La Coqueta: A special dress for Eva

Before I had my girls I only ever imagined my life as a Mum of boys. Unlike my friends I never dreamt of a little girl to dress up in beautiful dresses and braid her hair, and then Eva and Megan came along and I realised that actually, I wanted to do exactly that!!

As much as I love the high street for every day wear, when it comes to occasion wear I love nothing more than finding unusual and unique dresses for the girls, and for that reason I was so excited to be introduced to La Coqueta.

Founded by Celia Munoz, La Coqueta came about after Celia, Mum of five, felt there was a need for traditional, timeless fashion for children which also incorporated a chic and contemporary style for our modern world. Proudly made in Spain, Celia came up with a range of clothing and shoes which are beautifully made, functional and hard-wearing.

We were sent the most beautiful Pinilla girls dress to review, a uniquely patterned dress in a traditional style.

The pink and coral birds are even more beautiful than I had expected from the photo and as soon as Eva saw it she couldn’t wait to try it on!

The dress is very different from anything the girls have had previously. I tend to shy away from ruffles or anything too fussy and yet as soon as Eva had it on I knew I wanted ten more like it!

Along with a ruffled neck the dress has ruffled cuffs, edged with lace to add a really delicate detailing. I love the three quarter length sleeves especially as, like me, Eva is always cold and bare arms always leaves her complaining!

The dress is lined with a lace edged underskirt which adds to the fullness, and the prettiness, of the style.

For me it is the pattern which really stands this dress apart from other dresses, the detailing on the birds is so beautiful and each bird a real work of art.

It’s definitely the kind of dress which draws compliments and on the first occasion that Eva wore it to a friends party I was asked by five separate Mum’s where we had bought it!

Although at £66 the dress is more expensive than the high street, the quality is exemplary and for a special occasion I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend La Coqueta.

 

*** We were gifted this dress for the purpose of our review. All words and opinions are my own. ***

Follow:

59 Comments

  1. November 10, 2017 / 12:20 am

    As a mom of all boys, I totally miss out on the fun of having a little girl to dress up like this! It’s such an adorable look – it’s feminine without being overly frilly. I think you have a future model on your hands there!

    • Laura Dove
      November 10, 2017 / 10:01 am

      Ahh thank you Yolonda, I totally agree, I’m not big on ruffles and frills but this is so pretty! xx

  2. November 10, 2017 / 10:10 am

    Oh my goodness it’s beautiful! I love all the details and the cuffs are gorgeous. Eva looks beautiful x

    • Laura Dove
      November 10, 2017 / 10:39 am

      Isn’t it just? She said she felt like a princess bless her! xx

  3. November 10, 2017 / 10:42 am

    I love the print and the Victorian inspired design. Such a beautiful dress, perfect for a special occasion.

  4. November 10, 2017 / 11:07 am

    This would suit perfectly my niece. She loves floral and birdy designs and this would be about perfect for her birthday!

  5. November 10, 2017 / 11:28 am

    That dress is soooo gorgeous. It’s funny as I always imagined myself as a Mum of girls and had a boy. Your twins are so pretty. Girls clothes are so lovely compared to boys

    • Laura Dove
      November 10, 2017 / 3:04 pm

      Haha it’s funny how it works out, I ended up with 3 boys and 2 girls and was sure I would stop at two! The girls aren’t twins by the way, shocking I know, but they are 4 and 5!! xx

  6. November 10, 2017 / 1:55 pm

    Oh I’m in love with that dress. It’s so sweet! And love the print too 🙂 Definitely not something you can buy on the high street. x

    • Laura Dove
      November 10, 2017 / 3:01 pm

      I know! It’s so unusual and SO pretty! xx

  7. November 10, 2017 / 6:51 pm

    Oh this is just beautiful, from the pattern to the classic design it is a dress I’d certainly dress my daughters in 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:58 pm

      It really is stunning Helen and such amazing quality too. xx

  8. November 10, 2017 / 8:19 pm

    Such a gorgeous dress! It really suites her too x

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:56 pm

      Thank you Jessica! xx

  9. November 10, 2017 / 8:47 pm

    That really is a gorgeous dress. I love the print, and the lace detail is so pretty… Making a note of the name of the company for my tiny nieces, as sadly I am not sure my 12 year old would agree to wear dresses like this anymore…

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:55 pm

      Ahh I’m not looking forward to the age where they no longer want to wear something as pretty as this! xx

  10. November 10, 2017 / 9:29 pm

    She look prettier on that dress. Its truly fun dressing our little girls, they are just so adorable and cute. Pink of course is their favorite color. I like the style as its not the usual girl dress. I will have my niece to take a look at this. Thanks for sharing.

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:53 pm

      Thank you Eliza, she loves to dress up! xx

  11. November 10, 2017 / 10:40 pm

    This is SO gorgeous. It looks really old fashioned, but in a beautiful way! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      Yes that;s what I love the most! It’s really quite vintage! xx

  12. November 10, 2017 / 11:03 pm

    Do they do adult versions because I seriously want me a dress like that it is gorgeous! Eva looks beautiful and as always your photos are beautiful. I love the print too x

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      Haha me too Ana! It’s so pretty isn’t it? Thanks lovely. xxx

  13. November 11, 2017 / 6:52 am

    How I miss the days when my daughter was little. She was a girly girl and wore either her ruffly swimsuit or a twirly dress (or sometimes both!) I just love this one. The pattern on white is pretty, it looks very well made, the detailing is beautiful, and a 3/4 sleeve is perfect. Do you think they ship to the U.S.? x

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:33 pm

      Oh I’m not sure Ali, I know they are made in Spain and shipped to the UK though? xx

  14. November 11, 2017 / 8:12 am

    That is such a pretty dress. I love shopping for girly dresses although Eliza has her own mind these days

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:33 pm

      Ahh I’m sure that day will come for us too! xx

  15. November 11, 2017 / 6:26 pm

    Oh that’s a very beautiful dress. So, so pretty. I love the print and the lace adds a certain something to it.

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:27 pm

      I agree Cath, the lace adds a real prettiness. xx

  16. November 11, 2017 / 10:43 pm

    That is so cute – what a beautiful pattern. I’m not girly but when my sister had a girl I went out and bought so many cute little dresses!!

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:23 pm

      That was totally me! I had no clue I had that in me! xx

  17. November 11, 2017 / 11:05 pm

    The dress is so cute. Almost as cute as Eva. She is adorable. It’s that smile!

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:22 pm

      Ahh thank you Jill! xx

  18. November 12, 2017 / 8:50 am

    That dress is adorable!! I particularly like the collar and sleeve details with the different material. Your girl looks gorgeous too!

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:21 pm

      Thank you Laura, she was so pleased with it. xx

  19. November 12, 2017 / 9:35 am

    I was hoping to have a boy as my first child but but am even more happier with my little princess. Your daughter is the most beautiful and the dress looks pretty and comfortable.

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:20 pm

      Ahh thank you so much. xx

  20. November 12, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    What a beautiful dress and we love the print and the ruffles. Off to have a look at La Coqueta x

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:19 pm

      Oh I’m sure your Mummy will find something beautiful for you! xx

  21. November 12, 2017 / 12:33 pm

    Oh my goodness, that dress is just adorable! I love how it’s so simple, yet so well-made, with such a beautiful pattern! Those birds are just too cute! <3 xxx

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:18 pm

      They really are, the photos don’t even do it justice. xx

  22. Our Family World
    November 12, 2017 / 1:47 pm

    What a pretty dress! I wish my daughter was still that young so I could get her that dress. I love the simple cut, the ruffled neckline and cuffs!

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:17 pm

      Me too! They do some gorgeous dresses for little ones! xx

  23. November 12, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    Oh this is such a beautiful dress I really love the bird print. It really looks lovely on her. Such a great discovery will have to remember this brand for future gift giving x

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:07 pm

      Thanks lovely, I love the print, it’s so unusual isn’t it? xx

  24. November 12, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    Oh I love it! The print is lovely and that collar and cuff detail is swoonworthy. My daughter would adore this dress.

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 9:07 pm

      It’s beautiful isn’t it? So pretty for a special occasion! xx

  25. Annemarie LeBlanc
    November 12, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    I think my granddaughter would look pretty in that dress too! I love the design and the pretty prints. This would be a nice dress for her to wear for our Thanksgiving family get together.

    • Laura Dove
      November 12, 2017 / 10:00 pm

      It would be perfect for a special family occasion! xx

  26. November 13, 2017 / 10:35 am

    This is beautiful!! I love it . Actually going to order one for Alessia . God you have gorgeous kiddies Laura 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      November 14, 2017 / 7:05 pm

      Ahh Kira thank you so much, you’re so kind. xxx

  27. November 13, 2017 / 7:19 pm

    The dress is absolutely gorgeous and your daughter looks so happy with it too xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 14, 2017 / 6:50 pm

      Thank you Cathy! xx

  28. November 13, 2017 / 7:22 pm

    Such a lovely dress and gorgeous daughter! As a mum of 2 boys I am so outraged by most of retailers lack of imagination when it comes to boys outfits and spoiling all my friends daughters 😉

    • Laura Dove
      November 14, 2017 / 6:50 pm

      I totally agree. I have two boys also and there is limited choices! xx

  29. November 13, 2017 / 9:24 pm

    Oh my gosh that is SO cute, I love the fabric pattern, the frilly sleeves and everything about it! She looks beautiful

    • Laura Dove
      November 14, 2017 / 6:45 pm

      Thank you Stephanie! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 14, 2017 / 6:12 pm

      It really is beautiful, they have some gorgeous dresses! xx

  30. Joanna
    November 24, 2017 / 7:24 pm

    The dress looks lovely and fits your daughter perfectly. It reminds me of a movie actually, Annie with an “e”, where the girl in it only wished for a dress with puffed sleeves. The collar and the bird design are adorable as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *