Playbrush – making life that little bit easier!

If I had to choose something I like the least about being a parent, it’s the morning routine. I’ve never been a morning person, even before I had the children, and I struggle to just get myself up and dressed, let alone four children – none of whom are morning people either!

image

Every morning we go through the same ritual that usually starts with me slapping at my snooze button for a good fifteen minutes before leaping out of bed screeching, “We’re going to be late!” until I wake the children who, typically, can’t get out of bed before 8am Monday to Friday. There begins the manic routine that is breakfast, with one wanting toast, one wanting cereal, one wanting pancakes and one, always Eva, asking for, “Something cheeky” by which she means something completely in-appropriate, usually involving chocolate.

By the time that I’ve mopped up the inevitable spillages, wiped peanut butter handprints from the walls, washed Weetabix from someone’s hair, packed three school bags and made two packed lunches, all whilst mumbling under my breath that this should have been done the night before, we usually have ten minutes to get everybody dressed, hair styled, and teeth brushed before we make the mad dash to school.

And I’ve actually got the getting dressed part down to a fine art, if by art you mean wrestling the children into submission while yanking jumpers over their head and squeezing their feet into the wrong sized shoes, which gives us just enough time to do our teeth…..or so you’d think. Because the truth is, my children HATE me brushing their teeth, almost as much as I hate brushing them.

The girls, fiercely stubborn, refuse to brush their teeth unless they have squeezed out the toothpaste themselves, which never goes to plan, soaked the brush with water, washing off most of the toothpaste in the process, then merely hold the toothbrush in their mouths for all of thirty seconds before spitting it out, wiping their mouths on the sleeves of their nice clean jumpers. Harry is a little more hell of a lot more difficult and you can guarantee there will be tears. Either I’ve chosen the wrong colour brush, there’s not enough toothpaste, too much toothpaste, too little water, too much water, he wants to hold it, he wants me to hold it……..you get the idea, and most days it’s a two man job to just get the brush in his mouth.

So when Playbrush approached me to try their new toothbrush, I figured it was worth a try. Afterall, anything was worth a shot to try and combat the drama that ensued every single morning. And although I was sceptical about what could possbibly make a toothbrush any more appealing to the children, it turns out that this revolutionary new way to brush your teeth may well be the answer that us parents have been searching for.

51gnay9it5l-_sl1000_

So what is Playbrush?

Playbrush attaches onto any manual toothbrush and connects via Bluetooth to a Smartphone or Tablet, allowing kids to control mobile games with their own brushing movements. Interactive brushing challenges and rewards coupled with detailed brushing feedback, means brushing is now not just entertaining, but effective.

There are are many benefits to using Playbrush and yet the three that appealed to me most are these,

  • Longer brushing – each game lasts for 2 minutes to get children brushing for the recommended time.
  • Better brushing – a specific game algorithm ensures that kids brush all around their mouths.
  • Regular brushing – feedback and rewards motivate kids to brush twice a day.

I love the fact that Playbrush was developed alongside actual dentists, meaning that not only is it a fun way for children to clean their teeth, but it encourages good dental hygiene in children from a young age. I especially like that Playbrush works with 95% of manual toothbrushes, so that for larger families like ourselves, we only need to buy one Playbrush and use our individual toothbrushes with the base.

close-up

Playbrush uses innovative technology to measure speed, duration and position to be able to get good brushing feedback. The brush is designed in a way that makes children brush all around their mouth, not just left to right, using an unique reward scheme which encourages children to come back time and time again.

When we received the brush the children literally could not wait to try it and, after charging it up with the USB adaptor, we were good to go. And never have I seen my children so excited over the prospect of brushing their teeth!!

img_0435

We downloaded three different games to my iphone, all available for free on the App store, and Eva demanded that she had the first go, “I am the eldest!” she told Harry and Megan, in a very serious voice. After shaking the brush twice to activate it, the base flashed yellow and we were able to choose one of the games from my phone. Each game has individual profiles for the children so they can choose their own character to keep track of their progress each day.

img_0426

Each game runs for two minutes, the optimum time for brushing teeth, which actually passed really quickly given that usually it feels like an age when they are flailing around as though I am trying to poison them! The game tells you when each side is done, whether you need to brush a little faster, or simply congratulates you for brushing well.

phone-shot

Eva enjoyed it so much that she asked to clean them again, “I think my teeth might still be a little bit dirty?!” she told us as she clicked onto a colouring game.

img_0437

After four minutes of brushing, by which time I’m amazed she hadn’t made her gums bleed, I realised that for the first time in years we hadn’t had any drama over getting them to brush their teeth. Although the fact that Harry and Megan were throttling it out over who got the next turn more than made up for that.

megy-angry

The children, ever competitive, couldn’t wait to beat each others high scores, something which only encourages them to try harder! My only negative was that they enjoyed it so much, they really didn’t want it to end!

meggy2

We would definitely recommend the Playbrush to any parents of young children, although Gaz, Lewis and I all had a turn and it’s actually fun for all ages! It is such a relief to finally have something to make our mornings a little less stressful, now if someone can invent a cloning device so that I can snooze for that little bit longer, it would be much appreciated!!

meggy

Playbrush is currently on sale at £19.99. For more information visit www.playbrush.com/en

Run Jump Scrap!
Cuddle Fairy
Mummy Fever - Share With Me
Mummuddlingthrough

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

ethannevelyn

Follow:
We were sent the Playbrush for review but all words and opinions are, as always, my own.

62 Comments

  1. Debbie Nicholas
    December 6, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Oh I love this idea,y girls always kick up a fuss at brushing theirs too!

    • Laura Dove
      December 6, 2016 / 8:56 pm

      I’m glad it’s not just my children! They are such a good idea and it has really helped make mornings less stressful! xx

  2. December 6, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    I’ll have to recommend this to my friend who is having very similar battle with her two!

    • Laura Dove
      December 6, 2016 / 8:56 pm

      It’s hard work when they won’t co-operate. So far this has really helped! xx

  3. December 6, 2016 / 7:52 pm

    That’s such a good idea, I love reviews like this. It’s a shame Max (2) is probably a bit young he bloody hates having his teeth cleaned.

    • Laura Dove
      December 6, 2016 / 8:55 pm

      Isn’t it a fab idea! I only wish I had invented it! I’m hoping the novelty doesn’t wear off! xx

  4. December 6, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    Lol now they will love brushing their teeth so much that their teeth will be pearlier than pearl white. Eva is a cutie x

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 3:02 pm

      Haha yes, the only issue is they want to brush them ten times a day! xx

  5. December 6, 2016 / 10:50 pm

    My goodness do I need this for my Eva!!! It looks great x

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 3:02 pm

      It’s such a good idea, has changed our morning routine entirely! xx

  6. December 7, 2016 / 8:23 am

    Wow that is a smart toothbrush! Love the photo of Eva in the morning, she looks exactly how I do : ). #bloggerclubuk

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 2:57 pm

      Hahaha and me too!! xx

  7. December 7, 2016 / 9:17 am

    What a great little model you have there in Eva, I loved that first photo – toothbrush looks good too! #SharewithMe

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 2:57 pm

      Thank you! It’s a fab idea, and has helped massively! xxx

  8. December 7, 2016 / 10:17 am

    I’m still chuckling at the morning photo of your daughter! LOL my daughter has the same crazy hair when she gets up & cross face too. The playbrush sounds like such a great idea! I’m so glad it’s worked well for all your kiddies. Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 2:53 pm

      Haha it’s one of my favourite photos!! She wakes up every morning looking like she’s been dragged through a bush and yet Eva wakes up without a hair out of place!! Playbrush is fab, thank god one thing is a little less stressful! xx

  9. Katy - Hot Pink Wellingtons
    December 7, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    You’ve sold me on this! Tooth brushing is absolutely my most dreaded part of the day – Max is just like your girls, insists on putting on the paste himself, and then insists on getting his brush wet and washing it all down the sink! Weirdly, once that part is out of the way, he’s pretty good about opening his mouth and letting me brush, but he loves rewards and a game, so this sounds perfect. I think he’s probably a little bit young for it at the moment, but in a few months I think we’ll give this a go.

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 2:51 pm

      It’s a nightmare isn’t it? We have literally had full on battles, Gaz pinning Harry down and me prising his mouth open to get to his teeth, it’s exhausting!! I don’t know why somebody didn’t invent this sooner, it’s such a great way to get them to clean their teeth properly, we love it! xx

      • Katy - Hot Pink Wellingtons
        December 9, 2016 / 8:23 pm

        Oh, I’ve been there with the pinning down – every bit of advice I read said not to do it, but otherwise his teeth never would have got brushed! Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

  10. December 7, 2016 / 6:16 pm

    What a good idea. My boys always complain about brushing their teeth and use a minuscule amount of toothpaste. It’s a battle I don’t need in the morning or at night. Will give this a try.

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 8:05 pm

      Haha yes, it’s hard work! Good luck with this, it’s helped us massively! xx

  11. December 7, 2016 / 7:39 pm

    What a lovely idea. Great for getting the younger children to brush their teeth 🙂 My kids are always trying to get out of brushing there teeth. They are a teenager and one nearly a teenager too!!

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 8:03 pm

      Haha my twelve year old is just as bad!! xx

  12. December 7, 2016 / 8:08 pm

    I don’t have any trouble brushing the Mini’s teeth to be honest but I want this. They might not need it or know that they want it yet, but believe me, I say they want it….

    I am so excited about this right now it’s ridiculous LOL.

    *post bookmarked*

    • Laura Dove
      December 7, 2016 / 8:28 pm

      HAHAH this made me laugh out loud. It’s soooo much fun, I’ve used it every day since we got it, I’m determined to have the top score, haha! xx

  13. December 7, 2016 / 10:15 pm

    This is such a fantastic product and App. I do love this. I think that kids need help to brush teeth regular and this is a great incentive and can make teeth brushing more fun for sure. What a clever idea.

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 12:34 pm

      It really is a great idea! I love that it shows you their progress to see how they are improving with their brushing skills. Teeth are SO important aren’t they?! xx

  14. December 7, 2016 / 11:30 pm

    My kids would have loved this but it definitely would have made us late for everything lol.

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 12:32 pm

      Haha yes there is that, they are so keen to brush they just want to do it all the time! xx

  15. December 8, 2016 / 12:33 am

    Are those your kids? They’re gorgeous! Her eyes, LORD!

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 12:31 pm

      Yes! Thank you so much! xx

  16. December 8, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    I came across these at the ideal home (blog is on this linky ;-p)
    It’s such a genuinely amazing product, it’s one me and hubby still talk about today as we can’t get over how good it is and the price is reasonable too!
    #coolmumclub

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 5:55 pm

      It’s great isn’t it?! I had never heard of it until very recently, it’s such a fab idea!! xx

  17. December 8, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    I’m so glad I came accross your post. I was only talking to a friend whose daughter hates brushing her teeth yesterday, will now now have a recommendation to give her. Thank you. #Sharingthebloglove

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 5:54 pm

      Ahh I’m so glad to be of help to someone! It’s such a fab idea! xx

  18. December 8, 2016 / 3:18 pm

    Lol that first photo of your really made me chuckle it sums up mornings so perfectly. Tooth brushing is the thing I despise the most so must investigate this further! Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub lovely xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 5:53 pm

      Haha yes, and me too! She’s really not a morning person!!!xx

  19. Selena, The Rambler
    December 8, 2016 / 3:27 pm

    Totally feel you on the morning routine. I have a 10 year old and it’s still a struggle. (eyes closed). And love this toothbrush! Might be a cool gift for my niece. #SharingtheBlogLove

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 5:53 pm

      Haha my eldest is 12 and I still struggle with him too! It’s only going to get harder to drag them out of bed! xx

  20. December 8, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    What a clever idea. Although I think I would be a bit worried about the safety of my phone around all that water and toothpaste lol.
    #sharingthebloglove
    PS that first photo of your little girl is the best ‘morning’ pic I’ve seen 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 5:51 pm

      It comes with a plastic phone cover, I should have included that, will have to edit it in!! xx

  21. December 8, 2016 / 6:08 pm

    That sounds interesting, will definitly look that up! I’m not a morning person either, I pretty much have the same expression on my face of a morning as your daughter in that first pic! Lol #sharingthebloglove

  22. December 8, 2016 / 6:35 pm

    This looks like a fantastic invention and I definitely could use some help with getting my 4 year old to brush his teeth properly but I’m such a technophobe that it sounds a little complicated to me lol. Is it easy to use?

    #stayclassymama

    • Laura Dove
      December 8, 2016 / 7:35 pm

      It’s so easy to use! Just download the app, the app finds the toothbrush when Bluetooth is switched on, and that’s it!! Super easy, even my parents can do it, haha! xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 9, 2016 / 9:42 am

      I think most children do! Not now though, my kids are asking to brush them ten times a day, ha! xx

  23. December 8, 2016 / 9:10 pm

    We have been testing this out too and even Hubby and I have been having a go – completing the tasks is harder than it looks, unless you are a child…….they seem to have the nack LOL

    • Laura Dove
      December 9, 2016 / 9:39 am

      Haha yes! Me and Gaz have been competing, it’s good fun!! xx

  24. December 9, 2016 / 9:40 am

    That first picture is gold! On a serious note I need to look into this toothbrush and app as I have similar problems to you. Anything that encourages them to actually brush their teeth and let me brush their teeth is a winner! What a fab idea #Stayclassymama

    • Laura Dove
      December 9, 2016 / 12:31 pm

      Haha its hilarious isn’t it, I look like that most mornings too if I’m honest! Teeth brushing is hard work if they won’t co-operate, thankfully my only issue now is getting them to stop! xx

  25. December 9, 2016 / 9:57 am

    Oh wow what an amazing idea! I don’t have too many problems at the moment, thankfully, but it will be a great thing for when they start brushing their own teeth – i love that the games encourage them to brush properly. I am in awe of such a clever invention! #sharingthebloglove

    • Laura Dove
      December 9, 2016 / 12:30 pm

      It’s such a fab idea, I only wish I had thought of it! I’m getting well into the games, who knew brushing could be so much fun! xx

  26. December 9, 2016 / 10:34 am

    What a great idea! Mine are a bit older now but this would have been handy when they were younger! I did buy the Boy an electric toothbrush just to make brushing his teeth different and fun- it did work but I’m still not convinced his brushing is that effective!! #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      December 9, 2016 / 12:27 pm

      My eldest has an electric toothbrush but again, you never know how well they are brushing. At least with this it tells you if they are brushing properly! It’s a really fab idea! xx

  27. Laura h
    December 9, 2016 / 11:30 am

    What a clever idea! I always hated brushing my teeth as a child but this would’ve kept me brushing for hours!

    • Laura Dove
      December 9, 2016 / 12:27 pm

      Haha yes, two minutes just isn’t long enough when they are having fun! xx

  28. December 9, 2016 / 8:24 pm

    What a brilliant idea. My kids are awful for brushing their teeth and something like this would really help them I think

  29. December 12, 2016 / 1:44 pm

    I love that photo of your girl! So very early isn’t it! lol! My kids would absolutely love this!

    Thank you so much for linking up with us on #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      Haha Meggy wakes like that most mornings, hilarious! xx

  30. December 14, 2016 / 3:02 pm

    Oh anything that makes life easier I am all for. Especially sormthing most kids see as a chore! What a great idea xx #sharetheblogginglove

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2016 / 10:47 pm

      Yes! My kids love brushing now! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *