Cry Babies Review

For the last few months, every time I hear the Cry Babies jingle on the television I brace myself for the inevitable, “Mummmmmmmy? Can I have one??”. And every day I tell them, “You’ll have to ask Father Christmas!”, as their little faces sink in disappointment, and they go back to staring at the TV, deliberating between themselves over which Cry Baby they would choose.

So when we were offered a Cry Babies doll for review, I knew, without a moments hesitation, that the children would be over the moon to try one. In fact I made the monumental mistake of telling the girls beforehand that the postman would be bringing one for them, and endured them asking, every second of every day, if it was here yet. So when it finally arrived I cant tell you just how happy they were!!

With three Cry Babies to choose from, Lea, Coney And Lala, each with a different animal print onesie, Eva was delighted to discover that she had been sent her favourite, Lea.

Lea comes with a leopard print onesie with cute little ears and a curly tail, and I have to admit, I totally see the appeal!

As the name suggests, Cry Babies cry real tears, and the idea is to comfort them with a cuddle, a hug or give them to dummy to help stop them crying, and in return they make adorable baby noises.

Each doll has a hidden cap under their hood with a screw top where you can fill it up with water. You can either push the button below to start the tears, or simply remove the dummy and prepare for the crying to start!!

What starts with a whimper quickly builds to full on angry screaming and the tears are pretty full on, if you’re holding the doll, prepare to get wet!

The things I love the most about this toy is that the onesie is interchangeable, meaning it can be removed and washed over time, and also the dummy is attached via ribbon so there is no chance of it getting lost and having to listen to the crying for any more time than is necessary.

Which leads me on to the things I dislike about this toy – the crying!! I can’t lie to you, the crying is annoying, especially when the children leave it to cry relentlessly whilst I’m scrambling to find the off switch.

That said, the children absolutely LOVE it, so much so that I’d go as far as saying it is one of their favourite toys ever. Eva will not put her down, she takes her everywhere, she sleeps with her beside her (switched off – god forbid!) and she tells me every single day how Lea is the cutest little baby she has ever seen. And seeing how happy the doll makes her will always out-weigh my irritation at the crying!

Cry Babies are priced at around £29.99 and available to buy from most toy retailers.

 

Follow:

88 Comments

  1. August 10, 2017 / 8:19 pm

    I showed the cheetah your post and when I suggested we review a Cry Baby,he just looked at and growled.
    I think this means I will have to be charmed by your review and hope the crying doesn’t drive you bonkers….

    • Laura Dove
      August 10, 2017 / 9:17 pm

      Hahaha I think it would be a great companion for him! I’m not sure who would be the loudest?! xx

  2. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 11, 2017 / 12:04 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one, my daughter asks for every toy on every advert, she has asked for cry babies to, and I always say you will have to ask santa to xxx

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 4:16 pm

      Haha I say it about everything but then they think that the “lady in the computer” sends them new toys to review…ooops! xx

  3. August 11, 2017 / 6:38 am

    Oh my I don’t think I could cope with this lol! We are going to have a crying baby of our own soon so Sophie will have to wait til she is older 😀 She would love something like this tho as she is currently obsessed with baby dolls – it’s good that you can turn it off & can’t lose the dummy!! xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 4:12 pm

      Haha it’s the kind of toy that kids go crazy for and parents pray for the batteries to run out. But it’s also their new favourite toy and I can’t argue with that! xx

  4. August 11, 2017 / 9:25 am

    Every time S sees the advert she asks for one. I do think they look cute but she fakes cry enough thanks to youtube videos haha! ox

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 3:59 pm

      Hahaha yes it’s a very fake cry! The kids love it though, they are so happy they finally got one! xx

  5. August 11, 2017 / 9:44 am

    Aww how very cute, glad Eva is loving her cry baby doll and that onesie is so cute I love it.

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 3:57 pm

      She adores it, the onesies are very sweet. xx

  6. August 11, 2017 / 10:26 am

    Whenever the advert comes on for these we can’t get the theme tune out of our heads! I so want one of them and love the big googley eyes!

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 3:56 pm

      Haha yes! The theme tune is so catchy! xx

  7. August 11, 2017 / 11:41 am

    I’ve never heard of them and neither has T if she has, she’ll nag me too about it. This doll reminds me a bit of the Baby Alive ones…. Shudders. But hey, our little ones love it, don’t they? x

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 3:55 pm

      Ahh the adverts are everywhere!! The kids LOVE them, like it’s the best toy they’ve ever had! xx

  8. August 11, 2017 / 2:03 pm

    Haha! I bet you was glad you got one! The adverts will go on till way past December!
    Great photos x

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 3:54 pm

      The kids are over the moon with it, I can’t argue with that! xx

  9. August 11, 2017 / 4:11 pm

    Isn’t it weird that kids love things like this! Then again I had a tiny tears when I was small !

  10. August 11, 2017 / 4:58 pm

    What an interesting range of dolls, I’ve never seen one that cries before, I was surprised by the size when I saw the press images I thought they would be a lot smaller.

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 8:03 pm

      Yes they are a good size doll! The kids have gone crazy for them, I knew they would! xxx

  11. August 11, 2017 / 5:02 pm

    Isabell would love one of these but I don’t think I could cope with the crying! That is a good price though as this type of doll can be so expensive xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 8:03 pm

      I agree, they are really reasonable for the type of doll, every child loves a doll that cries!! There’s always an off switch, and those batteries don’t last forever….right?!

  12. August 11, 2017 / 6:16 pm

    My eldest wanted one of these for Christmas! They look super fun for the kids but annoying for adults!

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 7:59 pm

      Haha most kids toys are aren’t they? The kids love them! xx

  13. August 11, 2017 / 7:22 pm

    Mine have seen the add for these and now want one. They are super cute dolls ad not too expensive either.

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 7:58 pm

      I think they are going to be a huge hit this Christmas, and I agree, they don’t break the bank! xx

  14. August 11, 2017 / 7:46 pm

    I used to have a baby that cried when I was a kid and it was my favourite too! I can understand why it would get a bit annoying as an adult though!

    • Laura Dove
      August 11, 2017 / 7:56 pm

      Me too!! I think all children love toys like this, the louder the better! xx

  15. August 11, 2017 / 8:41 pm

    These look adorable!! My Alessia would love these x

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:33 pm

      I would have loved them as a child too! xx

  16. Dani
    August 11, 2017 / 10:07 pm

    Toys are getting so high tech – I would’ve loved something like this when I was little!
    I was obsessed with my barbies and Betty Spaghetti’s 🙂

    Dani x

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:32 pm

      Oh me too, I played with dolls all day long! xx

  17. August 12, 2017 / 8:46 am

    Dolls have changed so much since my Tiny Tears days! Xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:29 pm

      Oh mine too! I loved tiny tears! xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:29 pm

      Haha it’s sooooo catchy isn’t it? xx

  18. August 12, 2017 / 9:17 am

    oh my gosh these are so creepy, I hate dolls and find them so freaky, i think ill avoid these ones haha! glad she likes them!

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:29 pm

      Haha my friend said the same, she asked me to move it the other day as it was looking at her the wrong way! I think they are cute though! xx

  19. August 12, 2017 / 9:49 am

    They are so many different dolls aren’t they! I am sure my kids would like this for sure

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:28 pm

      There really are, but you can’t beat one that screams! xx

  20. August 12, 2017 / 10:04 am

    Aww my little ones would definitely love these! Although I have to admit, my little ones have the tendency to leave toys on and just walk off. Which I imagine is exactly what they would do with this, leave it crying and just wander off!

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:28 pm

      Haha yes! Mine too, and me scrambling for the dummy! They are fun though and the kids just adore them! xx

  21. August 12, 2017 / 1:02 pm

    LEA the doll is so cute although not sure how I would cope with the cries haha. So pleased the kiddies loved her though x

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:22 pm

      Haha the kids adore her, and there’s always ear plugs….right?! xx

  22. August 12, 2017 / 1:17 pm

    I’ve been wondering if I should get something like this for the princess, but at the moment, she’d probably just ripped it apart haha

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:22 pm

      They are really robust dolls, I like how chunky they are! xx

  23. August 12, 2017 / 1:22 pm

    No matter how technology moves on, there is still nothing better than a crying dolly! Brings back fabulous memories of my childhood. My youngest would love this with the anima print onesie – I like that it is cheaper than other crying dolls too.

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:22 pm

      You’re so right, all I ever wanted as a child was a doll that cried! It’s a great price in comparison to other dolls on the market. xx

  24. August 12, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    This sounds like the kind of toy that naughty aunts and uncles give for Christmas 😉 The kids love them, the parents hate them!

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:20 pm

      Hahah yes!! I’m going to buy them for all of my friends kids…! xx

  25. August 12, 2017 / 4:56 pm

    HOW haven’t I heard of these! My girls would have a field day with them! My two-year-old is obsessed with putting dummies into her own mouth and her dolls’ mouths!

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:19 pm

      Ahh yes it’s great that when they cry they can put the dummy in and it instantly stops….I LOVE that bit, haha! xx

  26. August 12, 2017 / 7:53 pm

    Oh my Alice would LOVE this too! This is like the perfect present ever for her, I’m with you though the crying. Thank goodness these toys have an off switch. No doubt this will be on her christmas list x

    • Laura Dove
      August 12, 2017 / 8:11 pm

      The girls have gone crazy for them, they are so happy to finally have one after months of pleading! But yes, the off switch…phew! xx

  27. August 13, 2017 / 10:41 am

    I haven’t heard of them! I was surprised at how big it was! We already have Zach to cry so think Anya may have to live without one!

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 4:55 pm

      Haha how have you missed the adverts? They are on every two minutes it seems! xx

  28. August 13, 2017 / 11:55 am

    I have never heard of these before! When I was younger I had a doll that cried and I loved her!

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 4:53 pm

      Haha me too! Not sure my parents did?! xx

  29. August 13, 2017 / 12:12 pm

    Glad I’ve found your review on these< my daughter saw the advert and wants the leopard print ones. She'll have to wait and see what santa brings her

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 4:53 pm

      Ahh my girls genuinely think they are the best toy they’ve ever had, just familiarise yourself with the off switch! xx

  30. Joanna
    August 13, 2017 / 12:13 pm

    I am surprised on how big the doll is. I can see how it can provide hours of entertainment for a child, the tears must be fascinating. It’s great that you can take the onesie off and wash it when it gets dirty.

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 4:52 pm

      I was surprised too! I thought it would be much smaller! And yes, it’s great that you can wash them! xx

  31. August 13, 2017 / 5:00 pm

    Eva’s little face says it all! Cry Babies are clearly the toy to have at the moment lol 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 6:04 pm

      Oh she LOVES it, seriously thinks its the best toy she’s ever had! xx

  32. August 13, 2017 / 7:00 pm

    These look so cute! My youngest would love on of these, he love playing with dolls.

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      Harry does too, he loves to mother them when they cry! xx

  33. August 13, 2017 / 7:13 pm

    Oh these look adorable. I’m sure my daughter would love one.

    • Laura Dove
      August 13, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      According to the girls they are the best toys ever! xx

  34. August 14, 2017 / 9:42 am

    I have to admit, I’ve not heard of these before but I know my niece would love one. She loves her dolls x

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:34 pm

      I think they are going to be hugely popular this Christmas! xx

  35. August 14, 2017 / 10:18 am

    Aw, they’re really cute! And talk about puppy dog eyes!

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:32 pm

      Oh I know!! They are really sweet actually! xx

  36. August 14, 2017 / 8:48 pm

    those dolls are bigger than i thought they would be! i don’t think ive seen a toy like this before

    • Laura Dove
      August 14, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      I was surprised by the size of them, they are a really decent size! xx

  37. August 15, 2017 / 1:03 pm

    The smile in your little girl is immeasurable. This cry baby dolls are such a dream for little girls. Thinking of giving this as a present to my god daughter too, sure she will love it.

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:20 pm

      She is over the moon with it! xx

  38. August 15, 2017 / 3:27 pm

    I would of loved this doll when I was little, so cute. I love how much your daughter loves her!

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 6:32 pm

      Me too! She adores it! xx

  39. August 15, 2017 / 7:35 pm

    Very cute doll. Not sure I’d be able to take the noise though 😉

    • Laura Dove
      August 15, 2017 / 7:52 pm

      Haha they should come with ear plugs! xx

  40. August 16, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    Oh my gosh, that jingle! I’m singing it in my head right now! Looks like a super-cute doll, and I think your daughters face says it all really. 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:22 pm

      Hah yes the jingle is very memorable! She loves the doll, that’s all that matters really! xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:23 pm

      Hahah its certainly catchy!! xx

  41. August 16, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    Oh bless she looks so happy with it. Personally it would drive me absolutely bonkers! I actually accidentally forget to replace batteries with some toys and this sounds like it would be one of them. But saying that if they love it, I guess it’s worth it? Xx

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:18 pm

      Haha yes, it does drive me bonkers but then they love it so much I feel mean taking the batteries out! Cant say I’m not tempted though! xx

  42. Stephanie
    August 16, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    such a lovely review, my Emily was watching a video review of these on youtube. x

    • Laura Dove
      August 17, 2017 / 6:17 pm

      My kids watch them on youtube too! They watch all sorts on there to be fair! xx

  43. August 21, 2017 / 7:12 am

    Bless her, she looks so delighted. I hadn’t seen these at all, but I can see that I would have loved them as a child. I always loved interactive dolls.

    • Laura Dove
      August 21, 2017 / 10:26 pm

      Oh me too, I loved dolls full stop! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *