#minichefs Num Noms challenge – Review and Rocky Road recipe!

When we were asked to take part in the Num Noms #MiniChefs challenge I didn’t hesitate to say yes. All four of my children love to bake, cook and most of all, eat!! Cooking is a big thing in our house and with all six of us leading hectic lives, meal times are an important part of our day. Of course, with four children, meal times can be hugely stressful too but I find that if we let the children get involved in preparing and making the food, it makes a huge difference.

img_1404

I have to confess, I had never heard of Num Noms before we were approached to join in the Mini Chefs challenge, and yet as soon as I saw them I knew that they were exactly the kind of thing that my children would adore. As with all collectable toys, my children were instantly drawn to them, and with each one having a different scent it wasn’t long before they were tearing them open and smelling them in amazement!

img_1386

To those reading who haven’t heard of Num Noms ,they are basically a collectable toy that you can mix and match to create sweet and savoury scented recipes. With over 100 to collect, each Deluxe Pack includes 6 scented Nums, 2 scented motorised Noms and a Mystery Character. They also includes a collector’s menu and 2 accessories for you to make over 5,000 wacky combinations.

When we opened our Series 2 Diner pack I was instantly impressed by how good they smell. I know some scented toys aren’t overly pleasant but these were lovely and Megan was very impressed with the “Num” which was motorised to “go-go” all over the place. The idea is to choose a Num and then layer on the Nom to create a scentsational (couldn’t resist!) recipe!

img_1371

We were also sent a Series 2 Brunch set which had some really sweet little Noms such as Willy Waffles, Strawberry Froyo and Berry cakes. The girls loved these the most, probably because they are pink!

img_1395

img_1402

The girls favourite part was opening the Num Nom blind packs, because all children love the thrill of a surprise. Each pack contains either a lip balm or an ink stamper, and with the girls both getting lip balms (Or lip stick as they insisted on telling me!) they were over the moon. They smelled amazing and felt really lovely and moisturising, I’ll definitely be swiping one from them!

img_1392

img_1389

Part of the #Minichefs challenge was to use the Num Noms for inspiration to start cooking, and although we cheated a little as we decided to bake, Megan and Harry were super excited to get started!

We chose to make Rocky Road, partly because it requires minimum baking and partly because with a two and three year old, there was little chance of it going wrong!!

Ingredients

  • 200g Dark Chocolate (70% cocoa solids works best)
  • 2-3 tbsp Golden Syrup
  • 135g Butter or Margarine
  • 100g Mini Marshmallows
  • 200g Digestive biscuits
  • Icing sugar to dust
  • Optional Ingredients
  • Raisins, dried cranberries or any dried fruit
  • Nuts
  • Anything else you think would be tasty

Method

  1. Line a small to medium sized square baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Place biscuits into a freezer bag and bash with a rolling pin or just the side of your fist until they’re broken into a mixture of everything between dust and 50p size lumps. Put this to one side.
  3. In a large sauce pan melt the butter, chocolate and golden syrup over a gentle heat stiring it constantly until there are no or almost no more lumps of chocolate visible, then remove from the heat.
  4. Take Biscuits, marshmallows and any additional delicious ingredients and pour into the pan of the chocolate mixture. Stir all this into the mixture until everything is completely covered.
  5. Tip the mixture into the lined baking tray, making sure you get it all, and spread the mixture out to the corners.
  6. Refrigerate this for at least 2 hours then dust with icing sugar and cut into squares.

Harry was very excited to be in charge of crushing up the biscuits, although at one point I did fear for the survival of my glass dining table, and Megan took her job as Master Chef very seriously!

img_1384

img_1383

img_1382

img_1380

img_1379

By some miracle some of the ingredients actually made their way into the bowl and,  by the time the children had finished playing with the Num Noms and the cakes were ready, they were a huge success all round!

img_1374

img_1403

Although as a parent I am always reluctant to buy into collectable toys, I can see exactly why these would appeal to young children and I’m sure I will be persuaded to add to their collection come Christmas!

For further information, including pricing, visit  www.numnoms.com

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Twin Mummy and Daddy
Post Comment Love
A Cornish Mum
ethannevelyn

A Mum Track Mind
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Follow:
For the purpose of this review we were sent the above items and yet all thoughts and opinions are my own.

63 Comments

  1. October 20, 2016 / 9:36 am

    I hadn’t heard of Num Noms either before doing a similar post and to be honest, I wasn’t 100% sure what we were supposed to do with them however Mia knew what they were! Rocky road is a firm favourite in our house too and yours look fab! Great photos too! 🙂

    #brillblogposts

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 12:35 pm

      Haha yes me too! I was a bit like, how do we play with these? But my kids, and kids in general I think, love little bits of toys. Eva just wanted to spend her time lining them up and counting them! Educational as well as fun!! xx

  2. October 20, 2016 / 10:36 am

    These look fun to play with and I definitely love rocky road, it is such a versatile recipe to use with kids and you can always throw in some healthy products too x

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 12:34 pm

      Yep that’s why I threw in the raisins, I felt like they needed to have at least one healthy ingredient!! xx

  3. October 20, 2016 / 11:13 am

    Looks great! Num noms remind me a little bit Shopkins, they do look similar don’t they? Loving the photos. Looks like everyone had a fun experience making delicious looking rocky road! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 12:33 pm

      The kids actually thought they were shopkins at first! They’ve been pestering me for shopkins and I’ve kept saying no, as one leads to many! They loved these though, kids love little bits of toys don’t they?! xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 12:32 pm

      I couldn’t have them as they weren’t gluten free but they were a huge hit with the kids! xx

  4. October 20, 2016 / 5:46 pm

    It looks like the kids really had fun, when I was young getting involved in my mum cooking was always fun. I think my goddaughter would love the collectibles

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 6:36 pm

      They LOVE cooking, and eating whatever it is that we are making, I’m still amazed that any of it made it into the bake tray! xx

  5. October 20, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    Oh the joys of collectables! My 6 year old drives me sodding mad with another brand of collectables, they are slowly taking over the house!
    These look fab little toys though and the kiddies looked like they enjoyed making and trying out the Rocky Road 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 8:30 pm

      Haha yep, I have refused to buy into them this far but seeing how excited they were about them has changed my mind somewhat. I always think what would they even DO with them, as it’s not something I would think they could play with, but they honestly thought they were the best thing ever, spent hours lining them up and counting them and stacking them, I was fascinated!! xx

  6. October 20, 2016 / 7:43 pm

    That rocky road looks yummy. I have heard of num noms as Little Button talks about them non-stop. This is the first time I am seeing them though, and now I completely realise her fascination with them. Mine would be calling it lip stick too lol. #BrillBlogPosts xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 20, 2016 / 8:27 pm

      It’s funny how they love these little bitty toys that to us don’t look that appealing! Eva has taken some in her book bag to school and was ridiculously excited about how she would put them in her tray, it’s hilarious! I’ve spent the morning picking them up off the floor and down the back of the couch, that’s why I prefer big toys!!! xx

  7. October 20, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    This looks like so much fun! Would be happy to take part in this myself 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      October 21, 2016 / 4:42 pm

      Who doesn’t enjoy baking?! Although the mess afterwards wasn’t quite so much fun! xx

  8. October 21, 2016 / 3:07 pm

    I hadn’t heard of Nums Nums either but I have now! They look fab and you also have great chefs there!

    • Laura Dove
      October 21, 2016 / 4:29 pm

      They love baking, I’m just always gutted that I cant eat any of it with being GF. Or maybe I’m a little relieved….!! xx

  9. October 21, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    Whoops #ThatFridayLinky

  10. October 21, 2016 / 3:12 pm

    I haven’t come across these, but no doubt it won’t be long before Alice discovers them! Rocky Road is one of my favourites, I always pick it at cafes. But I never thought to actually make any myself. It looks like a really good one for little ones. We will be giving it a try over half term X #picknmix

    • Laura Dove
      October 21, 2016 / 4:28 pm

      Yes! That’s the problem with little toys like this, kids can take then into school and introduce your child to them! Rocky road was so easy to make, even I managed it! xx

  11. October 21, 2016 / 5:47 pm

    All I have to say is NUM ; ). These look delicious and fun! Lovely review, really makes me want to get some of these despite Bear is too young, my boyfriend and I will do it for ourselves lol. Also love the photos, I’m hungry now haha. Thanks for sharing with #StayClassyMama!

    • Laura Dove
      October 22, 2016 / 4:14 pm

      Haha rocky road is amazing isn’t it! I couldn’t even eat it with being GF so I just had to watch and salivate while the kids destroyed it!! Grr! xx

  12. October 21, 2016 / 7:39 pm

    Ive neber heard of these before but they do look great! Rocky Road is my favourite i must make this thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      October 22, 2016 / 4:05 pm

      Thank you for reading! xx

  13. October 21, 2016 / 7:54 pm

    They look like fun and I know a little boy who would love them. Love rocky road we are away this half term or may have given it a go. Boys love baking especially with chocolate and bashing #picknmix

    • Laura Dove
      October 22, 2016 / 4:05 pm

      Haha bashing was the best bit as far as Harry was concerned. He was more than happy to sit and munch on a biscuit while Megan did the hard work! xx

  14. October 22, 2016 / 6:53 am

    I didn’t even know these were a thing but having read your post, I know that my wee ones would love this!

    • Laura Dove
      October 22, 2016 / 4:01 pm

      Haha me either! When I saw them I wondered what to DO with them, but the girls especially just wanted to line them up and stack them and carry them around. Kids are weird!! xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 22, 2016 / 4:01 pm

      Kids love anything like this don’t they? I never understand the appeal but I bet at that age I would have loved them too! xx

  15. October 22, 2016 / 9:12 pm

    Looks like you had fun! Great post – I’m craving rocky road now 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      October 23, 2016 / 8:21 pm

      Thank you! xx

  16. Nige
    October 23, 2016 / 6:54 am

    This sounds great and looks like you had a fab time will be checking them out Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    • Laura Dove
      October 23, 2016 / 8:19 pm

      Thanks Nige! xx

  17. October 23, 2016 / 9:25 am

    Those just look so yummy! I wish I was a kid again to take part in the challenge lol! I like those Num Noms too, they are so cute, no wonder why kids love them and the new ones smell lovely. We went to a Num Noms party with Baba and he had great fun! #justanotherlinky & #KCACOLS

    • Laura Dove
      October 23, 2016 / 8:19 pm

      Ooh a Num Noms party sounds fab!! They do smell good, the kids haven’t put them down! xx

  18. October 23, 2016 / 5:15 pm

    Aww, these look great. The toys look fun and the cakes look yummy 🙂 Looks like lots of fun was had baking them..

  19. October 23, 2016 / 7:34 pm

    Those look delicious! Thanks for joining in with #ThatFridayLinky

    • Laura Dove
      October 23, 2016 / 8:18 pm

      Thank you! xx

  20. October 23, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    That all looks very clean and tidy for children and baking! Please tell me there was a mess behind the camera!! I’m always such a Chicken when it comes to baking. It normally ends in a slight tantrum! We do love it until it gets to that point though. I must do some more soon. Love Rocky Road. #justanotherlinky

    • Laura Dove
      October 23, 2016 / 8:18 pm

      Rocky road is actually really quite mess-free!! Baking cakes on the other hand ALWAYS ends up in the kitchen looking like a bomb site!! xx

  21. October 24, 2016 / 6:27 am

    Now that looks like my kind of challenge!

    • Laura Dove
      October 24, 2016 / 10:04 am

      Haha yes and mine!! Xx

  22. Fi Ni Neachtain
    October 24, 2016 / 6:44 am

    Aww those turned out lovely. Your little ones looks so happy with their bakes, and the Num Noms too of course 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      October 24, 2016 / 10:03 am

      Thank you. They were so happy with their cakes, when it’s rocky road who wouldn’t be!

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:52 pm

      Thank you, they were so pleased with them! xx

  23. October 24, 2016 / 8:41 am

    I’ve never heard of these, but they sound like they smell delicious. I love your creation inspired by them too. So yummy. I have a feeling my daughter will be into all these little things when she is older. x

    • Laura Dove
      October 24, 2016 / 10:01 am

      I had never heard of them either but now my kids just want more and more of them!! Xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:51 pm

      They did smell fab! Kids love anything like this don’t they! xx

  24. October 24, 2016 / 11:57 am

    I’ve been seeing these a lot recently and I have to say I find them a bit odd. The rocky road looks delish though and they look like they had so much fun making it! Thanks for sharing on #fortheloveofBLOG

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:50 pm

      I felt a bit the same, what do you actually DO with them? But the kids loved them!! xx

  25. October 24, 2016 / 7:19 pm

    Ooo these look super yummy! Might try these with my nieces and nephews at Christmas!
    #justanotherlinky

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:45 pm

      They were fab! xx

  26. October 24, 2016 / 8:59 pm

    We’ve not heard of Num Noms before. I love their chef hats, so cute. I’m rather hungry after reading this post, think I need to make my own rocky road!! Thanks for linking up with us #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:43 pm

      Haha rocky road is amazing! xx

  27. October 25, 2016 / 8:55 pm

    They all look like they’re having fun and the best bit about baking is the eating! love that diddy pink frying pan too – thanks for sharing with #PoCoLo

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:28 pm

      It’s so cute isn’t it! xx

  28. October 25, 2016 / 10:23 pm

    Ooh these look yummy! I love the look of the toys, I love scented toys as they remind me of the Strawberry Shortcake dolls that you used to be able to get that smelt like strawberries when I was a child 🙂 Thanks for linking up to #PicknMix

    Stevie x

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:27 pm

      Oh I LOVED strawberry shortcake!!! I had forgotten all about her! xx

  29. October 26, 2016 / 11:54 am

    Yum Yum!! Looks like a great challenge! I love Rocky Road, looks delicious!

    • October 26, 2016 / 11:55 am

      sorry popping in from #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      October 31, 2016 / 10:24 pm

      Me too! What’s not to love!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *