Disney Princess Belles musical tea cart review

My children LOVE Disney, which child doesn’t, but their all time favourite film, and one that we watch on repeat, is Beauty & The Beast. For me, it’s probably up there with my favourites too, I love the characters, the music and, most of all, the message it teaches our children that beauty is only skin deep.

When the children saw the ‘Disney Princess Belles musical tea cart’ advertised on the television, you can imagine their response. “I want that!” they had all told me, Eva even circling it in the Smyths Christmas catalogue, and I had told them they would have to wait and see what Father Christmas brings. And yet it turns out that, thank you to the lovely people at Disney, we were very lucky to be send the toy to review, and the children couldn’t wait to play with it.

t1a_2463

As with all toys, I’m always hopeful that they will be easy to assemble. Anything that involves screwdrivers gets a thumbs down from me, but luckily this was really straightforward and simply clicked together.

t1a_2474

The tea cart consists of a teapot, two cups, two spoons and a revolving tray. It also plays the music from Beauty & The Beast, “Be our guest!” while the cart is pushed along. There is an on/off switch underneath that you might want to familiarise yourself with, “Sorry kids the batteries have ran out!” is another phrase you’ll thank me for later.

_dsc0962

The set comes with an invitation to the tea party which can be personalised with a child’s name. We wrote Eva’s name on the invite, given she is the only one who can read it, and just told Megan and Harry it said their names too. I’m really going to miss being able to do that when all three of them can read!

_dsc0953

_dsc0951

I’m pretty sure every child enjoys making a fake cup of tea, and mine are no different. They instantly set to work making cups of tea all round, “There’s some cupatea!” Megan said, as she handed me the little cup, “Be careful it’s hot!”.

_dsc0949

It was lovely to see the children playing together and miraculously, even more so given there are only two cups, they managed to play for well over an hour without a single argument.

_dsc0958

_dsc0944

For me, with a RRP of £59.99 (although currently on offer for £49.99 in a number of stores) the tea cart is rather pricey for what you get. I feel it is missing something, perhaps some additional crockery or cutlery, and although the music is great, after listening to it on repeat for the entire day, I can’t help but wish that it played additional songs.

For the children, they absolutely loved it, so much so that a few weeks down the line they are still playing with it each day. Far too often the children ask for a toy that I don’t feel is worth the money, but whether I still feel the same way when I see their little faces light up on Christmas morning is a completely different matter.

_dsc0974

3 Little Buttons
Run Jump Scrap!
Mummy Fever - Share With Me
Cuddle Fairy

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Admissions Of A Working Mother
DomesticatedMomster
Follow:
We were sent this product for review. All words and opinions are, as always, my own.

61 Comments

  1. November 15, 2016 / 7:09 pm

    Beauty and the beast is my favourite. I keep seeing this advertised on TV and can’t wait for Darcey to get big enough, she’s only 10 months old so a little way to go before I can buy these toys 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 15, 2016 / 9:26 pm

      Ahh yes you’ll have all of the Disney princess toys to come I’m sure! You best get saving! xx

  2. November 15, 2016 / 7:49 pm

    This is a fab balanced review. Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney film x

    • Laura Dove
      November 15, 2016 / 9:26 pm

      Thanks Emma. It’s a fab film isn’t it! xx

  3. November 15, 2016 / 7:49 pm

    Beauty and the beast is one of my favourite all time Disney films I seen this advertised on tv it looks perfect for little girls, the kids look like there having great fun with it xxx

    • Laura Dove
      November 15, 2016 / 9:26 pm

      Yes it’s everywhere at the minute! My children thought Christmas had come early! xx

  4. November 15, 2016 / 8:46 pm

    Oh wow, what a lovely toy! Its beautiful but I agree, the price does seem a little steep

    • Laura Dove
      November 15, 2016 / 9:25 pm

      I agree, I think the Disney name definitely bumps up the price! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 15, 2016 / 9:25 pm

      My children love it too, just the music drives me crazy after a while!! xx

  5. November 15, 2016 / 10:30 pm

    Thanks for an honest review! It’s a shame it doesn’t do everything it could have.

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:46 am

      Thank you for reading! xx

  6. November 16, 2016 / 7:12 am

    This looks like a lovely play set Laura. Shame it doesn’t have a few more accessories like you say, and I feel for you with the music hehe, we have a few toys like that! I’m glad your beautiful little Prince and Princesses enjoyed it though 🙂 xxx

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:45 am

      Thanks Jayne, it’s funny how children can spend hours just making a cup of tea and never get bored!! xxx

  7. November 16, 2016 / 8:20 am

    I love blogging for these ops. Such a fab toy. My daughter loves the pretend tea parties and cooking so she would have been in heaven. It is quite pricey but seems worth it as they love it so much. Thanks for sharing with #bestandworst

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:44 am

      Me too! There’s no way I would have been able to justify spending that amount on it, although now having seen how much they love it then I realise some toys are worth the money just for the fact they make the children so happy! xx

  8. Sarah (Mum x3x)
    November 16, 2016 / 9:14 am

    Aww, it is lovely to see them playing together 🙂 Belle is my daughters favourite princess, she would love this musical tea cart, hehe. #ShareWithMe

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:43 am

      We love Belle here too, she’s definitely the best Disney Princess! xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:55 pm

      And ours too! xx

  9. November 16, 2016 / 10:17 am

    It looks a lovely tea set. Lovely pictures and great review. I think is seams a bit expensive too. I think Disney things can be expensive though, we use to look out for things on offer when my daughter was younger..

  10. November 16, 2016 / 10:22 am

    I think this would be something my kids would have loved when they were younger but I too would have to find the off switch There is only so much music I can take over and over x

  11. November 16, 2016 / 11:16 am

    I keep seeing this in the stores and i love beauty and the beast i just cant justify the price, it does look lovely though, i feel for you on the repetitive tunes ☺

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:54 pm

      Yes my children spotted it instantly but the price tag is a little too steep for what it is. I think the Disney name bumps up the price of everything though! xx

  12. Sam
    November 16, 2016 / 11:42 am

    Fab review. I love everything Disney and my daughter seems to, too. I have seen this in a few shops and contemplated getting it for my daughter because she loves anything tea set related and anything she can push, so it seems like a perfect combination. It is a bit pricey though for what it is..
    #BestAndWorst

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:51 pm

      It’s a fab toy and the children love it, I’m just not keen on the price tag. If it’s in the sales nearer to Christmas then I’d recommend it! xx

  13. November 16, 2016 / 1:54 pm

    Aw, this is so cute – the teapot and cups look just like the movie versions! I would definitely be removing the batteries though. My daughter must think batteries are the most expensive things in the world because we can never replace them… 😉

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:51 pm

      Hahaha we are the same! They also must think that batteries only last two minutes before they run out. Long may that last! xx

  14. November 16, 2016 / 2:47 pm

    I saw this at blog on and fell in live with it. Beauty and the Beast is one of my fave Disney films but Eliza isn’t into it…….hopefully the film will change her mind

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:50 pm

      Us too! When they contacted us to send one the children were over the moon! I can’t wait to watch the new film, it looks amazing! xx

  15. November 16, 2016 / 5:27 pm

    what a pretty toy and beautiful princesses 🙂 I love it x

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:48 pm

      The children love it! Anything pink is a winner! xx

  16. November 16, 2016 / 9:00 pm

    It’s times like these I wish I had a daughter! Love beauty and the beast and this looks so cute! Can’t wait to see the new movie!
    #sharewithme

    • Laura Dove
      November 16, 2016 / 9:31 pm

      Oh we can’t wait to watch it either!! It looks AMAZING!! xx

  17. November 16, 2016 / 11:52 pm

    Forget the children! I would love one of these. Mrs Potts is one of my favourite characters ever! I am a bit of a Disney fan. 😀

    • Laura Dove
      November 17, 2016 / 10:42 am

      Mrs Potts is a fab character! I can’t wait to see the new film!! xx

  18. November 17, 2016 / 6:46 am

    My girls love it too and it’s played with everyday. Don’t you wish for Christmas you could borrow toys and see which ones they truly love before you spend the money. I’m not sure I would have paid out for it, but seeing how much it’s played with they would have got their money’s worth X #bloggerclubuk

    • Laura Dove
      November 17, 2016 / 10:37 am

      I agree, it’s not something I would ever have paid out for, I think it’s really over-priced, but seeing how much they love it does change my opinion of it. I love reading toy reviews for that exact reason, although my girls are DESPERATE for a hatchimal and I’ve read mixed reviews about those too! xx

  19. November 17, 2016 / 12:38 pm

    ah i love the old school animation one . i haven’t watched it with my little girl yet and can’t wait for the movie ,, this tea cart is so cute

    • Laura Dove
      November 17, 2016 / 4:22 pm

      Us too! It’s our favourite! xx

  20. November 17, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    This is just super cute!! I haven’t seen this advertised any yet, but I bet a lot of kids will want this for Christmas

    • Laura Dove
      November 17, 2016 / 4:21 pm

      Yes, I expect there are children all over the country putting it on their Christmas list! There are so many fab toys out! xx

  21. November 17, 2016 / 2:00 pm

    Oh I am so jealous right now! It looks fab! We LOVE Disney films in our house and, like you, Beauty and the Beast is a real favourite. #BrillBlogPosts

    • Laura Dove
      November 17, 2016 / 4:18 pm

      The children do love it, but the music does get tiring after the ten millionth time, ha! xx

  22. November 17, 2016 / 9:34 pm

    What a lovely set! It would make a great present! I love Disney Princess stuff and I love to get my nieces this sort of thing, will be keeping an eye out for it.

    Jordanne || Thelifeofaglasgowgirl.co.uk

    • Laura Dove
      November 18, 2016 / 9:50 am

      My girls LOVE Disney Princess, and my youngest son too! There are so many lovely toys out! xx

  23. November 17, 2016 / 11:46 pm

    Belle is my absolute favorite!!! #momsterslink

    • Laura Dove
      November 18, 2016 / 9:48 am

      She’s such a good character isn’t she! xx

  24. November 18, 2016 / 11:52 am

    Such lovely photos! this tea cart looks amazing, and seems like a perfect accompaniment to my children’s ‘cafe’ game. Thanks for sharing, I think I will get one.
    Anna x

    • Laura Dove
      November 18, 2016 / 4:47 pm

      Thanks Anna, they have played with it every single day since! xx

  25. November 18, 2016 / 12:27 pm

    Your little one looks adorable in her dress and it looks lie she loved the toy, perfect for a Princess tea party.

    • Laura Dove
      November 18, 2016 / 4:43 pm

      Thank you, they all loved it! xx

  26. November 18, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    This looks so sweet. My four-year-old would go nuts for it! Great, detailed review. #stayclassamama

    • Laura Dove
      November 18, 2016 / 4:42 pm

      Thank you for reading! xx

  27. November 20, 2016 / 7:12 am

    Looks like a beautiful set and your kids look so cute playing with it, sounds a bit expensive to me though for what you get, and just the one song would likely drive me nuts x
    #Momsterslink

    • Laura Dove
      November 20, 2016 / 3:43 pm

      Haha yes, it’s the repetitive nature of any toy that eventually drives you crazy! My kids never get bored of it though! xx

  28. November 20, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    Great review with great photos! I appreicate that you were honest about the price, despite it being a good toy #stayclassymama

    • Laura Dove
      November 20, 2016 / 3:37 pm

      I think you have to be don’t you? It is expensive for what it is, but the kids genuinely do love it! xx

  29. November 21, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    Aww Beauty and the Beast is one of my faves too…this looks a lot of fun and love the dress too! Great review lovely. Thanks for linking up to #dreamteam xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 21, 2016 / 9:24 pm

      Thank you Bridie, was gutted not to meet you at Blogfest, hope you’re feeling better. xxx

  30. November 21, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    Cute but pricey – thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    • Laura Dove
      November 22, 2016 / 9:18 am

      Very! Thanks for hosting! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *