Disney on Ice Passport to Adventure

Last week we were invited to Disney on Ice Passport to Adventure, at the Manchester Arena, and I was both excited and nervous! With Gaz in work, it was down to me to take all four children to the show by myself, navigate my way through Manchester in rush hour traffic and somehow get them all to keep still, and quiet, throughout the show. I really wasn’t sure how it would go!

Before the show we were taken to meet some of the characters, something which Eva, Megan and Harry were terrified by, so much so that Harry hid underneath a table and wouldn’t come out, and the girls refused to open their eyes and even look at them! This did not bode well…..

The show starts with a Fit to Dance pre-show performance from the characters of Zootropolis. I loved that they encouraged the audience to participate and despite their earlier fears, Eva, Megan and Harry very quickly got into the swing of things.

Passport to Adventure is, as the title suggests, based around travelling, led by the iconic Disney characters – Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Donald, Goofy and Daisy. They take the audience on a journey to the timeless worlds of Disney’s Lion King, The Little Mermaid, Peter Pan and Frozen, and let me tell you, it was amazing!!! 

We have never been to Disney on Ice before, although I have heard such amazing things about it, and so I wasn’t quite sure of what to expect. When the first performance kicked in with It’s a small world, the children’s faces were just completely mesmerised. Even Lewis who, at thirteen, was adamant that he was far too old for Disney, couldn’t take his eyes off the stage!

Through the African Pridelands with Simba and his friends, we saw Simba grow from a lion cub into a lion, dancing with all of the characters from the film.

The Lion King is one of our favourite Disney movies and so it was lovely to hear Megan singing along beside me, at one point I got a little emotional as she whispered, “Thank you for bringing me to Disney on Ice land!”. 

The next act was Peter Pan with performances from the Darling family, Peter, Tinkerbelle and Captain Hook. The ice skating was just breath taking and I was so impressed at their talents.

Far from just ice skating, the performance included  so many amazing props and costumes, and even huge pirate ships!

The children’s favourite moment of the act was the giant crocodile which was pretty impressive to see!

With the show attracting lots of little ones it was great that there was a fifteen minute break half way through for toilet stops, drink re-fills and stocking up on popcorn.

The next act started with one of our absolute favourites, The Little Mermaid. The children loved that the arena was filled with thousands of bubbles as the characters danced to some of our favourite songs.

It came as no surprise that the show saved the best for last with a final visit to Arundel to see Anna and Elsa.

When the iconic song “Let it go” came on the arena went wild, even more so when it actually began to snow and a giant ice castle fell from the air. By the end of the show the children, even Lewis, were bursting with excitement and all of them agreed that it was the best show we have ever been to.

All of my worries about them sitting through the show were completely unfounded. They didn’t move a muscle, only to dance along in their seats, and I know that we will definitely go and see more shows now as a family.

You can see Disney on Ice Passport to Adventure at the following venues –

Manchester Until 15th October

Arena Birmingham 18-29 October

SSE Arena Belfast 3-5 November

Citywest Hotel Dublin 10-12 November

FlyDSA Arena Sheffield 15-19 November

The O2  20-30 December

For more information visit Disney on Ice

 

** We were gifted these tickets for the purpose of our review. All words and opinions are my own. **

Follow:

80 Comments

  1. October 15, 2017 / 10:19 pm

    This looks like such an amazing show! What a way to make some fab memories at the start of panto season. Thanks for the review xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:27 am

      It really is amazing, we had the best time! xx

  2. October 16, 2017 / 7:11 am

    This looks an amazing show! It’s coming to Leeds next year and the wife is already bugging me to get tickets for it!

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:23 am

      Oh you should go Jon! It’s amazing, we loved every single minute of it! xx

  3. October 16, 2017 / 8:09 am

    Awww look at their mesmerised faces even after being a bit fearful to start with. I would love to take my nephew to Disney on Ice one day as it would love it big time

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:22 am

      They absolutely loved it, it made me so emotional to see! xx

  4. October 16, 2017 / 10:27 am

    My girls would love this! Just in time for the Christmas season

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 9:11 pm

      It was so much fun, we can’t wait to go back! xx

  5. stephanie
    October 16, 2017 / 10:42 am

    Disney on ice looks so amazing, I really want to take my girlies soon. It’s amazing. x

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 9:11 pm

      Oh I totally recommend it! xx

  6. October 16, 2017 / 1:03 pm

    Wow just look at that – absolutely magical and your little look totally enthralled Laura xoxo

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 9:04 pm

      They loved it Talya, even Lewis….although he would say otherwise! xx

  7. Jess
    October 16, 2017 / 1:38 pm

    This looks absolutely amazing! I’ve always had huge respect for ice-skaters. The performance they put on is always incredible and the skill takes years to master.

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 9:01 pm

      I agree, they are so talented and it must take SO much training to reach that level! xx

  8. October 16, 2017 / 1:57 pm

    I cannot wait to take the kids to see this, they are Disney Mad!!

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      Ahh they will love it Kara! xx

  9. October 16, 2017 / 2:13 pm

    Wow your pictures are great. I’ve not seen any of the Disney on Ice shows since I was a child as I thought they’d be too young but you’ve inspired me, I think my girls would love this. Mich x

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      It was amazing Michelle, I’m sure your girls would love it! xx

  10. October 16, 2017 / 2:42 pm

    Disney on Ice always looks amazing and like such a fun experience, everytime I see anything about it I want to be a big kid and go for myself!

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:59 pm

      Oh you should! I would totally go without the kids! xx

  11. October 16, 2017 / 2:50 pm

    The entire show looked impressive! I was never a Disney fan until I visited Disneyland and became mesmerized by the magic!. I would see this as an adult even though it’s for children. Glad to hear your children were entertained and amused!

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:59 pm

      Oh I agree, it’s definitely for adults too, I loved it just as much as the kids did! xx

  12. October 16, 2017 / 3:00 pm

    The cheetah insists on boycotting “Zootopis” because it shows a fat cheetah cop eating doughnuts and he says that would “never happen,dude”.
    But the rest of the looks extremely fun and exciting. Glad you had a blast!!

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:56 pm

      Hahahaha that made me laugh, you always make me smile. Thank you. xx

  13. October 16, 2017 / 3:30 pm

    My daughter loves Disney. Especially daisy and frozen

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:56 pm

      The Frozen part was so much fun! The girls loved that bit! xx

  14. October 16, 2017 / 3:47 pm

    This looks fab! So glad the kids came round for the show 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:54 pm

      It’s a great show, I’d recommend it! xxx

  15. October 16, 2017 / 4:16 pm

    This looks absolutely amazing. I glad that they ended up having such a wonderful time. Something to cherish for sure.

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:53 pm

      Haha yes after the initial melt downs! It was so much fun. xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:50 pm

      Thank you, we had a great time! xx

  16. October 16, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    Oh my goodness this looks amazing, Monkey has been asking to go for a while but I wasn’t sure if he would enjoy it enough. But by the sounds of things it would be perfect. Love the girls faces so cute! It would be nice to do something with him without his little brother in tow too! Will have to look into this.

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:38 pm

      We loved it, I was so worried that they might not sit through it but they literally didn’t budge! I’m sure Monkey would love it! xx

  17. October 16, 2017 / 6:27 pm

    Aaahhhh mine were terrified of these sorts of characters when they were little too. Glad that they enjoyed the show in the end it sounds like it was really good fun.

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:36 pm

      Thank god they aren’t the only ones! I guess they are pretty creepy!! xx

  18. Chrissy Faery
    October 16, 2017 / 6:43 pm

    Aw, this looks so magical! What a wonderful experience for the kids – I’m so glad they enjoyed the show! 🙂 xxx

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:35 pm

      We all loved it Chrissy, so much fun! xx

  19. October 16, 2017 / 6:46 pm

    Wow. This looks incredible! I agree the props look amazing. I need to find myself a little kid to go with hahaha!

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:35 pm

      Oh I would totally go without the kids too! xx

  20. October 16, 2017 / 7:38 pm

    What a great show. I can see that most kids (and a few adults) would really enjoy this. That crocodile looks awesome too.

    • Laura Dove
      October 16, 2017 / 8:30 pm

      I loved it Mellissa! It was such a great night out! xx

  21. October 16, 2017 / 11:27 pm

    That is amazing that not only did you manage to get there with the 4 kiddies but you also had a great time watching characters like Elsa in Disney’s passport adventures. What a lot of fun x

    • Laura Dove
      October 17, 2017 / 10:00 am

      I know, I was so proud of myself! Obviously I look after them all day every day, but taking them to a show in an arena of this size was pretty daunting! xx

  22. October 17, 2017 / 6:39 am

    Oh wow, what an amazing experience to have! My kids would LOVE to go to something like this!

    • Laura Dove
      October 17, 2017 / 9:41 am

      It was amazing Elizabeth, the kids loved it! xx

  23. October 17, 2017 / 8:39 am

    Looks like such a good show and a lot of fun with the Disney characters, it’s a shame that they were scared meeting them x

    • Laura Dove
      October 17, 2017 / 8:59 am

      I know, they have always been afraid of characters like that close up. At least they loved the show! xx

  24. October 17, 2017 / 8:40 am

    Disney on ice looks amazing- would love to take the girls here one day x

    • Laura Dove
      October 17, 2017 / 8:58 am

      It was amazing Kira, we loved it! xx

  25. October 17, 2017 / 11:55 am

    This looks an amazing event for the whole family. I would have been on my feet for Let It Go. I mean I know the words of by heart after being made to watch the film again and again! I do love it though. I’m gutted that they aren’t coming to Jersey. x

    • Laura Dove
      October 17, 2017 / 4:26 pm

      Oh me too! I was singing along with the kids! Shame it doesn’t travel to Jersey, it’s a fab show! xx

  26. October 17, 2017 / 3:36 pm

    This looks amazing! I’d love to see it myself x

    • Laura Dove
      October 17, 2017 / 4:19 pm

      It was fab, I’d recommend it! xx

  27. October 18, 2017 / 9:22 am

    Wow this looks like an Awesome family show for Disney fans :)x

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 9:12 pm

      It’s great Melanie, I’d recommend it! xx

  28. October 18, 2017 / 1:31 pm

    Oh this sounds like such a lovely experience. I am always amazed by things like this, I can hardly stand up on a pair of skates! 😀

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 9:01 pm

      Oh me too! I’d love to be able to skate like this! xx

  29. October 18, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    This looks amazing and a good idea for half term. My 12 year old would love it! The pictures are also great, very colourful and inspiring!

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      Thanks Afshan, it’s a great show! xx

  30. October 18, 2017 / 10:12 pm

    This looks absolutely amazing. And your kids faces are a picture! They look totally transfixed. I know that my two would adore this and Little Miss H would be especially excited to watch The Little Mermaid and Frozen sections. Hugs Lucy xxxx

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 8:40 pm

      They absolutely loved it Lucy, I was amazed that they sat through the whole thing! xx

  31. October 19, 2017 / 3:18 am

    I think my kids would love this. We love the Lion king too! You’re very brave taking all 4 on your own!

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 8:29 pm

      Thanks Jenny, I prefer INSANE!! xx

  32. francesca
    October 19, 2017 / 9:17 am

    OMG what a beautiful experience!! I’ve wanted to see disney on ice for so long with my kids they would just LOVE it!! It looks so captivating and the costumes and the giant crocodile look amazing!! What a show!

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 8:27 pm

      It was amazing, I’d recommend it! xx

  33. October 19, 2017 / 1:01 pm

    I love Disney so much, this looks SO amazing! I would love to see it.

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 8:24 pm

      It really was amazing Amy, we had so much fun! xx

  34. October 19, 2017 / 5:45 pm

    I have never been to a Disney on Ice show before but I really want to. They always sound so amazing. I can’t wait to take my little girl and niece one day as they would have so much fun. X

    • Laura Dove
      October 19, 2017 / 8:23 pm

      It was our first time Samantha, so much fun! xx

  35. October 21, 2017 / 7:58 pm

    Wow Laura – this looks like an amazing show! I can’t get over the huge variety – they fit in so many of the classics. I had to laugh at your kiddies reactions to the characters – my daughter was just the same on a cruise a few years ago. She loves Dora but when we got near her she totally freaked out!

    • Laura Dove
      October 22, 2017 / 1:17 pm

      Haha they really do freak out! I have to tell them that the characters aren’t real as they can’t cope with it, Harry was hid under the table!! Glad mine aren’t the only ones! xx

  36. October 24, 2017 / 11:05 am

    We went to see the show in Newcastle a few weeks ago and my children loved it! None of us ever get to meet the characters when it is on in Newcastle, my children would have loved to meet them as they are huge Zootropolis fans. We loved this year’s show (we have been to the past 4) it had such a great mix of classic movies in it xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 24, 2017 / 7:31 pm

      It’s fab isn’t it? We cant wait to go again! xx

  37. October 26, 2017 / 9:23 am

    This looks absolutely fantastic! I would love to go and see this. I am such a big kid when it comes to Disney! My little ones a bit young for this at the minute but I hope they still do it when she gets older

    Tasha x

    • Laura Dove
      October 26, 2017 / 9:35 am

      It was so much fun, I loved it as much as they did! xx

  38. Hayley Challinor
    October 26, 2017 / 9:32 am

    This looks amazing! We have tickets for next spring and I can not wait!

    • Laura Dove
      October 26, 2017 / 9:35 am

      It really was Hayley, you’ll love it! xx

  39. October 28, 2017 / 9:41 am

    Oh we love Disney on Ice so much! So jealous that you got to meet the characters! How awesome! Gorgeous photos! x

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:45 pm

      It’s amazing isn’t it? Hopefully next time the children wont be so shy with the characters!! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *