Review : Cybex Cloud Q infant car seat

As of September, with Megan in school and Harry at pre-school, I have agreed to help out a friend and look after her six month old baby for a few hours each week – something which I am hugely excited about. So when I was asked to review the Cybex Cloud Q car seat, it couldn’t have come at a better time for me, meaning that we don’t have to faff around with car seats back and forth, and I can keep this one in my car for when we are out and about.

With Harry, my youngest, being three, it’s a long time since we used an infant car seat and it appears that so much has changed since then. I love this car seat for so many reasons and wanted to share them with you all.

1. The design. 

I know, when it comes to choosing a car seat that it is all about safety, but when a car seat looks this stylish it’s always a bonus. The Cloud Q comes in a range of seven colours and two fabric variations. We went with the twill effect in grey and it really is the most stylish car seat I have come across!

2. Ergonomic lie flat position. 

All I can say about this is – WOW! I can’t believe that nobody thought of it sooner, and I am gutted that they didn’t have these car seats when mine were smaller. I think we can all relate to the fact that our babies only ever slept in the car, I used to drive for miles just to stop the screeching, but on returning home I would have to take the baby from the car seat, well aware of the dangers of leaving them in the car seat position for too long, and inevitably wake them!

The Cloud Q turns from a car seat into a carry cot when you leave the car, meaning that you can recline the car seat to a flat, safe position, so that you never have to wake your sleeping baby again! With a longer leg rest and a lie flat position, your baby can lie in an ergonomically correct position and this can be used in conjunction with CYBEX push chairs too.

3. Removable newborn inlay. 

I love that Cybex have taken advice from German doctors and midwives, as well as the findings from a number of tests, to make sure that their car seats are as safe as possible. Using a removable seat insert enables very small, premature or newborn babies to lie with a near flat angle between the head, neck and chest, significantly reducing any risk of suffocation.

With usage from 0-13kg, from birth to approximately 18 months, by removing the newborn inlay this gives more space as your baby grows.

4. 11 position height adjustable headrest. 

I was so impressed with this feature, having had various car seats in the past where I had to manually remove and reposition the straps in order for the headrest to be in the correct position for my growing baby. The Cloud Q has an eleven position height adjustable headrest simply by pressing and pulling on a discreet lever. As the head rest adjusts, the harness follows, it couldn’t be any easier!

5. Telescopic Linear Side Impact Protection. 

I had never even heard of this L.S.P System before discovering this chair, none of our car seats ever had such a feature. The L.S.P System absorbs the force of a side impact collision with the energy absorbing shell.

Each telescopic L.S.P can be individually, and easily, adjusted to make sure that your baby stays as safe as possible.

6. Comfort 

I love that the Cloud Q is not only safe, but also comfortable. I tried a friends newborn in the car seat for the purpose of this review and she was asleep within moments. It’s lovely and cushioned, with extra wide Y-harness straps, soft belt and crotch pads.

7. Ease of use. 

I love how easy the Cloud Q is to fit into my car, even without an ISOFIX base. The seat belt simply slots in across the seat and around the back and feels completely safe and secure.

8. Chunky handle

When you’re lugging about a newborn, the last thing you want is a flimsy handle, and the Cloud Q has a great sized chunky handle making it easy to carry.

9. Integrated foldaway sun canopy. 

I love that this seat comes with an integrated sun canopy that discretely folds away. For maximum protection to your baby the canopy offers UPF50+ sun protection standard and can also offer protection against wind and rain.

 

10. Accessories.

I love that not only is the Cloud Q compatible with CYBEX push chairs, but there are a number of accessories available to purchase for the seat. The winter footmuff, a Summer cotton cover to keep your child cool, rain cover, insect net and ISOFIX base and guides are all available to accessorise your seat.

I think it’s fair to say that I am a HUGE  fan of the CYBEX Cloud Q and I’m sure that, in just a few short weeks, when I’ve got a gorgeous little baby in there, he will be too!

 

 

 

I am a member of the Mumsnet Bloggers Panel, a group of parent bloggers who have volunteered to review products, services, events and brands for Mumsnet. I have not paid for the product or to attend an event. I have editorial control and retain full editorial integrity. I have received a voucher in exchange for this post. 

Follow:

118 Comments

  1. August 14, 2017 / 3:12 am

    Not a mom yet, but this looks like it would be great for kiddos!! I will keep it in my mind when the time comes!!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:37 am

      I can’t recommend it enough. Xx

  2. August 14, 2017 / 3:49 am

    This looks like such a helpful yet comfortable car seat for the baby and a relief for the parents. Thanks for sharing this, I will share it with my mommy-to-be friends and family members. 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:36 am

      I 100% recommend it, best infant car seat I’ve ever seen! Xx

  3. August 14, 2017 / 7:15 am

    That is a beautiful car seat but WOW, it lays flat when you take it out? That is genius!!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:36 am

      I know!! It really is genius, no more waking the baby!!

  4. August 14, 2017 / 8:12 am

    This looks like a great car seat to get! Looks like an ideal purchase for anyone with a small child!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:35 am

      I’d recommend it to any new parent. There’s nothing else like it!

  5. August 14, 2017 / 8:17 am

    I love this car seat, it was the one we really wanted when we bought the little man’s. It really does look like the car seat babies would choose for themselves x

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:35 am

      It’s amazing isn’t it? I really can’t fault it, I just wish they’d invented it sooner!

  6. August 14, 2017 / 9:09 am

    That looks great and SO comfortable!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:33 am

      It’s so soft and comfortable, I can’t wait to get a squishy baby in there!

  7. August 14, 2017 / 9:21 am

    I looove the look of that carseat, then again I also love the prams! its stylish but also ‘works’ if you know what I mean.. I think next time we need one I may look at Cybex

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 9:32 am

      I totally recommend it. The recline feature is amazing, it would have made such a difference to me when mine were babies!

  8. August 14, 2017 / 9:42 am

    Love the lay flat feature that’s so fab! Definitely one For when baby number 3 comes along!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:35 pm

      I would highly recommend them, they are so sturdy too and I feel so confident on how safe they are. xx

  9. August 14, 2017 / 10:21 am

    That looks like a really sturdy and durable car-seat 🙂 There are so many choices out there, but if I were expecting, I’d definitely keep this one in mind 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:32 pm

      I think compared to other car seats, this one wins hands down! xx

  10. August 14, 2017 / 10:27 am

    Wow this looks like the creme de la creme of infant car seats. I wish something similar had been around a decade ago when my kids were young.

    That lay flat move when you take them out of the car is genius and I bet, a real life saver for so many parents. Mich X

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:32 pm

      It really is! I used to dread having to wake the babies when we got out of the car, this is a life saver! xx

  11. August 14, 2017 / 10:30 am

    What a fab looking and sturdy car seat, my friend’s just had her second, I’ll have to share this with her x

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:29 pm

      Oh yes please do, its a great seat! xx

  12. August 14, 2017 / 12:05 pm

    I love the fact that it can lie flat – what a unique feature!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      I know, I would have loved to have this for my four! xx

  13. August 14, 2017 / 12:10 pm

    The lay flat feature is definitely a winner for me! Love the grey design too xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      And me, it’s such a good idea! No more waking the baby! xx

  14. August 14, 2017 / 1:08 pm

    Now that looks like a cosy car seat, it is amazing all the features they come with these days! I know my cousin is on the look out for one so I’ll send this review her way.

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      It’s an amazing car seat, the recline feature really is such a good idea! xx

  15. August 14, 2017 / 1:39 pm

    I dont have kids of my own (yet) but this looks brilliant! Super comfy!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:27 pm

      It really does look comfy, why do adult seats not look like this>! xx

  16. August 14, 2017 / 2:49 pm

    I need a new car seat for my next one & this looks fab. Love that it reclines & has a sun shade x

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:27 pm

      It’s definitely one to consider, I’m so impressed! xx

  17. Catvills
    August 14, 2017 / 3:06 pm

    This is one fantastic car seat! I love the chunky handle. It looks really plush and comfy too! Any baby would fall asleep comfortably in that. I will recommend this to friends and family who have newborn babies or are expecting one soon.

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:26 pm

      It’s fab! I can’t sing it’s praises highly enough! xx

  18. August 14, 2017 / 5:18 pm

    Friends of mine just had a baby and they are having quite a time picking a car seat that suits there needs. I had no idea there were so many poorly designed car seats on the market. But necessity is the mother of invention so we as humans keep trying to improve upon what was done last.

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:26 pm

      Choosing a car seat is SO important, we all want the safest one for our children. xx

  19. August 14, 2017 / 6:13 pm

    This sounds great – stylish yet full of features to help with a new baby!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:25 pm

      I completely love it, can’t recommend it enough! xx

  20. August 14, 2017 / 6:30 pm

    I have never really seen a stylish but safe car seat before, so really like the look and sound of this one.

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:25 pm

      Its such a stylish looking car seat, I love the colour! xx

  21. August 14, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    The advances in car seats are just amazing – this looks so safe and secure, and I love the way it lies flat. I could definitely have used that for my youngest!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:25 pm

      It really does feel so safe and secure, I feel really confident in using it. xx

  22. August 14, 2017 / 7:44 pm

    I love the lie flat mode for when you’re outside of the car! That was always an annoying thing to have to consider when our boy was young!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:24 pm

      Me too! I cant wait to try that out, nap time will make a huge difference! xx

  23. August 14, 2017 / 8:06 pm

    Oooo this does look very stylish and looks very comfy too! I’ve not heard of this make before. I like how you can lay it down flat!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:24 pm

      It’s such a fab feature, no more waking the baby after car journeys – amazing! xx

  24. August 14, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    I wish I had known about this car seat before Tyler was born! The stylish element deffo has me wishing for it!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      It’s a gorgeous looking seat, it looks great in my car! xx

  25. August 14, 2017 / 8:41 pm

    It looks fantastic. My favourite feature is the fold away sun canopy I wish we had this on ours, we had to attach one and I kept forgetting to take it out with me.

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      Ahh yeah I love that too, I used to end up putting a blanket over our old one because I forgot the sun canopy! xx

  26. August 14, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    Car seats have come along way since my kids were small, this seat looks fantastic, sturdy and very safe.

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:21 pm

      Haven’t they just? In just three years I’ve seen a huge change in the designs, this is such a great idea! xx

  27. August 14, 2017 / 10:49 pm

    This looks so good!! Car seats are so more to them nowadays don’t they x

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 8:48 pm

      Its amazing! I’m so happy with it! xx

  28. Claire
    August 14, 2017 / 11:21 pm

    Car seats are really important since it is all about safety. The quality of the material looks great and soft too! I like how it looks comfy so it’s really going to satisfy the babies.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 8:47 pm

      I agree, you cant be too careful when it comes to the safety of your child. x

  29. August 15, 2017 / 1:59 am

    This car seat is so cute and comfy! Having a removable seat insert and flat mode option is such great idea. I wish I knew about this when my cousin had her baby a few years ago!

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 8:45 pm

      I wish they had it when mine were babies too! xx

  30. August 15, 2017 / 7:40 am

    My sister had a Cybex car seat once her son got past the baby stage and I was really impressed with it, but this sounds fab. The lie flat option is a real game changer – so often my son falls asleep in the car and it’s so frustrating to bring him in with him sleeping soundly, only to have to wake him up to remove him from the car seat. The fact that it can last until 18 months is great too – I think my eldest was in his baby seat until about 12 months (and that was fairly late compared to his peers!)

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 8:00 pm

      I’ve never had a Cybex car seat before, or any of their products actually, but I am SO impressed! The recline feature really is a game changer, I used to dread lifting them out of their car seats as I knew they would wake!! xx

  31. Борка Шаула
    August 15, 2017 / 8:01 am

    This car seat is so pro! I love the fact that it can turn into a flat position that’s better for babies, as well the comfort. I feel it’s like a little cloud for babies. And I really like their design, it’s so modern.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:59 pm

      It definitely feels like a little protective cloud for babies! xx

  32. August 15, 2017 / 8:22 am

    Such good timing, that’s great that you can recline it so as not to wake them x

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:56 pm

      Its amazing isn’t it? No more waking the baby – yay! xx

  33. August 15, 2017 / 8:33 am

    I love these carseats, and the grey is a really nice colour too. So handy to be able to use it instead of a carrycot while if you’ve got some quick shopping to do! x

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:56 pm

      They have some fab colours, it’s a great design! xx

  34. August 15, 2017 / 8:44 am

    Our friends have just bought one of these and said how good it is!

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:55 pm

      Its amazing, I can’t get over what a fab seat it is! xx

  35. Dannii
    August 15, 2017 / 8:52 am

    There are so many different car seats on the market at the moment. We spent hours researching which one to get. This looks like a great choice and it looks comfy too.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:55 pm

      It really does look so comfy, I love the colour too! xx

  36. Steve KingUk
    August 15, 2017 / 9:12 am

    We aren’t parents but from the experience of siblings having kids, it always sounds as though you need a degree when it comes to car seats!

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:54 pm

      Yes!! There is so much to consider!! xx

  37. eliza
    August 15, 2017 / 9:30 am

    Good review and good job on Cybex. They were able to modify and gave a better choice to parents in regards to baby car seats. The best part is its being convertible that you can adjust and flatten the seat and just carry the baby though asleep. Still Stylish and Safe.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:53 pm

      It’s a great seat Eliza, I am totally sold on it! xx

  38. August 15, 2017 / 9:46 am

    Car seat are so important. I really love this material and the grey colour of this car seat too. It looks super comfy and I like that the handle goes all the way back. When I had mind – it wasn’t half as good as this. This is so nice!

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:53 pm

      I know, ours neither and it was only two years ago!! I can’t believe how fast technology moves! xx

  39. August 15, 2017 / 11:35 am

    Good you are helping your friend with her baby for some hours a week. The car seat looks fab.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:22 pm

      I’ve got 15 hours to myself each week so at least he will keep me company! xx

  40. August 15, 2017 / 11:37 am

    This seat looks so cosy. I wish you could have anything like this for adults 😀

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:22 pm

      Haha yes I do! xx

  41. August 15, 2017 / 12:01 pm

    This looks like a fantastic car seat, as you said it definitely looks more stylish than the car seat I had for either or my little ones lol! It also looks super comfy and padded! I love the fact it lay’s flat too, such a great idea.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:21 pm

      It’s such a gorgeous colour, it looks great in the car! x

  42. August 15, 2017 / 12:28 pm

    I’ve not had to buy a car seat (yet), but I know there is a lot to consider when choosing one for your child. I hope this post helps mums and dads make a more informed decision about whether this model suits their needs 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:21 pm

      There is so much to consider, I think when it comes to the safety of your child you cant be too careful! xx

  43. August 15, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    This sounds like a brilliant carseat! My kids have bigger car seats now but I would defiantly recommend this to a friend for sure

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:20 pm

      It’s amazing, the recline feature is genius! xx

  44. August 15, 2017 / 2:10 pm

    If I still have a baby the fact that the car seat lies flat like a carrycot when you take it out of the car would completely sell it to me. So amazing for when they fall asleep in the car. This really does look like an awesome car seat.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:11 pm

      I am SO impressed with it, I seriously love it! xx

  45. August 15, 2017 / 2:46 pm

    This looks great! I love how it converts in a carrycot, I’ve not seen a car seat do this before. Comfort is such an important factor when choosing a car seat, as they can spend a lot of time in it and no one wants a crying baby x

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 6:32 pm

      It’s amazing isn’t it? It would have made such a difference when mine were little, I had to wake them so many times taking then out of the car seat! xx

  46. August 15, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Wow I love the design of this car seat and I love how far back you can adjust it. Genius design and beautiful car seat. x

  47. August 16, 2017 / 6:44 am

    We bought a Cybex car seat (I think it was the Sirona) and to be brutally honest is overpriced and a pain in the backside. It sticks making it hard to tilt, the straps always get uneven and take half an hour to fix and is difficult to turn in order to get my toddler out (one of the main reasons we actually bought it), my eldest can quite easily unclip himself and it’s just not worth to ridiculously high price tag. That said, their first cars seats made for babies so look incredibly good, comfortable and do have extensive safety features. Cybex pushchairs are also really lovely and if I had another baby, I would definitely look at buying one, but I’m not sure I could ever trust in their car seats again to be honest.

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 4:42 pm

      Ahh I have never tried Cybex seats before so I haven’t seen any other than this first stage one. As far as infant car seats go, I genuinely think that this is amazing, the recline feature is a total game changer for me! I would love to see one of the pushchairs, I’m told they are great too! xx

  48. Lynne Harper
    August 16, 2017 / 8:59 am

    This looks like a fabulous seat and super comfy for that extra special cargo 🙂 enjoy your time with the baby x

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 4:40 pm

      Thanks Lynne, I will! xx

  49. August 16, 2017 / 9:51 am

    Great design choices I think, and of course very safe 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 4:40 pm

      I love the colours, it’s so stylish..and safe! xx

  50. August 16, 2017 / 10:45 am

    This is amazing!! We would, spend hours taking Meme out in the car to get her asleep only to wake her to get her back into her cot. This sounds perfect, and it looks really stylish too. I love the grey colour of it.

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 4:39 pm

      It really is Natalie, I so wish I’d have had this for my four! xx

  51. August 16, 2017 / 5:37 pm

    I LOVE that is reclines like that!! What a fantastic idea!!! So many times I could have done with that when visiting friends and baby falls asleep!

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 5:41 pm

      Oh me too, I used to dread having to wake them up to put them in the moses basket. This would have been perfect!! xx

  52. August 16, 2017 / 6:28 pm

    That looks SO comfy, and the fact that is lays down is a great idea. Why has no one ever done that before I really don’t know!!

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 8:03 pm

      I know, it seems like such an obvious idea! xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 16, 2017 / 8:02 pm

      Mine too, thank god for borrowed babies! xx

  53. August 16, 2017 / 9:14 pm

    Wow!!! I think this car seat has more technology and features than my whole car!! I agree that the lie flat feature is an amazing one, and should have been invented years ago!

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:22 pm

      Haha it really does!! It’s crazy that nobody thought of it sooner! xx

  54. Sarah Ann
    August 16, 2017 / 11:15 pm

    Oh this looks so cosy! I do like the fact you can turn it into a carry cot with ease – nothing worse than waking a sleeping baby!

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:16 pm

      Oh I know!! It used to pain me to wake them! xx

  55. August 17, 2017 / 8:44 am

    I want to be a baby again and try this out. This looks so cosy like, babies these days are so spoiled haha

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:12 pm

      Haha I totally agree! They didn’t even have car seats when I was a baby! xx

  56. Rachel
    August 17, 2017 / 11:10 am

    Looks like a great car seat, very high quality and so comfortable! xo

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:11 pm

      It’s a great car seat, I’m completely sold on it! xx

  57. August 17, 2017 / 6:12 pm

    This car seat is gorgeous Laura!
    Iris is due to move up car seats in the next 6 months! It’s making me so sad! Although she’s dinky and I could probably get away with using it for another year!

  58. August 19, 2017 / 6:07 pm

    What a fab car seat it sounds like it has all the safety features and I think it looks really stylish. I especially love the colour. Lovely review too. And such lovely pictures you can see the carseat and all its features so clearly. It looks really great in you car and the seat belt looks like it fits around the seat so well. xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:10 pm

      Thank you, we really are over the moon with it! xx

  59. August 20, 2017 / 3:16 pm

    Oh my goodness, I thought it looks good in the first photo – nice an stylish and then when I read it could go flat! That is simply genius! I could have done with one of these as Monkey I use to be able to move without waking but Kipper is the complete opposite and its such an issue. Shame he’s now 15 months! This is revolutionary, very impressed x

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 3:45 pm

      It’s amazing isn’t it? It would have been an absolute life saver when mine were babies, I hated having to wake them! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *