10:20 am

    We love the snowman ! It is an absoulate classic ! I can remember watching it with my eldest when she was little and when it finished she said she was waiting for the words lol xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:14 pm

      Ah that’s so cute!! I remember wondering why nobody spoke! xx

  22. November 30, 2017 / 11:37 am

    Ever since I was tiny we’d always have a mini Christmas eve box where we’d get PJ’s and a book to read before bed. This was way way before it was a proper thing x

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:13 pm

      It’s got crazy hasn’t it how much effort people put in now? We’ve always done it for 13 years since Lewis was small but it has got bigger and bigger with four children! xx

  23. November 30, 2017 / 1:47 pm

    Your kids are going to love these,Laura. The personalized books will be a huge hit to Eva. I hope we get a few Christmas Day reaction shots!

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:10 pm

      Thanks Patrick, they really are going to be over the moon with them all. I’m so excited for Christmas and will certainly be sharing it with you all. xxx

  24. November 30, 2017 / 3:28 pm

    The Snowman is such a classic, what a lovely idea for a Christmas Eve box! Bet Eva loves it all!

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 5:08 pm

      Thank you Mellissa, I’m sure she will! xx

  25. November 30, 2017 / 6:22 pm

    Snowman and the Snowdog is one of my Christmas films, such cute accessories

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 8:53 pm

      It’s an absolute classic isn’t it! I can’t wait to watch it again this year! xx

  26. November 30, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    Oh my…I can imagine how kids would love this gift! The Snowman is so adorable and yes, I agree the Snowman biscuit is too beautiful to be eaten.

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 8:48 pm

      Isn’t it all gorgeous! I’m afraid to let the kids eat the biscuit…! xx

  27. Claire
    November 30, 2017 / 9:53 pm

    That snowman is so cute! I also love the idea of the personalized advent. Funny story is I actually didn’t know what advent was until few days ago. I think it’s a fun way to wait for Christmas.

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 11:30 pm

      No way!! That’s crazy, I hope you have an advent calendar now? xx

  28. November 30, 2017 / 10:35 pm

    We are huge fans of The Snowman and The Snow dog in our house. Adults and children alike. I remember the Snowman from when I was younger, and am delighted that my children have enjoyed him too. I love the themed goods, particularly the adoreable dog tree ornament.

    • Laura Dove
      November 30, 2017 / 11:29 pm

      I love when things come full circle and I can watch the classics I enjoyed with my own parents, with my children. We will be enjoying it all over again this christmas! xx

  29. December 1, 2017 / 11:24 am

    We love the snowman and the snowdog and this looks like a great gift and love that you’ve put it all together x We’d done something similar for paddington bear

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 11:56 am

      Ahh how lovely! I do like to have a theme! xx

  30. December 1, 2017 / 11:38 am

    I love the Snowdog, we have the board book and it’s adorable. I LOVE biscuiteers too and have used them several times now 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 11:54 am

      They are fab aren’t they! I wish they were gluten free! xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 5:30 pm

      Thanks Kusum, who doesn’t love the snowman? xx

  31. December 1, 2017 / 3:34 pm

    Everything looks so done, they’ve captured the Snowman in 3D perfectly! Side note: I can’t help but hum ‘I’m walking in the air’ every time I see anything The Snowman related

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 5:29 pm

      Hahah me too Emily! Or I sing it in a ridiculous operatic voice! xx

  32. December 1, 2017 / 4:11 pm

    We miss the white Christmas and Snowman here in India, but I still loved all the goodies on your post! The Snowman cuddle toy is the cutest! Thanks for sharing.
    Do drop by my blog as well : http://styleovercoffee.com 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 5:28 pm

      Thank you for reading! I’ll head over! xx

  33. December 1, 2017 / 4:59 pm

    The Snowman is one film that never grows old! I have to admit that I haven’t seen The Snowdog yet but after seeing how cute he is, I need to rectify that. I love all the things you were sent but the Snowdog ornament is my favourite.

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 5:27 pm

      I agree Tanya, the ornament will take pride of place on our tree! xx

  34. December 1, 2017 / 5:00 pm

    I love the ideas here. The cuddly toy is super cute. My kids would adore that.

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 5:27 pm

      It’s lovely and soft, I recommend all of them! xx

  35. December 1, 2017 / 7:35 pm

    Such a lovely idea and so thoughtful as well! I’ll see if I can do something similar with my family this year! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 1, 2017 / 8:32 pm

      We love to do it each Christmas Eve, it’s a lovely tradition. xx

  36. December 1, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    Aw, I love the idea of doing Christmas Eve boxes and I love The Snowman too! It brings back so many wonderful memories! 🙂 I didn’t know there was a sequel though – I’ll have to check it out! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 3, 2017 / 4:25 pm

      Thanks Chrissy, ooh yes you should definitely watch The Snowdog! It’s lovely! xx

  37. December 2, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    I love the idea of doing a Christmas Eve Box theme! Such a beautiful one to choose as well. I adore the snowman! I can’t wait for my daughter to watch and read it for the first time. x

    • Laura Dove
      December 3, 2017 / 4:15 pm

      Thank you! I never used to do a theme but I find it adds to the excitement each year of the children wondering what the theme will be! xx

  38. December 2, 2017 / 10:25 pm

    I love the snowman theme for the box it reminds me of Xmas watching that film, I need to think of a theme for my sons

    • Laura Dove
      December 3, 2017 / 4:11 pm

      Ooh good luck thinking of a theme! There are so many gorgeous Christmas items available these days! xx

  39. December 3, 2017 / 7:42 am

    I love the Snowman. Such happy and comforting memories watching it with my family all huddled up on the sofa.

    • Laura Dove
      December 3, 2017 / 3:55 pm

      Ah me too, I love to do that now with my children. xx

  40. December 13, 2017 / 4:26 pm

    As someone who is a fan of The Snowman I really love the sound of the Christmas Eve box and I think that it is great that it comes with goodies like a chocolate calendar! Fancy sending me a box in the post? Haha x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *