Review – Finding Dory Samsonite Luggage

If there’s one thing that Harry loves, it’s a bag. We have a whole collection of backsacks, shoulder bags, handbags and purses – some bought especially for the children and some simply pilfered from my wardrobe. We have had actual tears at night when I have told him to take off his backpack, or his “pack pack” as he calls it and it’s a daily struggle to wrestle his bag off him before he gets into his car seat! Everything that ever goes missing from our house can be found stuffed in a bag, hidden away where only he knows, with a whole array of household goods, stuffed toys and more often than not, the remote control and my mobile.

When we were approached to review the new Samsonite Finding Dory luggage collection, I knew that there was no better product for our very first review and no better critic than Harry. Not only does he love his bags, but he also loves Disney too and, having just watched Finding Dory, we are all huge fans of the film!

untitled.png

We have never used Samsonite luggage before but I was already aware of their excellent reputation and having read a little more about them, I was expecting only good things.

“At Samsonite we know that the journey can be just as exciting as the final destination, so why not let your children get involved and pack a suitcase of their own.

Designed and manufactured to Samsonite’s legendary standards, our range of childrens’ luggage is perfect for kids on the move.

We have a bag or suitcase to suit every junior globetrotter, starring everyone’s favourite Disney, Marvel and Star Wars characters: Frozen, Disney Princesses, Mickey, Minnie and Disney.Pixar Cars, as well as Spider-Man, the Avengers and Darth Vader.

Our kids’ collections include small upright suitcases, perfect for an overnight stay with grandparents, along with matching school bags, gym bags, purses and children’s rucksacks. So why not let the kids get involved and do their own packing?”

When we received our Dory backpack, I instantly knew that the quality from Samsonite exceeded any of the other bags my children already have. Although absolutely fine for the purpose, our usual backpacks are bought from high street stores, the supermarket or chintzy market stalls when the children have pleaded for “just one more!”. The Dory bag was much bigger than our existing bags and far from ‘just a back pack’, this was a substantial, well made piece of luggage.The girls instantly broke into a fight over who got to try the backpack on first and, having pushed both of them over with screams of “Fishy pack pack!!”, it was no surprise that Harry won. And once he had it on, he refused to take it off!

68042-5096_01

We thought we would try it out for the holiday, the true test of whether it could fit in all of the essentials that Harry insisted on packing – his juice cup,  a bouncy ball, a witch Halloween costume, his stuffed Baa, four different bracelets, two pairs of shoes, four bags of Wotsits, a waterproof mac and a My Little Pony. And after quickly re-packing when he wasn’t looking, we were good to go!

When we woke on the first morning of the holiday and found Harry in the lounge, ready and waiting with his ‘pack pack’ on, we knew then that the Finding Dory backpack had swooped first place in Harrys bag collection!

T1A_1735Although Samsonite luggage may be more expensive than our regular supermarket buys, I have no doubt that the quality is reflected in the price. When it comes to luggage you need something practical and robust, but equally something that appeals to the children so that they want to get involved with the packing, take responsibility for their baggage and, in a family of six, teaching them to carry their own bag is always a bonus!

All in all, not only was Finding Dory a hit with the children, but the Samsonite luggage most definitely was too!

***All thoughts and opinions in this post are my own. We were kindly sent the Samsonite luggage for review. ***

Mummascribbles</div

Follow:

44 Comments

  1. August 16, 2016 / 8:16 pm

    Great bags! The kids must love them and I expect they will be incredibly popular!

  2. August 16, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    We have recently done a review of the Samsonite range too and I was so impressed by the quality of the bags. we had Minnie but I was quite keen on the Dory range too, it’s lovely

  3. August 17, 2016 / 8:47 am

    Sebby is looking over my shoulder and has asked for the Dory suitcase for our holiday……sadly its a bit late as we fly tomorrow

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:43 pm

      Aww bless, Dory is rather cute isn’t he?! xx

  4. August 17, 2016 / 11:42 am

    Samsonite is a well know brand in my country that shouts dependability. If you have their luggage you can use it for life! And its so nice that they finally have something for kids. All so cute and to covet for =) #sharewithme

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:42 pm

      Yes I can imagine it lasting a lifetime, such fab quality and I will definitely be buying more luggage! xx

  5. August 17, 2016 / 12:24 pm

    The rucksack is just divine and so big I bet little man would fit inside it quite snugly ha x

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:42 pm

      Haha you’re right! Infact I’m amazed he hasn’t tried it! xx

  6. August 17, 2016 / 1:58 pm

    Samsonite are such a great travel brand, we love their cases, they are made to last forever. These rucksacks look so much fun!

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:40 pm

      I’ve never had one but I can completely believe it, the quality is fab! xx

  7. August 17, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    Oh this looks amazing!! My little one would just love this, we saw the film last week and now he’s Dory obsessed! #Bestandworst

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:39 pm

      The film is fab isn’t it?! I think I enjoyed it more than the kids! xx

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:39 pm

      Yes it really is so sturdy, perfect for kids! xx

  8. August 17, 2016 / 3:09 pm

    What a cute backpack! Mia wont wear one at all and drives me mad with carrying her bag all the time! Harry looks fab with his bag and I think Mia would like this as we recently watched Finding Nemo which she really enjoyed! 🙂

    #sharewithme

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:38 pm

      Ahh mine are the opposite, won’t take them off! Finding Nemo is fab isn’t it, Finding Dory is equally lovely too! xx

      • August 18, 2016 / 7:54 pm

        I will have to take Mia asap and see how she gets on 🙂

  9. happywawa15
    August 17, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    So cute! Great review 🙂 #BloggerClubUK

  10. August 18, 2016 / 8:28 am

    It looks like a great range of luggage that all children would love. I like the yellow fins of the backpack, it gives it personality.

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:37 pm

      Cute aren’t they? Finding Dory is a great film all round! xx

  11. mummyfever
    August 18, 2016 / 10:20 am

    Such great bags aren’t they and he really looks the part too ! Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

  12. August 18, 2016 / 12:25 pm

    These bags look great and Samsonite have such a good reputation x

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:36 pm

      We’ve never used them before but the quality is fab! xx

  13. Wandering JM
    August 18, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    Oh wow! This is really cute and looks good to the little ones. The fins is really one of the selling points here.

    • August 18, 2016 / 7:36 pm

      Cute aren’t they? And a really great size!! xx

      • Wandering JM
        August 20, 2016 / 2:06 am

        Oh yeah. They are really cute ☺

  14. August 18, 2016 / 7:59 pm

    This is really cute and there’s something about little ones with a backpack on that’s almost as big as them. Maybe I’m just weird…. #stayclassymama

  15. August 18, 2016 / 8:07 pm

    The bag looks fab! The size, design and quality! I will have to take a look at these. Thank you for sharing. #Sharingthebloglove

  16. August 18, 2016 / 8:26 pm

    Many things here! Wonderful review, Harry is just too cute with Dory on, and I want one! I can practically hear Ellen when I see the pictures! Adorbs… M’wah! <3 #momsterlink #stayclassymama

  17. August 19, 2016 / 7:31 am

    Aww, Harry is the cutest! My son loves his ‘pack pack’ too – in fact, you’ve reminded me I need to buy him a new one as the strap has broken on his Peppa Pig one. I really like the look of this – the way it sits on Harry’s shoulders looks really natural and comfortable if you know what I mean. And Dory makes it a winner! Thanks so much for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

  18. August 20, 2016 / 5:56 pm

    That is such a cool bag, I just know that my little two would love this too x

  19. August 20, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    Your opening paragraph made me smile, you could have been writing about my little Holly. She too is obsessed with bags and everything that goes missing is in one of her hundreds of bags!!! We are big Dory fans and I just love this rucksack. You can see that the straps looks nice and padded which will be comfy for little ones. If bag loving Harry loves it, it must be a winner! Thank you for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove Laura x

  20. Mads
    September 3, 2016 / 4:33 pm

    Those backpacks look great, my son would love them! x

    • Laura Dove
      September 4, 2016 / 6:12 pm

      They are fab! Thanks for reading. xx

  21. Emily
    November 29, 2016 / 2:29 pm

    Nice little bags that looks amazing. Harry looks happy in the photos 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2016 / 3:50 pm

      He loved it! xx

  22. January 8, 2017 / 10:52 am

    I am a frequent flyer and I sure travel a lot. I sometimes go on vacation with my daughter as well. We both love pink backpack with design.
    Any good recommendation on pink bags?
    Thanks

    • Laura Dove
      January 8, 2017 / 7:47 pm

      I’m sure that Samsonite have pink luggage, they have such a fab selection! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *