Review: Philips Power Pro Expert

With four children and a dog, you can imagine just how much I rely on our vacuum cleaner. So when it died last month, you may also imagine just how stressed out I was and how much time I spent on my hands and knees with the dustpan and brush! Thankfully Phillips came to the rescue with the PowerPro Expert, and I couldn’t wait to try it!

On unboxing, I discovered that the PowerPro Expert comes with an additional Crevice tool, the 2-in-1 brush/small nozzle, the Super Turbo brush, Hard Floor nozzle and TriActiveMax nozzle.

When looking for a vacuum cleaner there is a lot to consider, and for me, and main others, the main one is ease of use. As a sufferer or chronic illness, with a whole host of back issues, I need to know that I’m not going to pull my back lugging the vacuum cleaner around the house, or struggle to lift it when I’m vacuuming the stairs.

With the PowerPro Expert being a light weight design and the hose so easy to manoeuvre, it’s so much easier than our old upright design, and way more gentle on my back!

As someone who suffers with allergies, and with Lewis an asthmatic too, the other thing we really need in a vacuum cleaner is anti-allergen technology. The PowerPro Expert is quite possibly the best I’ve seen with regards to that, boasting a filter for 99.9% of pet hair, dust and pollen.

The PowerPro Expert also removes 40% more dust than other vacuum cleaners* and uses PowerCyclone 6 technology for exceptional dust and air separation. It also comes with a SuperTurbo Brush for dog and cat hair-free carpets and a lifetime washable filter. For those who suffer from allergies, I can’t recommend this enough!

With us having both carpet and wooden floors in our home, I love that the PowerPro Expert works equally efficiently on all surfaces. Not only can it remove allergens settled deep into carpets and hard to reach places with the Tri-active 3-in-1 nozzle, but it opens the carpet to remove the dust deep down, sucks up larger particles and sweeps up the dust and dirt alongside furniture and walls using its two side brushes.

The accompanying hard floor nozzle ensures optimal cleaning on all floors, especially on parquet and tiles. It also ues soft brush hairs to protect the floor against scratches, and deliver excellent dust removal in crevices and along walls.

One of my favourite features is that this is a bagless vacuum cleaner featuring Nano clean technology which reduces unpleasant dust clouds when emptying the dust bucket. The dust container is so easy to remove, simply by pressing the release button on the cylinder…

Removing the dust container…

And emptying directly into the bin – it’s so simple, no mess and, most importantly, no coughing fit by the dust cloud I’ve experienced with other vacuum cleaners!

With a 10 metre operating radium the PowerPro Expert is a game changer when it comes to vacuuming the stairs, a job I used to loathe, and with a 7 metre retractable power cable you can easily vacuum large areas.

Once you’ve finished vacuuming you simply press the plug socket lever and the lead retracts away for storage.

I also love that the PowerPro Expert has sturdy wheels for ease of use and can easily be pulled along from room to room. When it comes to vacuum cleaners, Philips really have thought of everything!

We are so pleased with the PowerPro Expert vacuum cleaner and would recommend it to anyone, especially those with children, pets and allergies. We have been using this for the last few weeks and I have seen a marked improvement in my dust allergy which really does speak volumes. With a RRP of £240, in my opinion, this is worth every penny.

** Dust pick-up results compared to the top selling bagless vacuum cleaner in Europe, tested on average by external test institute according to DIN EN 60312/11/2008 on carpet. Feb-April, 2014.

** We were sent this item for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own.

 

 

 

Follow:

72 Comments

  1. December 13, 2017 / 3:14 pm

    I hate short vacuum cleaners as I don’t like bending much, I am loving the look of this philips power pro expert.

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:44 pm

      Yes I’m the same! It’s a great size to use without stooping! xx

  2. December 13, 2017 / 3:26 pm

    Wow this looks impressive – the fact that it picks up 40% more dust is really good!

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      Definitely, with a dust allergy I’m really grateful of that! xx

  3. December 13, 2017 / 3:36 pm

    I have back issues too and find that the ‘Henry The Hoover’ that we do have makes my back seize up in pain so I am pleased that the pro expert was more gentle on your back! Great that it picks up 40% more dust as well x

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      Ahh I do love Henry the Hoover, but yes, it’s important to have one which doesn’t aggravate your back! xx

  4. December 13, 2017 / 5:08 pm

    That’s good that you found it lightweight, I think for me that’s one of the biggest issues too x

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:42 pm

      I think anyone with back issues needs to invest in a light weight hoover! xx

  5. December 13, 2017 / 5:31 pm

    This looks great, I love the upright design as I struggle with lugging around my heavy hoover!

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:42 pm

      Yes I did with our old one too, it’s a great hoover! xx

  6. December 13, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    This looks nice, light, and nippy – looks very easy to manoeuvre around as well

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:41 pm

      Yes it’s really easy to use, definitely helps with my bad back! xx

  7. December 13, 2017 / 8:09 pm

    This sounds great, love the fact that it is lightweight and bagless and has a 7m cable. I do think you get what you pay for!

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:40 pm

      I totally agree, I think a good quality vacuum cleaner will always last much longer! xx

  8. December 13, 2017 / 8:24 pm

    This looks a nifty little machine it is lightweight and gives you a could reach with that cable

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2017 / 9:40 pm

      It’s a great vacuum cleaner, has saved my carpets that’s for sure! xx

  9. December 13, 2017 / 10:37 pm

    I love everything about this, the fact it has anti-allergen technology, the colour, the fact it can work on dual surfaces. I’m glad you had such a good experience with it

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:32 pm

      It’s a fab vacuum cleaner Tanya, especially for those with allergies. It has really helped me! xx

  10. December 14, 2017 / 2:34 am

    I hate how much my back aches after a day of using a hoover that’s forced me to stoop in all kinds of positions! I would love to try something like this out to test the difference! I like the colour and packaging too as it wouldn’t look ugly or clunky in the house.

  11. December 14, 2017 / 9:27 am

    This looks like a hard working and lovely and compact machine anything that takes the hard work out of vacuuming is a major win in my book! Xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      Oh I totally agree, it’s not my favourite chore! xx

  12. December 14, 2017 / 9:55 am

    This looks really impressive ! Love the colour and that it is bagless 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      Me too Kira! I do like a snazzy hoover! xx

  13. December 14, 2017 / 10:01 am

    We are in need of a new hoover, this looks great and we may well be purchasing this in January – thank you x

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:27 pm

      I recommend it Melanie, it’s the best cylinder vacuum cleaner we’ve tried! xx

  14. December 14, 2017 / 11:30 am

    I have a bit of a vacuum cleaner addiction and this looks fabulous. Loving the colour too

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:25 pm

      Hahah I think it’s quite easy to fall into! I love this one, it’s helped my allergies no end! xx

  15. Claire
    December 14, 2017 / 2:55 pm

    I love a good vacuum cleaner and I think this one is a good one. Love the design and functionalities. I currently have one at home but I should look into this one as well!

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      It’s great Claire, I think it’s fine to have more than one these days! I really want a cordless one for the car too! xx

  16. December 14, 2017 / 6:52 pm

    This sounds like an amazing hoover and it looks versatile too! My mum needs a new hoover so will recommend it to her

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2017 / 10:21 pm

      It’s great Melissa, I recommend it! xx

  17. December 14, 2017 / 11:20 pm

    This sounds brilliant. I also have chronic illnesses and I have a pet dog so need something suitable for me that still manages to get up the pet hair. This sounds like it does the job perfectly!

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2017 / 11:32 am

      I really recommend this one, it’s so easy to use!! xx

  18. December 15, 2017 / 5:32 am

    This sounds like a great vacuum. I like ones that can get everywhere and importantly for us too, be great at picking up dog hairs 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2017 / 11:27 am

      Yes it’s fab for pets!! I wish we’d had it years ago with our boxer who moulted constantly!! xx

  19. December 15, 2017 / 11:52 am

    I would much prefer to have a vacuum cleaner like this again, it’s so much better for reaching under furniture, etc. We currently have an upright and it’s such a pain. This look great.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:47 pm

      Ahh I love this one, we’ve had both and they both have their uses but for my back, this wins hands down! xx

  20. December 15, 2017 / 12:01 pm

    I prefer a pull along vacuum too. With my bad back an upright is just to heavy – especially when it comes to the stairs. This looks like a great piece of kit but Phillips is a really good brand.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:47 pm

      I agree, you can’t go wrong with a brand like that! xx

  21. December 15, 2017 / 4:37 pm

    I prefer lightweight vacuum cleaners due to back issues. Philips power pro expert seems perfect for people like me and it is great that it removes 40% more dust than other cleaners.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:43 pm

      Yes they are great, for those with or without pets. Our dog hair issue is fixed! xx

  22. December 15, 2017 / 7:20 pm

    With allergies, this sounds like a dream hoover for me. I hate lugging around a heavy one too, as you’ve said this is lightweight and easy to move, sounds ideal 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:43 pm

      Yes it’s great, so light weight to use! xx

  23. December 15, 2017 / 9:06 pm

    This looks like a great vacuum cleaner. I love that there is a filter for pet hair – perfect for when we bring the bunnies into the house.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:42 pm

      Yes definitely, and great for those with allergies! xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:42 pm

      It’s a great vacuum cleaner! xx

  24. December 16, 2017 / 5:25 am

    As vacuum cleaners go, this looks like its up there with the best. I particularly like the flexibility around doing stairs and different floor surfaces. Haven’t tried this model myself but after reading this review, it looks like this would be something I would definitely upgrade to.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:40 pm

      I agree, it’s a real all rounder and the anti allergy technology is amazing! xx

  25. December 16, 2017 / 6:09 pm

    I am so glad you like this as I think appliances we use every day should be something to make our lives easier. I love my vacuum cleaner x

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:29 pm

      I agree, I no longer dread heaving the hoover up the stairs! xx

  26. December 16, 2017 / 11:50 pm

    Looks like a great vacuum, I like the compact size of it and how easy it looks like it is to use. I am going to have to check one out for my new place.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:27 pm

      I definitely recommend it Michael! xx

  27. December 17, 2017 / 10:53 am

    What a great little hoover and the fact it is lightweight really works for me due to shoulder and back issues. I think the price point is really good for such a powerful and effective hoover.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:17 pm

      Me too Tanya, you get what you pay for and this one more than lives up to it’s promises! xx

  28. December 17, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    I love the color of this Philips Power Pro expert and it looks like a great vacuum cleaner! The best part is that it is lightweight and easy to handle!

  29. Dannii
    December 17, 2017 / 6:46 pm

    We need a new vacuum cleaner, and we need something that can get all the pet hair up. This looks like something to look out for in the sales.

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2017 / 11:13 pm

      Yes I’d definitely recommend it Dannii! xx

  30. Hannah
    December 18, 2017 / 5:28 pm

    I think I’m going to buy this one next as it sounds great for pet hair and I have two bunnies so like to shed every where! x

    • Laura Dove
      December 19, 2017 / 7:39 pm

      Oh I totally recommend it then! xx

  31. December 18, 2017 / 9:49 pm

    Oh wow, this looks like an incredible hoover. We are in need of another one so will definitely check this out x

    • Laura Dove
      December 19, 2017 / 7:37 pm

      I definitely recommend it! xx

  32. December 19, 2017 / 11:28 pm

    With a dust allergy, this vacuum sounds great and looks good too.

    • Laura Dove
      December 20, 2017 / 6:58 pm

      It’s fab, I have severe allergies and they’ve really improved! xx

  33. Jess
    December 20, 2017 / 11:22 am

    Oh gosh I know the feeling of lugging around a heavy hoover all too well. I’m glad you’ve got something more lightweight to whizz around with. I think my hoover is on it’s way out so I’ll have to keep an eye out for this.

    • Laura Dove
      December 20, 2017 / 6:51 pm

      Ooh I recommend it Jess! xx

  34. December 20, 2017 / 5:13 pm

    I love how compact and lightweight this is. Ours is certainly a bit heavy these days. Looks like it has some great features too

    • Laura Dove
      December 20, 2017 / 6:44 pm

      It’s great Zena, I recommend it! xx

  35. December 20, 2017 / 9:17 pm

    Great review, I’ve never owned a vacuum like that before. All been upright ones,spots interesting to hear what you think about it

    • Laura Dove
      December 22, 2017 / 11:24 am

      Thank you, I think everyone has their preference, its a great vacuum cleaner! xx

  36. December 21, 2017 / 7:50 pm

    Oo this sounds great! I am pretty sure I hoover 6000 times a day with the kids around LOL! However it never seems to pick up “all” the dirt, dust and crumbs so this sounds perfect for family life.

    • Laura Dove
      December 22, 2017 / 11:03 am

      Hahah me too! How do they create so much mess?? xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *