My first Scalextric Review

For the last few months, ever since the Christmas adverts hit our television, Eva, Megan and Harry have been pleading for a Scalextric……or a skate-ex-trix as they tell me. For the last few weeks I have listened to their hypothetical conversations about how fast they would race and who would win, and promised them that if they are good Father Christmas might just bring them one this year.

So you can imagine their excitement when we were sent one to review the other week, and how when they saw it they really did think that Christmas had come early!

My first Scalextric is a great introduction to the world of Scalextric, aimed at children ages three and over, featuring an easy to assemble figure of eight track.

The set comes with two rally cars and adjustable power hand-controllers which are colour coded red and yellow to match chevrons on the circuit. It also comes with a mains power adaptor to operate the set.

Magnatraction technology allows the cars to stay on the track and the hand controllers allow the speed to obe adjusted depending on skill level.

Our first challenge was assembling the track, something which should have been easy given the simple figuration and yet it was actually harder than I thought! It wasn’t helped by the fact that the children insisted on “helping” and Harry couldn’t get his head around the idea that the cars weren’t for pushing around the track!

The assembled track length is 256cm long but takes up 108 x 61cm of floor space. The children couldn’t wait to have a turn and yet it did take some getting used to not to press the control trigger at full throttle and have the cars go shooting off the track!

The children absolutely loved racing each other and Harry especially has never been so excited. I did find that the car on the outside lane crashed way more often than the car on the inside lane, something which the children soon picked up on which brought about a new argument over who got to be the red car!

For the price, £39.99, this is a great starter set for children who may eventually progress to bigger Scalextric sets. We are certainly going to have hours of fun with it this Christmas!

 

*** We were gifted this item for the purpose of this review ***

 

Follow:

57 Comments

  1. October 27, 2017 / 2:42 pm

    My boys used to love their scalextric when they were younger (I think we still have it somewhere), we started with a beginners one and we all had so much fun with it x

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:55 pm

      Haha it really made me laugh how many of us have a Scalextric in the loft somewhere!! xx

  2. October 27, 2017 / 3:48 pm

    Firstly, your Son is adorable! Secondly, we also have this set and it’s fab! I thought the cars would be flying off all over the place but actually, it’s fab for the price!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:53 pm

      Ahh thank you, it’s great isn’t it? I can see us branching out into the bigger sets as they grow! xx

  3. October 27, 2017 / 5:18 pm

    One of the coolest toys I would play with as a kid. Very nice set to add to your collection.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:52 pm

      Me too, although I was only able to play when my brother wasn’t in! xx

  4. October 27, 2017 / 7:58 pm

    Oh I have great memories of playing with our scalextric! It was definitely a treat when the kit got pulled down from the attic. That beginners one looks like a really good introduction.

  5. October 27, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    My girls to have been giving me the same talk about how much they want one! It looks great and fab price too. Now they just need to be good and see what Mr FC brings them x

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:50 pm

      Ah yes, good old FC….fingers crossed! xx

  6. October 27, 2017 / 9:44 pm

    Just last weekend my husband got his ancient scalextrix out the loft and set it up for my girls, they spent a whole afternoon racing it, we were talking about this set for our three year old thinking it might be easier for him to start with, thanks for the review of this one!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:49 pm

      Ahh we still have my brothers scalextric in the loft too! It’s a fab set, I’d recommend it! xx

  7. October 28, 2017 / 6:57 am

    Ever since we came across your blog, my wife has been a diligent follower of all your posts. And as usual she loves your choices. in this case the toy:) Its really ideal for our three year old

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:47 pm

      Ahh that’s so lovely of you to say, thank you! xx

  8. October 28, 2017 / 7:17 am

    I love how they quickly realised that one car was better than the other!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:47 pm

      Haha I didn’t……..!!!

  9. October 28, 2017 / 2:36 pm

    My four year old nephew would love to play with this! Thanks for a great Christmas gift idea!

  10. October 28, 2017 / 3:58 pm

    I always loved Scalectrix! It’s great that there are still so many timeless toys in the digital era.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:36 pm

      I agree, I love that my children play with the same toys that I did! xx

  11. October 28, 2017 / 6:58 pm

    Aww this is so sweet and perfect for the little ones! We got something similar for our little guy and he loved it!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:34 pm

      The kids love it, Harry especially! xx

  12. October 28, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    My brother use to be obsessed with scalextric. Can’t believe it’s still going ! This looks awesome 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:33 pm

      I know, mine too and he was 40 this year! xx

  13. October 29, 2017 / 3:17 am

    This looks like so much fun! It will make a great gift for the kids!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:32 pm

      It would be a great Christmas present this year! xx

  14. October 29, 2017 / 9:27 am

    Me and my partner actually saw this advertised on tv yesterday and were saying how awesome it looks. Happy to read a review on it, looks like a great way to introduce kids to scalextric

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:31 pm

      I’d recommend it, it’s a good price too compared to other toys out there. xx

  15. October 29, 2017 / 9:38 am

    I remember my first scalextric, my mother had to tear my brother and I from it, such great fun.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:30 pm

      Hahah yes! I’m the same! xx

  16. October 29, 2017 / 11:18 am

    I like the sound of a version for younger children. My boys would love this. Thanks for sharing.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:29 pm

      It’s great that little ones can get into Scalextric, I know my eldest had some amazing sets as he got older! xx

  17. October 29, 2017 / 3:14 pm

    I don’t have kids, but this looks like tremendous fun. I love the hypothetical races your kids had before you received the set. So much fun!!!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:27 pm

      So much fun, for adults too, haha! Oh the kids are all about who wins…sigh! xx

  18. October 29, 2017 / 5:42 pm

    I had a scaletrix when I was small. This looks just right for little ones to join in the fun x

  19. October 29, 2017 / 6:45 pm

    Me and my bro used to play with something similar when we were kids (it was quite a long time ago) and it’s so good to see that modern kids get so excited for the same kind of games, though much more sophisticated electronic-wise.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 7:27 pm

      I agree, Scalextric never grows old!!

  20. October 29, 2017 / 7:47 pm

    that would make a great gift for Xmas. Any kids would be entertained for a while with it, which would allow the parents to relax or play with OR get things done ; )

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:31 pm

      Haha yes there’s always that! xx

  21. October 29, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    That brings back memories of my cousins and I playing with toy cars. They were all boys, so naturally they were playing with them all the time! He looks so cute playing!

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:30 pm

      Ahh thank you Kallia! xx

  22. suchi
    October 29, 2017 / 11:51 pm

    Your Son is adorable! it’s fab for the price! Such a perfect gift for boys

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:29 pm

      Thank you Suchi! xx

  23. October 30, 2017 / 5:28 am

    Wow I’d never even know about a scalextric before. There’s just so many toys now days I cant keep track. I love how colorful the track is. Your kids must be so happy.

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:28 pm

      It’s a fab set Jennifer, we’ve had so much fun with it! xx

  24. October 30, 2017 / 9:27 am

    Oh my gosh bless him, he looks so pleased with it. I always loved Scalextric when I was younger. I’m sure I’ve still got some somewhere.

    Ami xxx

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:27 pm

      Thank you Ami, he loves it! xx

  25. October 30, 2017 / 12:53 pm

    I think this is one of those toys that kids dream about! I’m so glad they love it x

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:25 pm

      Thanks Rachel! xx

  26. October 30, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    Oh my gosh Scalextric!! That takes me back! Admittedly at that age i was fully in to Barbie and Polly Pocket (when Polly could actually fit in your pocket!) But I loved the scalextric adverts and playing with them when I went to my Cousin’s house!

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:24 pm

      Haha I loved Polly Pocket!! Scalextric never grows old though! xx

  27. October 30, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    Aw it looks like he absolutely loved his Scalectrix. Funnily my little boy has asked for this for Christmas too bless him. They are lots of fun. xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:19 pm

      Ahh I’m sure he will love it! xx

  28. October 31, 2017 / 12:18 am

    I remember wanting a scaletrix when I was younger and I still think that they are cool today! I really love the sound of the track length too!

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:16 pm

      It’s fab Ana, I used to always sneak a turn on my brothers! xx

  29. October 31, 2017 / 1:52 pm

    I’ve been looking at this for Christmas, but was a bit unsure how my eldest would get on with it. It looks really great though, thanks for the review!

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:13 pm

      We found it so easy to use, Harry is obsessed! xx

  30. November 1, 2017 / 11:39 am

    We’ve got the large scalextrix and mine LOVE It! So much fun for everyone!

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      It really is, it never grows old either! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *