Fisher Price Blaze and the Monster Machines Animal Island Stunts Speedway

Over the last few months Harry has discovered a new show over on Nickelodeon – Blaze and the Monster Machines. For those who haven’t heard of Blaze, it’s basically about an 8 year old techie, AJ, who drives monster truck Blaze, the top racer in Axle City. The two of them go on all kinds of adventures taking on problems involving science and maths, and face Blaze’s rival, Crusher, a tractor-trailer that will do anything to beat other vehicles to the finish line!

In terms of kids shows, it’s actually one of my favourites and I love that problem solving features heavily covering science, technology, engineering and maths. As much as Harry has been enjoying it, we hadn’t yet bought any of the Blaze toy sets, so when we were offered Blaze and the Monster Machines Animal Island Stunts Speedway, I knew just how excited Harry would be!

The Fisher Price Blaze playset is a large-scale track playset for Blaze die-cast vehicles and, I’ll be honest with you, when I opened the box and saw all of the different pieces I felt quite over-whelmed! Luckily it comes with full instructions that really weren’t too difficult to follow. I hadn’t expected the set to be quite so big, but Harry couldn’t wait to play with it!

 The set comes with an exclusive Lion Blaze die-cast monster truck which Harry was over the moon with.

The Animal Island Stunts Speedway has four exciting stunts to choose from –

Tumbling tree fall….

Vertical drop….

Upside down S-curve and bridge….

And the waterfall jump through the crashing doors!

I love that the set is designed to explore the STEM principle of gravity, as a parent I am all for learning through play. I also love that the set connects to other Blaze and the Monster Machine track sets (sold separately) so you can keep on adding to it over time.

For the price, £49.99 I would have liked to see the set come with more than just one vehicle. I find myself saying this often but as a Mum of four, with three little ones, there is nothing worse than the children having a melt down when we open a new toy because there is just one vehicle or character to go around. Additional vehicles are available to buy separately but, as always, they come at a price.

Despite that, Harry absolutely loves the playset and has played with it non-stop every since it arrived. For all Blaze fans, this really is the perfect present this Christmas!

*** We were sent this item for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own. ***

 

 

Follow:

52 Comments

  1. October 27, 2017 / 3:52 pm

    This is such a great present idea for a little boy!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:53 pm

      It’s fab, but my girls love it just as much too! xx

  2. October 27, 2017 / 4:52 pm

    This sounds a fun toy but surely the vehicles are the main attraction? I’d definitely expect more!
    C x

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:52 pm

      I totally agree, will have to get some more at Christmas! xx

  3. October 27, 2017 / 7:16 pm

    My youngest loves Blaze. He goes straight to the page with the Blaze toys on in the Toys R Us Christmas catalogue. No doubt this will be coming on Santa’s sleigh along with some other Blaze vehicles.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:51 pm

      Ahh that’s cute. Blaze is huge this year isn’t it?? xx

  4. October 27, 2017 / 8:45 pm

    I love his expression! I hate it when they’re stingy on the characters. I mean they’re the most important bit and you’ve just spent a lot of money already! Glad he enjoyed it though.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:51 pm

      Yes!! I totally agree, it’s so hard when you have more than one child and they want to play together. Kids don’t like to share one toy between three that’s for sure! xx

  5. October 27, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    My god son is blaze mad so thank you for giving me insight into what to buy him he’s 3 do you think he will like this

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:50 pm

      Definitely! Harry is 3 and he is so pleased with it, you’d think they would get bored eventually but four weeks in and he is playing with it every day still! xx

  6. October 28, 2017 / 5:19 am

    Such a wonderful playset. It looks very well built and sturdy, I would also have like to see another vehicle included in it!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:48 pm

      Yes it really is well built, it needs to be with these three! xx

  7. October 28, 2017 / 8:31 am

    Sebby would adore this, he loves Blaze!! We have only ever found cars before and not sets like this

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:46 pm

      Ahh it’s definitely one to consider for Christmas! xx

  8. October 28, 2017 / 9:35 am

    That’s a shame it only came with one vehicle as it looks really good, and it’s the kinda thing where you would want more. It does look great though!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:46 pm

      I agree. You can buy more but it seems like you pay so much money for the set and more than one vehicle would be better! xx

  9. October 28, 2017 / 11:54 am

    Wow – this looks absolutely incredible! Love it!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:40 pm

      It’s fab Katy, Harry is made up with it! xx

  10. October 28, 2017 / 12:11 pm

    Oh wow, this looks amazing, we love Blaze in our house! I feel like I don’t know much about boys toys with Woody still only being 18 months. I imagine I will have a house full of this stuff very soon though!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:39 pm

      Ahh yes it will! Harry is into everything at the moment! At three he is all about anything with wheels! xx

  11. October 28, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    This is very cool, Lucas would love it!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:38 pm

      It’s fab, just very big, haha! xx

  12. October 28, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    My 7 month old loves the tv show and when’s she’s bigger I am sure she will want Blaze and the other racing cars. Toys are so expensive now and it seems your paying more for the ‘label’ than what you get as a product! But it does look like a lot of fun x

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:36 pm

      I totally agree. When it’s part of a brand you just know it’s going to be costly! I’ve learned to remind myself that the price of a toy is somewhat irrelevant when it comes to their enjoyment of it! xx

  13. October 28, 2017 / 5:00 pm

    I’m on the lookout for a Christmas present for my nephew and this speedway is seriously cool!

  14. October 28, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    Now that looks like an absolutely fantastic toy and so much fun, speeding the cars down the track.

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:34 pm

      Harry is obsessed with anything that has wheels, he’s over the moon with it! xx

  15. October 28, 2017 / 10:12 pm

    Ahh Harry’s face, he looks so made up. This sounds like a great show for encouraging kids to problem solve, I do love it when TV shows have an educational element to them. Mich x

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:33 pm

      He is so happy with it! I totally agree, this is one of my favourites. xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:31 pm

      The kids go crazy for it don’t they? I love that it’s actually quite educational! xx

  16. October 29, 2017 / 10:56 am

    What a super toy! My kids would absolutely LOVE something like this to play with!

    • Laura Dove
      October 29, 2017 / 3:30 pm

      It’s fab, Harry loves it, anything to do with cars! xx

  17. October 29, 2017 / 7:35 pm

    This looks great, Holly loves the show too! I agree it’s very frustrating when you pay a lot of money and it only comes with 1 vehicle, because ultimately you have to buy more for them to get the most out of it x

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:32 pm

      Yes totally! We’ve been using paw patrol vehicles too, haha! xx

  18. October 29, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    This looks awesome! I am thinking of getting one of these for Christmas xx

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:29 pm

      Harry is over the moon with it Wynne! xx

  19. October 30, 2017 / 5:45 am

    This is really looks a fun toys and I’m sure my son would love this too.

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:28 pm

      I’m sure he would, it’s a lot of fun! xx

  20. October 30, 2017 / 6:57 am

    That’s quite a lot of track for the price, but you’re right about the number of vehicles x

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:27 pm

      It really is a great size, we’ve been using other vehicles we already have! xx

  21. Francesca
    October 30, 2017 / 11:22 am

    Awwwh this looks awesome!! My kids love cats and tracks so this looks like a lot of fun!

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:26 pm

      It’s always a popular choice with my kids too! xx

  22. Francesca
    October 30, 2017 / 11:22 am

    Cars*

  23. October 30, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    This looks really cool. My middle lady would love it. I tend to agree re coming with more than just one vehicle, though.

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:21 pm

      Yes it’s always a shame when there is only one vehicle. I’m sure father Christmas will rectify that! xx

  24. October 30, 2017 / 11:40 pm

    The Animal Island Stunts Speedway looks epic ! I love that it came with an original car and the bright colours makes the island look super fun for girls and boys alike. I want a go and I am an adult LOL.

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 9:17 pm

      Haha there are some amazing toys out there for kids now aren’t there? xx

  25. November 1, 2017 / 10:00 pm

    Oh this looks brilliant. Monkey is a little bit obsessed with Blaze and the Monster Machines! Thats a large toy for the price but I am with you on the whole vehicle thing. Monkey would play with this with friends so two minimum would be essential.

    • Laura Dove
      November 3, 2017 / 8:58 pm

      Yes it’s always frustrated when there’s only one vehicle, we have been using other vehicles they already own though and that does work quite well. xx

  26. November 4, 2017 / 5:15 am

    My daughter would love this – so much fun! I like that it is a good size, something to get out and enjoy on a rainy day 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      November 4, 2017 / 3:39 pm

      Yes definitely! Harry hasn’t put it down since it arrived! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *