Jord Wooden Watches, Frankie series – review

Suffering with eczema that flares up when I wear any kind of metal jewellery, I haven’t been able to wear a watch in years. Infact I think that my last watch was a red plastic pop watch which, although didn’t aggravate my eczema, probably isn’t the most fashionable accessory for a thirty six year old woman. So when Jord offered to send me one of their wooden watches, I was excited to think that I would finally be able to wear a watch for the first time in my adult life.

I enjoyed looking through the website at both the men’s watches and the women’s watches before choosing one from the Frankie series in zebrawood, with a stunning navy face. I loved how striking the sapphire crystal glass looks against the natural wood, and, after giving my wrist measurements so it could be custom made, I really couldn’t wait to receive it!

close-up-above-leaves

Despite the fact that my watch was arriving from America, within just over a week it was here and instantly I realised why Jord watches have such a good reputation.  The watch was presented on a tweed cushion placed in the most beautiful, solid wooden box with a magnetic lid, a pull out drawer, cleaning cloth and the extra links from the watch should I need to make it larger at any point.

close-up-closed-box-with-leaves

watch-in-box

The watch itself was chunky, solid and excellent quality with a secure clasp and push button opening. With four children, two of whom haven’t quite grasped the concept of being gentle, I love how secure the clasp is and how it would be impossible for the children to pull it from my wrist. As a Mum these are things that I look for when choosing any accessory!

close-up-over-river

I love the natural grain of the wood and how, because of this, no two watches will ever be the same. They really are a unique watch and would make the perfect gift. Lewis is already eyeing this one up and dropping hints for his next birthday!

close-up-from-side-with-leaves

The Frankie series in zebrawood retails at $189 USD with free shipping to the UK. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for something out of the ordinary, or for a loved one this Christmas.

watch-on-wrist

 


Wooden Wristwatch

Run Jump Scrap!
Mummy Fever - Share With Me
Cuddle Fairy
Admissions Of A Working Mother

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

A Cornish Mum
ethannevelyn

ethannevelyn

Follow:
I received this watch for the purpose of review. As always all words and opinions are my own.

58 Comments

  1. November 23, 2016 / 10:05 am

    I really love the way you photographed the watch. So creative! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 23, 2016 / 2:45 pm

      Thank you so much! xx

  2. November 23, 2016 / 11:53 am

    Ah hubby has one of these to review for me! haha. This looks gorgeous and I love how you have styled the pics. They look so autumnal 🙂 Thanks for sharing with #bestandworst x

    • Laura Dove
      November 23, 2016 / 2:42 pm

      They are gorgeous aren’t they? Thank you, we had to brave the park at the weekend, my hands were freezing!! xxx

  3. November 23, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    The watch looks absolutely stunning! So different and unique. I absolutely love your photos too!

    • Laura Dove
      November 23, 2016 / 7:03 pm

      Thank you so much! xx

  4. November 23, 2016 / 7:00 pm

    How gorgeous is that watch, I am dying to get my hands on one of these watches I think they are so cute, unique and classic.

    • Laura Dove
      November 23, 2016 / 7:02 pm

      They really are lovely, I’ve already got my eye on another! xx

  5. November 23, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    This watch is absolutely beautiful! The Godmother of the Mini Me’s loves watches, especially bespoke ones so I might show her this post or buy her one for Christmas!

    Thanks for sharing.
    Emmie xo

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 10:01 pm

      They really are gorgeous watches, I have my eye on a couple more! xx

  6. November 23, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    I love these watches. I keep looking at them, thinking if my husband would like one as a surprise Christmas present 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 10:00 pm

      I bet he would! My husband wants one too! xx

  7. November 23, 2016 / 10:54 pm

    So pretty! I especially like the grain of the wood making it so unique.

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 10:00 pm

      I agree, it’s so unusual! xx

  8. November 23, 2016 / 11:17 pm

    The watch is absolutely gorgeous! Love everything about it! The packaging is also great.

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:59 pm

      The box is FAB! I was just as impressed with that as I was the watch! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:59 pm

      Thank you! xx

  9. November 24, 2016 / 10:20 am

    Hubby has a Jord wristwatch and loves it. He always gets such lovely comments

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:57 pm

      They are really unusual, although the rate they’re giving them out to bloggers they won’t be unusual for long! xx

  10. November 24, 2016 / 11:28 am

    The photographs you have taken are stunning and the watch looks perfect. I love the natural feel of these x

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:56 pm

      Thanks Cathy, it’s so much easier to photograph something that doesn’t move!! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:52 pm

      I LOVE mine! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:47 pm

      I’ve got my eye on another already, haha! Thanks for reading. xx

  11. November 24, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    I’ve never seen or heard of a wooden watch before and I was thinking how odd but it’s actually really lovely. I come out with an itchy red eczema mark when wearing metal watches too and plastic ones are just uncomfortable and sweaty so I can see why a wooden watch would be apealing especially as it’s so unique too.

    (Unhinged mummy stopping by from #stayclassymama).

    • Laura Dove
      November 24, 2016 / 9:46 pm

      Definitely, it doesn’t feel uncomfortable at all and it looks so pretty! xx

  12. November 24, 2016 / 10:37 pm

    This looks like a great watch! We love that its wooden and it looks super cool. My mummy doest wear that many watches but if she did it would be this one!

    • Laura Dove
      November 25, 2016 / 12:33 pm

      It’s the only watch that doesn’t irritate my skin. You should tell Daddy to buy one for Mummy, hehe. xx

  13. November 25, 2016 / 8:59 am

    Great watches and youve captured them in the photos really well. These watches look so cool, I love them.

    Mainy

    #picknmix

    • Laura Dove
      November 25, 2016 / 12:30 pm

      Thank you, I love mine! xx

  14. November 25, 2016 / 3:24 pm

    Wow, I love how blue the watch face is and how well it stands out against the rest of the watch x

    • Laura Dove
      November 25, 2016 / 8:45 pm

      The blue is so striking, all of the watches are! xx

  15. November 25, 2016 / 4:39 pm

    Sorry to hear about your skin but its amazing that you are able to wear a fashionable watch thanks to Jord. It looks gorgeous too!

    • Laura Dove
      November 25, 2016 / 8:43 pm

      Thank you! It’s lovely to wear a watch again! xx

  16. November 25, 2016 / 5:50 pm

    I love the packaging and the strap so much! Sarah #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      November 25, 2016 / 8:41 pm

      The packaging was more exciting than the watch initially! It’s fab!! xx

  17. November 25, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    I LOVE these watches! I love the rustic feel they have to them.
    I think I need one in my life 🙂
    Love your photos hun xxx #MMBC

    • Laura Dove
      November 25, 2016 / 8:39 pm

      Thanks Jayne, they are so gorgeous!! Gaz has stolen this from me already and Lewis is already asking for one!! xx

  18. November 26, 2016 / 10:38 am

    This watch looks stunning! & I love how you photograph it. So beautiful! Thank you very much for sharing with us on #FabFridayPost xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 28, 2016 / 11:09 am

      Thanks Su! xx

  19. November 26, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    Stunning watch lovey! I adore the blue face. I am in love with my Jord watch & get so many compliments, they really are unique! Thanks so much for sharing with #bloggerclubuk

    • Laura Dove
      November 28, 2016 / 11:08 am

      Thanks Becky! xx

  20. November 26, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    I love the JORD watches and your photography here is just stunning! Thanks for linking up to #PicknMix

    Stevie xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 28, 2016 / 11:04 am

      Thank you Stevie! xx

  21. November 26, 2016 / 8:45 pm

    I love your choice, the blue is gorgeous. You have styled it so lovely, gorgeous photos x #BloggerClubUK

    • Laura Dove
      November 28, 2016 / 11:03 am

      Thanks lovely xxx

  22. November 27, 2016 / 7:55 am

    I have to say a wooden watch does sound a bit weird but looks pretty cool! Nice choice #stayclassymama

    • Laura Dove
      November 28, 2016 / 10:58 am

      Yes! I wasn’t sure what to expect but it’s gorgeous! xx

  23. November 27, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    I think Jord make great watches, and I guess they are a great option if you have skin issues. I’d not thought of that before. I have to say, I love mine a lot

    • Laura Dove
      November 28, 2016 / 10:48 am

      They are fab aren’t they! Its lovely to be able to finally wear a watch again! xx

  24. November 29, 2016 / 10:34 am

    I’m not a watch person but I really love the photos. Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    • Laura Dove
      November 29, 2016 / 3:53 pm

      Thank you! xx

  25. December 2, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    I love these watches. Great review and the photos are fab!:)

    Mainy

    #fabfridaypost

    • Laura Dove
      December 2, 2016 / 8:49 pm

      Thank you! xx

  26. December 3, 2016 / 9:39 pm

    These are really stunning wooden watches. How does a blogger stateside get a chance to review these beauties! I ‘wood’ really like that! 😉 Pun intended. Honestly, great job with the pix and everthing! #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      December 4, 2016 / 3:25 pm

      Haha that made me laugh. They emailed me offering the watch a while ago but I know some people have approached them directly! Go for it! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *