Review: Lion Guard Rise of Scar Playset

Ever since Megan was a baby her favourite film has been The Lion King, mine too if I’m honest. I had no idea until recently that Disney Junior had created The Lion Guard with new and original characters, Kion and Scar. Since we discovered this show it hasn’t been off our screens, and all three of the little ones are hooked!

When we were sent the Lion Guard Rise of Scar Playset to review I knew that the children would love it, and I wasn’t wrong!

The playset comes with the shows main character Kion, a lion cub with movable head and legs.

There are so many features including a light up Scar with pop out flames;

A monkey launching tree trap which doubles up as a swing for Kion;

A lava pool trap which was the children’s favourite as it launched a ball of lava at Scar (and eachother!);

A collapsing bridge at the push of a button;

And a crocodile pool, ready to snap up anyone who falls from the bridge!

I love that the set really allows the children to use their imaginations, recreating scenes from the show or making up those of their own.

My only negative is that for the price (RRP £49.99) I would have liked a couple more figures so that the children could have really enjoyed the playset together. Anyone with more than one child will understand just how difficult it can be to share one figure between siblings!

Harry was so excited when the girls went to school this morning so that he could swoop on the playset and finally get his hands on Kion, and he happily played with the set for a good hour which speaks volumes for a three year old.

The children are really pleased with the playset and seeing how much they love it I would be happy to recommend this to other parents. When you’re a Lion Guard fan, this set is pretty ROARsome!!

Sorry I just couldn’t resist!! 

The Lion Guard Rise of Scar playset is currently available to buy at Smyths toy store.

Follow:
We were sent this set for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own.

38 Comments

  1. September 26, 2017 / 10:04 pm

    I had one like this when I was younger and I absolutely loved it! Your kids look like they do too!

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 8:57 am

      They really do! Who doesn’t love The Lion King! xx

  2. September 27, 2017 / 9:14 am

    This is fantastic! I love that it kept your three year old’s attention for an hour.. that is definitely the sign of a good toy!

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 7:42 pm

      Always!! He loves it! xx

  3. hannah
    September 27, 2017 / 9:27 am

    This looks amazing. I would have loved this when i was younger

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 7:35 pm

      Me too! I loved anything like this! xx

  4. September 27, 2017 / 10:40 am

    Oh this looks fab! My 4 year old is loving playsets like this with figures that she can make up stories with x

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 7:32 pm

      It’s a great set Emma! xx

  5. September 27, 2017 / 2:37 pm

    I love the lion king. I’ve never seen the lion guard though. This play set looks so cool and fun for kids 🙂 xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 7:10 pm

      Its just a spin off show, but very similar to the movie! xx

  6. September 27, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    This is such a cute playset! My Annabelle would love something like this as she really enjoys imagining her own adventures. xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 7:09 pm

      It’s a great playset, the kids love it! xx

  7. September 27, 2017 / 5:18 pm

    We’re still waiting for Disney to put out The Cheetah King movie. Of course since they’re so fast,it would be a 10 minute short film…..

    Good point on the just one figure,45.00 is a lot for just one. Two would be better

    • Laura Dove
      September 27, 2017 / 7:08 pm

      Haha I would love to see that movie Patrick! Your comment made me smile as always. xxx

  8. September 27, 2017 / 7:49 pm

    We recently introduced my nephew to the Lion King and he loves Kion so much, he would definitely love this play set, it seems lovely

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:28 pm

      Ahh Im sure he would. My kids are obsessed! xx

  9. September 27, 2017 / 7:58 pm

    I love the lion king too and that plays at would make for a great gift to give :)x

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:27 pm

      I agree, I know lots of children who would love it! xx

  10. September 27, 2017 / 8:03 pm

    I love the look of this. I had so many Lion King toys when I was little, takes me back! xo

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:27 pm

      Ah you must be much younger than me! I was in my early teens when The Lion King came out! xx

  11. September 27, 2017 / 8:18 pm

    I love the Lion King so I’d be tempted to get this more for myself than my child😂😂 My only problem is the price – £49.99 seems to steep for any playset to me, but I suppose that’s just the price of things these days!

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:25 pm

      I agree, it’s expensive but it’s Disney, I think we all just accept that Disney will be more expensive than other brands! xx

  12. September 27, 2017 / 8:24 pm

    I sobbed my heart out at The Lion King as a child and I’ve never been able to watch it since haha

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:23 pm

      Awwww I know what you mean, I always have a little tear! xx

  13. September 27, 2017 / 9:18 pm

    So cute! My little boy is just getting into role play with figures and so cute to watch. He hasn’t watched many movies so lion king may be next as I forgot it’s a classic

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:22 pm

      The Lion King is amazing! I’m sure he would love it! xx

  14. September 28, 2017 / 9:57 am

    The lion king is one of my favourite movies as well but I don’t know how I’d feel about more movies etc. The play set looks so cute x

    • Laura Dove
      September 28, 2017 / 12:16 pm

      You can’t mess with the best, the original will always be unbeatable! xx

  15. September 29, 2017 / 8:32 am

    my goodness what a brilliant lion king toy set, my kids would love this for Christmas

    • Laura Dove
      October 1, 2017 / 5:20 pm

      It’s a great set! The kids love it! xx

  16. September 29, 2017 / 8:04 pm

    What a lovely playset. I am sure it would be a success with little man! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      October 1, 2017 / 4:45 pm

      My children love The Lion Guard! xx

  17. October 2, 2017 / 8:11 am

    It is a great set isn’t it – Sebby adores it and now has quite a collection of Lion Guard toys

    • Laura Dove
      October 2, 2017 / 12:42 pm

      Haha mine are already asking for more! xx

  18. Danielle
    October 2, 2017 / 8:43 am

    That last photo is SO cute. My niece and nephew would love something like this – something to add to their christmas list.

    • Laura Dove
      October 2, 2017 / 12:40 pm

      Thank you Danielle! xx

  19. Laura H
    October 3, 2017 / 6:49 am

    Omg I had no idea about this show!! The Lion King is one of my fave shows too so I want to check this out haha

    • Laura Dove
      October 3, 2017 / 12:32 pm

      Whaaaat? Get Nick Junior on! It’s fab! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *