Learning about wildlife with Boxwild

One of the things my children love the most about going to my parents house is the fact they have a bird table and bird feeders scattered around their garden. The children love sitting in my parents conservatory, their little faces cupped in their hands, watching the birds come and go, listening to my Dad tell them about the different birds, taking it all in with so much interest.

I always feel guilty that we don’t have the same in our garden, especially when the children show such an interest in wildlife, so when we were introduced to Boxwild, an online store selling wildlife gift and subscription boxes to encourage wildlife into people’s gardens, I knew that this would be the perfect place to start.

We were sent the Children’s big bird gift box which is packed full of items for the budding bird lover.


Inside we found a paint your own nesting box, a bird feeder, seed scoop and two regular sized seasonal seed blends.

The children were very excited to make a start on painting their own nesting box and due to the fact that the sun was finally shining, we took it out into the garden and they got to work.

With four colours to choose from the children were able to create a very colourful looking nesting box, taking it in turns to paint one size each – albeit impatiently!

It would have been nice to have slightly bigger paint pots as by the time we got to the back of the nesting box we were very low on paint. The finished result was a rainbow coloured design which, given that the children are just three, four and five, actually came out really well!

Our next task was to fill the bird feeder, and Harry was very excited about this part!

Boxwild blend their seeds in their kitchens in Surrey to give optimum nutrition for your garden birds. They also donate 50p from every box sold to various Wildlife Charities to support the wonderful work they do.

It was lovely to chat with the children about the birds they thought would come to feed from our feeder. It’s clear that their Grandad has taught them a lot about birds already as they all said that their favourite bird was a Blue Tit, which was fortunate as we used the Blue Tit bird seed in our feeder.

The final step was to hang the bird feeder in the garden, wait for Grandad to come and fix the nesting box to the shed, and sit and wait for the first little bird to pay us a visit!

I love the idea of Boxwild gift and subscription boxes, they make the perfect gift for both adults and children, and I will definitely be buying from them in the future. In the meantime I have three very excited children waiting to find out who will be moving into their nesting box!

 

 

 

*** We were sent this item for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own. ***

 

Follow:

104 Comments

  1. August 17, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    Loving this Boxwild idea for kids. Its a double whammy for me as it teaches about nature and also gets the kids out in the garden to enjoy the fresh air. It teaches about wildlife and how it affects them during the different seasons also.

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:25 pm

      I totally agree! It’s always lovely to do something fun but educational, we love getting outdoors so it was lovely that we could do the craft outdoors too! xx

  2. August 18, 2017 / 4:48 am

    Not a big wildlife person, but boxwild looks like a really cool box.

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:22 pm

      I’m not to be honest but my children definitely are! xx

  3. August 18, 2017 / 8:47 am

    Oh wow. What a wonderful set. My daughter would love this, she really enjoys trying to identify different birds in our garden x

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:22 pm

      It’s a great set! It was lovely to do it outdoors too, the sunshine has been amazing! xx

  4. August 18, 2017 / 8:56 am

    Aww, they did a fab job of decorating the bird house. This is such a fab idea for a subscription box and a great way of getting the children interested in nature. I would love to do something like this with the children. We would all love it! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:21 pm

      I really enjoyed it too Emma, but most of all I loved listening to them talk about all of the birds and their excitement over it, it’s amazing how much they know! xx

  5. August 18, 2017 / 8:57 am

    Ah you’ve taken some lovely photos here! What a great thing too x

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:20 pm

      Thanks Hannah! xx

  6. August 18, 2017 / 9:15 am

    Oh wow. What a fab idea. Such a good way to get the kids out in the garden and learn about birds. My three year old loves birds, and painting, so she’d adore this. X

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:20 pm

      I definitely recommend them, even as a one off gift box they are so much fun! xx

  7. August 18, 2017 / 10:24 am

    Aw, this is lovely. Fantastic that they are learning so much about wildlife with your dad, and so interested, plus now they get to watch their own! Boxwild offer some great gift sets, we love their products.

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:19 pm

      They are great aren’t they? I hadn’t heard of them until recently, I will definitely be using them for future gifts. xx

  8. August 18, 2017 / 10:50 am

    These are so beautiful, what a lovely fun activity and they can spend endless amounts of time watching for the birds who visit x

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:19 pm

      Thank you Cathy, they are very excited about seeing the birds, none so far though! xx

  9. August 18, 2017 / 11:16 am

    We’ve been meaning to put up bird-feeders around our garden too. Would love a bird table, but I won’t trust our cat Boots with it. She’s killed so many birds already in spite having a bell! The kiddies look adorable as always. x

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:18 pm

      Ohh see I was worried our dog would scare away the birds but I think it’s just cats. I can’t wait to see some birds on the feeder! xx

  10. August 18, 2017 / 11:19 am

    That is an awesome idea. Mixing the excitement of the subscription boxes (what’s inside?) and the education about our environment is a fantastic idea. I wish we could have something similar in my country.

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 2:18 pm

      They are great boxes, it’s always lovely to have something fun but educational too! xx

  11. August 18, 2017 / 2:37 pm

    What a lovely looking box and a lovely way to learn about looking after wildlife, I’ve just got in from hanging out some bird feed as the hungry things had finished the last lot off, I love watching them come around and help themselves.

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 4:05 pm

      Ahh I cant wait for them to realise we have food waiting! The kids are very impatient! xx

  12. Jono
    August 18, 2017 / 3:16 pm

    Lovely idea. The more ways we can get our kids to engage with the outdoors and our wildlife the better. Good painting too 😀

    • Laura Dove
      August 18, 2017 / 4:04 pm

      Thank you! I totally agree, it’s great to get them interested in nature and being outdoors! xx

  13. August 18, 2017 / 5:00 pm

    Aww I love this so much! We really adore the little birdies that live in our backyard. It’s really nice to watch them. I’m going to look for this kit, I know my kids would love decorating it & then setting it up for the birds x

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:38 pm

      We are big fans of Boxwild after this Becky, the box is great! xx

  14. August 18, 2017 / 6:08 pm

    This is such a fantastic idea. My parents have lots of birds visiting their garden and I adore watching them – I hope you get some birdy visitors soon!

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:38 pm

      Thanks Tori, me too! xx

  15. August 18, 2017 / 8:06 pm

    I really like the concept of this box – a fun way of educating children 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:37 pm

      I agree, it’s always good to learn through play! xx

  16. August 18, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    How lovely that the children are able to decorate the bird boxes and personalise them too. This is a lovely box and I am so glad your children get so much pleasure from it.

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      Thank you, they really enjoyed doing the craft. xx

  17. August 18, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    Now they are some very excited faces!! I’m seriously impressed at the box being painted so beautifully – will the rainbow colours put the birds off? I’m never sure! I hope that a Blue Tit comes and the kids get to see x

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      Haha I did wonder the same, do birds like such bright colours? I’m sure we will find out!! xx

  18. August 18, 2017 / 9:01 pm

    We had a bird feeder and house last year which my youngest loved watching the bids coming and going although we never did get a bird to nest in it. The feeder also attracted squirrels which was nice to see 🙂
    Hope you see lots of wildlife in your garden soon!

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:35 pm

      Oh that’s exciting! They would go crazy if they saw squirrels too! xx

  19. August 18, 2017 / 10:04 pm

    This is a really adorable idea. My kids would love one of these. We have a MUCH less attractive bird feeder that they’re obsessed with monitoring!

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:34 pm

      Haha kids are so funny aren’t they, they have more patience than me! xx

  20. August 18, 2017 / 10:16 pm

    Oh I love this , my girls would love to do something like this x

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:31 pm

      It’s a fab set, really teaches them about wildlife too, we enjoyed it! xx

  21. August 19, 2017 / 7:00 am

    I love this kit! I’ve been meaning to put a bird feeder in our garden for the last two winters! I think my girls would love it! Must do it this autumn.

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:21 pm

      It’s a great kit, they loved painting the nesting box, just need some birds to move in! xx

  22. August 19, 2017 / 12:36 pm

    This is such a brilliant idea for kids – so important for them to learn about wildlife!

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:18 pm

      Definitely, and a fun way to teach them! xx

  23. August 19, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    What a cute idea! Birds are so fascinating to young children and this is a great way to get them involved and interested! I remember we won a bird feeding kit last winter and Max loved filling it up and watching the birds come to eat. He’s probably at the stage now where we might be able to talk about different kinds of birds – last year I was just thrilled he could say ‘bird’!

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:18 pm

      Awww bless him! I love how children find the small things so interesting, I get bored now waiting for the birds to come but they would literally wait all day! xx

  24. August 19, 2017 / 8:58 pm

    Ah what a lovely idea Laura. They did a great job at decorating it! Alice made a bird feeder in school, but it was just a paper cone, which then blew away! She still talks about it. I will have to look at getting her this, she will love it! x

    • Laura Dove
      August 19, 2017 / 9:08 pm

      It’s a fab box and the bird feeder is a really solid stainless steel one. We’ve yet to have any birds on there but I think it takes them a while to realise there is food in the garden. The children are sooooo impatient! xx

  25. August 20, 2017 / 4:31 am

    Wow, loved it, kids love such surprises and totally engage in these activities. Your kids look so happy and the house was painted lovely.

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:20 pm

      They were so happy with it! xx

  26. August 20, 2017 / 4:36 am

    Love this box wild gift idea. Children will be more creative and would also learn to care for birds through this product. Thanks for sharing!

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:19 pm

      It’s a great idea isn’t it? Encouraging our children to care for wildlife is so important. xx

  27. August 20, 2017 / 5:11 am

    Boxwild sounds and looks like a great idea. It has successfully combined a fun activity with learning and appreciation of nature. What a great experience for the kids to gain excitement and joy from such worthwhile outdoor activities.

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:19 pm

      I totally agree, there’s nothing better than making learning fun! xx

  28. August 20, 2017 / 6:34 am

    These boxes are such a good idea! What a great way to get children interested in nature.

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:18 pm

      They are fab, the children really enjoyed it! xx

  29. hal
    August 20, 2017 / 8:34 am

    its good to get the children involved – its better than all this tech stuff so for me i think its a great product

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:17 pm

      I totally agree, I love getting them outdoors. xx

  30. August 20, 2017 / 10:19 am

    Aww this is a wonderful gift pack for children. It’s nice that they got to decorate their own bird house too. Hopefully they will read this and provide a little bit more paint for others!

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:15 pm

      Yes that would be great, kids don’t know the meaning of “sparingly”. xx

  31. Helen
    August 20, 2017 / 12:30 pm

    Aw what a lovely idea this is. It would make a great present. They did a fab job decorating the box, I can’t wait to hear who moves in.

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:14 pm

      Oh me too, I so hope that something does, they will be very disappointed if not! xx

  32. Francesca
    August 20, 2017 / 2:34 pm

    Awwwh what a lovely idea for a sub box!!! My kids would love this too! Beautiful photos of them enjoying the fun!

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 4:13 pm

      Thank you, we loved it! xx

  33. August 20, 2017 / 3:07 pm

    Didn’t know there was such a thing as subscription boxes for bird feeding!! We bought a bird feeder from Homebase I think. Now the problem is that my 3 year toddler found great delight in shaking it all the time! So instead of feeding robyns etc, it fed pigeons that were too lazy to fly and fed on the actual ground. Oh hum.

    • Laura Dove
      August 20, 2017 / 3:46 pm

      Hahah yes there will be plenty of pigeons feeding from all of the seed that the children spilt when scrambling over who got to fill the feeder first! xx

  34. August 20, 2017 / 4:21 pm

    Love the bird house! So cute to decorate it yourself! We got a bug hotel which I’m looking forward to exploring when my little boy is older. Now thinking it needs a paint!!

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:39 pm

      Oh that sounds like fun! Mine would love that! xx

  35. August 20, 2017 / 5:37 pm

    What a gorgeous gift set. So nice to see something that you would love to give (or keep) and that really means something. I love it.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:38 pm

      It’s a great idea, we loved making the bird house togehter. xx

  36. Joanna
    August 20, 2017 / 5:52 pm

    This is such a cute subscription to attract wildlife to your garden and teach the children more about the different types of birds out there. It must be so exciting for them to wait now for the first bird to arrive and make the little house their home.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:37 pm

      They are so excited for the birds to come! xx

  37. August 20, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    This is so great – Pickle would absolutely love it! Kaz x

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:36 pm

      It’s such a fun box! xx

  38. August 20, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    This is brilliant! We are very much an outdoor family and spend a lot of time talking about how we can help wildlife. I’ll definitely be looking at ordering one of these. The boys would love them!

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:34 pm

      I definitely recommend them! Love the whole idea of learning about wildlife. xx

  39. August 20, 2017 / 10:09 pm

    This is cool.. I really enjoy ideas where kids can be creative plus learn more about nature

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:29 pm

      Oh me too, it’s good to get outdoors! xx

  40. August 20, 2017 / 11:42 pm

    What a great idea! I love that you can paint the house to look like whatever you want 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      Me too! They always go for multi-coloured! xx

  41. August 21, 2017 / 4:41 am

    I have made one of those nesting boxes before. It’s really cool. It looks like your kids had an amazing time doing the project. How awesome.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:27 pm

      I made one in school, it was a fun project! We’ve loved doing this together. x

  42. August 21, 2017 / 8:19 am

    It is a lovely idea to encourage birds to your garden, and kits like this are ideal. My Mother has a wonderful country garden, we can sit in the summer room watching the birds. She gets wood peckers! Fab to watch.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:24 pm

      Oh that sounds lovely! I’ve never seen a woodpecker! xx

  43. August 21, 2017 / 10:59 am

    Great idea for a product that makes for a fun afternoon, but that you get to keep checking up on for months or years to come.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:22 pm

      Yes, we’ve been on the look out all week, no birds yet….! xx

  44. August 21, 2017 / 12:33 pm

    This is a great idea. I really wanted to teach my kids about wildlife because i am an animal lover and i want to teach them why we should appreciate animals.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:20 pm

      I totally agree, and this is a great way to learn! xx

  45. August 21, 2017 / 2:08 pm

    This is such a great idea to help kids learn about the wildlife around them! I used to love things like this as a kid. Bug boxes were always my favorite so you could see the bugs up close without them being on you!

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:17 pm

      It’s great isn’t it? We have really enjoyed it! xx

  46. Danielle
    August 21, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    What a lovely and fun activity for kids. So different from the usual kind of stuff too.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:10 pm

      I agree, it made a lovely change! xx

  47. August 21, 2017 / 8:25 pm

    Oh I’ve never seen this kind of subscription, but the nature lover inside me is definitely intrigued! Such a good idea to do a kit like this – gives an easy way to get kids interested and involved!

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:03 pm

      It’s fab, my children love nature and being outdoors! xx

  48. dee
    August 22, 2017 / 1:56 am

    I never heard of this until your post! This would make such a great gift for my niece and nephew. Thanks for the share

    • Laura Dove
      August 22, 2017 / 9:55 am

      I hadn’t either but it’s great! I recommend it! xx

  49. August 22, 2017 / 10:03 pm

    Aw Boxwild have come up with a great way of ensuring kids brush up on their wildlife skills and helps them get hands on too!

    • Laura Dove
      August 23, 2017 / 9:13 pm

      Yes, we are huge fans! xx

  50. Michelle Murray
    August 24, 2017 / 6:49 am

    What a cute idea. Great for little ones.

    • Laura Dove
      August 24, 2017 / 6:07 pm

      It’s a great idea! We loved it! xx

  51. August 25, 2017 / 8:56 am

    That’s such a nice idea. I remember we always used to have bird feed out in our garden when I was a kid x

    • Laura Dove
      August 25, 2017 / 5:39 pm

      Us too! I should have done it years ago but never got round to it! xx

  52. September 5, 2017 / 9:35 pm

    This is such a great idea! I love the set it would make a wonderful gift for nature mad kiddies. Monkey loves watching the birds at his grandparent’s house and will often put out crumbs to feed them. Such a simple pleasure x

    • Laura Dove
      September 5, 2017 / 10:53 pm

      We still haven’t had any birds, I’m not sure what we are doing wrong!! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *