Back to School with Reading Eggs

Over the Summer months, with Eva approaching Year One and Meggy starting in reception, we thought that we would give the girls a head start with their reading, and Reading Eggs was just the resource we needed.

What is it?

Reading Eggs is an online programme which has been created by a highly experienced team of primary school teachers, writers and developers to help children become fluent and proficient readers.

The multi-award winning early learning resource supports your child’s learning to read journey with carefully designed online reading games and activities that are easy to follow, self-paced, and highly engaging for young learners

How does it work?

Home is where so much of your child’s learning takes place. It is where they feel most confident, happy and supported. Studies prove that children who come from homes where reading is prioritised are already way ahead of their peers. The home is the ideal place to lay the building blocks for long term reading and academic success.

Reading Eggs provides your child with an educationally sound and highly enjoyable learn to read programme that is not only fun and effective, but also easy to integrate into your daily routine.

The programme

Stepping stone Reading lessons – these lessons are the core of the Reading Eggs programme. Each lesson builds on the previous one to builds skills in the five areas needed to advance as a reader: phonics, sight words, vocabularly, fluency and comprehension. With forty lessons over each of the three lessons, the programme works at a pace that is right for your child.

Storylands – Storylands opens after Reading Eggs lesson 60 and is recommended for children who have begun reading but are yet to graduate to Reading Eggspress. Each lesson has a strong focus on building comprehension skills and expanding student’s vocabulary.

Quizzes – At the end of each Storylands lesson there is a ten question quiz to assess the childs reading and comprehension skills.

Golden Eggs – Students are rewarded for completing quizzes with golden eggs and special items for their house and avatar, as well as opening up extra-special features on their map.

Spelling – The Spelling lessons are the core of the Reading Eggs learn-to-spell programme. The Spelling Vault contains 96 carefully graded spelling lessons. Each spelling lesson focuses on a 12-word spelling list.

Driving tests – This section of the site assesses reading skills with tests that assess high-frequency sight word knowledge, phonic skills and content area vocabulary. Each of the three areas has 15 quizzes and a child only moves onto the next quiz after they get all 20 questions correct.

The verdict

I was a little unsure at first how Megan would approach the programme. As a non-reader we were literally starting at the beginning and yet she took it with so much enthusiasm and a zest for learning that soon we were flying through the lessons.

The programme is designed in a way to appeal to children and to make learning fun, and the fact that both Megan and Eva got up every day and asked for their Reading Eggs lesson spoke volumes! Both girls loved to see their progress on the map and although there was a little competitiveness, it actually motivated both girls to try harder and really get to grips with their reading.

It doesn’t surprise me that 91% of parents report an improvement in their child’s reading through using Reading Eggs as we too saw a massive improvement in Eva’s reading and Megan really starting to learn her phonics and sound out her words.

We are so impressed with Reading Eggs and would recommend it to all parents. At less than £3.40 a month for a subscription it really is an absolute bargain and considering just how much it has helped the children, I wouldn’t hesitate to continue my subscription

If you would like to try the Reading Eggs programme for a free 5 weeks trial simply click here

I’m sure that you will love it just as much as we do!

 

*** This is a collaborative post ***

Follow:

114 Comments

  1. September 5, 2017 / 10:04 pm

    I think that £3.40 for a months subscription would be brilliant. I love the sound of the reading eggs and that is a great way of developing children’s literacy skills x

    • Laura Dove
      September 5, 2017 / 10:52 pm

      It’s so reasonable isn’t it? Especially given how educational it is! xx

  2. September 6, 2017 / 5:56 am

    This looks like a great idea. A fun way to learn early reading and literacy skills. I wish your girls the best of luck with their reading!

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 12:10 pm

      Thank you! xx

  3. September 6, 2017 / 7:18 am

    Looks really good – learning at home is so important to help children achieve at school 🙂 x

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 12:09 pm

      It’s a great idea, I’m really impressed! xx

  4. September 6, 2017 / 8:04 am

    This is something I might try with my two years old daughter! Just to bad it is in English! Perhaps there are other languages available?

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 12:08 pm

      I’m not sure, I think there probably will be?! xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 12:07 pm

      So reasonable! It’s less than the cost of a crappy magazine for the kids! xx

  5. September 6, 2017 / 11:00 am

    This looks like a great app and game thats educational and fun. We tend to steer away from tablets but this from Reading Eggs does sound good so we might give it a try x

  6. September 6, 2017 / 11:13 am

    I’ve heard only good reviews about this app. If T were younger, I’d definitely consider getting this. At seven, we’re lucky that she reads well and actually enjoys reading too 🙂

  7. September 6, 2017 / 11:35 am

    Wow, that’s such a lovely idea and useful app! Very handy post as my eldest just started Reception yesterday, so we will be looking to get him to try it soon. Thank you!

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 5:34 pm

      Ahh lovely! I hope they had a lovely day! xx

  8. September 6, 2017 / 1:52 pm

    What a great idea, and I love that it’s really affordable too x

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 3:40 pm

      It’s so affordable and really educational. I’m so impressed! xx

  9. September 6, 2017 / 3:21 pm

    I think whenever a game is created to be more fun than like actually learning kids enjoy it without even knowing they are learning something. Glad the girls took to it.

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 3:39 pm

      Yes definitely! It’s the best way to teach them! xx

  10. September 6, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    We have been using Reading Eggs too and it has been a massive winner in this house – it’s inspired my daughter to really up her game on her reading journey!

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 5:33 pm

      Mine too, we are definitely going to carry on our subscription! xx

  11. September 6, 2017 / 4:30 pm

    I may have to get this for my daughter. She is almost two and is currently learning words. She has been starting to say short sentences here or there. So I think this would help her a bunch. And for the price, it sounds fantastic.

    • Laura Dove
      September 6, 2017 / 5:33 pm

      Its such a great programme, you could try it for free, it’s definitely worth it! xx

  12. September 6, 2017 / 5:48 pm

    Helping your child learn to read is just so important and so anything that helps and makes thing fun, that of good in my book!
    I love the characters and that there are lots of associated activities that any child would enjoy!

  13. September 6, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    A good idea to teach children how to play. Something useful with which they can profit later.
    I wish you a nice time with it.

    • Laura Dove
      September 7, 2017 / 9:14 pm

      Thank you Selda! xx

  14. September 6, 2017 / 7:06 pm

    I’ve been hearing amazing things about this, I think I’m going to have to sign Jack up to the free trial!

  15. September 6, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    Readingeggs is great. My girls had this given to them to do as homework from school and they found it great fun.

  16. September 6, 2017 / 8:42 pm

    This looks like just what I need for Alice, is loves to learn to read and I think this would really help to learn quickly which she is desperate to do. Great price too x

  17. September 6, 2017 / 8:46 pm

    This looks like such a fantastic resource for children, I’d definitely have signed up my son for a subscription when he was younger!

  18. Jen S
    September 6, 2017 / 8:47 pm

    I absolutely loved reading as a kid. Having a game to go along with it would’ve only made it better!

  19. September 6, 2017 / 9:30 pm

    This looks fantastic, as soon as my boy gets a whiff of learning he shuts down. I might be able to fool him with this.

    • Laura Dove
      September 7, 2017 / 9:13 pm

      I bet you could! So much fun! xx

  20. September 7, 2017 / 12:20 am

    Seems an interesting learning for a kid. Recently I too subscribed for a similar program in India for my preschooler kid! They really have a good impact.

  21. September 7, 2017 / 12:57 am

    Reading eggs what a great idea and the fact that it has been produced by people with experience and at such a reasonable price is great 🙂 x

  22. September 7, 2017 / 6:31 am

    These Reading Eggs look like a fun yet great program for kids to aid them in learning. I shall recommend this for my niece.

  23. September 7, 2017 / 8:53 am

    I used reading eggs with Isaac and it worked wonders with his reading

  24. September 7, 2017 / 10:03 am

    Such good value, it’s nice that the kids have been learning even over the summer x

    • Laura Dove
      September 7, 2017 / 2:00 pm

      I agree, learning can be fun! xx

  25. September 7, 2017 / 2:18 pm

    Reading Egg looks informative with colorful lessons. Good for kids who are going back to school and they will enjoy this kind of colorful learning. Thanks for sharing!

  26. September 7, 2017 / 2:34 pm

    I have heard lots of good things about Reading Eggs, so when my daughter gets to the age when she’ll be going to school I’ll certainly look into this more 🙂

  27. September 7, 2017 / 7:24 pm

    This sounds like a great learning aid, great price too!

    • Laura Dove
      September 7, 2017 / 9:08 pm

      Its an amazing price for what you get! xx

  28. September 7, 2017 / 7:34 pm

    What a great idea and a lovely way of helping children continue learning at home. I had something similar when I was younger (although a lot more basic) and I loved it.

    • Laura Dove
      September 7, 2017 / 9:08 pm

      I love anything that can make learning fun for my children! xx

  29. September 7, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    This could be just the motivation that my 4 year old needs to spur his interest in trying to read. He loves an app so wouldn’t really notice how educational it is!

    • Laura Dove
      September 8, 2017 / 8:45 am

      Definitely! And you can use it on the ipad and they always love that! xx

  30. September 8, 2017 / 12:05 am

    I’ve heard a lot about reading eggs. Robins too young yet but it looks like the sort of thing he’ll love come the time. I’ll definitely keep it in mind!

    • Laura Dove
      September 8, 2017 / 8:40 am

      It’s definitely worth trialling when he is old enough, its a great idea! xx

  31. September 8, 2017 / 12:16 am

    3.40 is a great price for this! I wonder if it’s available in the US. I have quite a few nieces and nephews that might love this.

    • Laura Dove
      September 8, 2017 / 8:40 am

      I think there is a US version! xx

  32. September 8, 2017 / 2:34 am

    My sister in love would love something like this for her kids! It seems like it is learning mixed with fun, which is a necessity to a kid in my opinion!

    • Laura Dove
      September 8, 2017 / 8:39 am

      It’s great fun and so educational too, I’d recommend it! xx

  33. September 8, 2017 / 7:57 am

    I think kids would love it. I always like ideas like this one, they are simple but very helpful. Kids getting into a course even before joining their schools days. Thanks for sharing this kit.

    • Laura Dove
      September 8, 2017 / 8:20 am

      I agree, it’s a great way of keeping their minds ticking over through holidays too! xx

  34. September 8, 2017 / 9:28 am

    A 91% improvement rate seems really good, and I really like that it can be so helpful even to children who are very new to reading.

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 12:04 pm

      Yes definitely, you can’t argue with that kind of statistic! xx

  35. September 8, 2017 / 9:59 am

    It’s wonderful that your kids found Reading Eggs so good! We love it too – from my 4yr old up to my 10 year old we found it really good this summer to keep their minds fresh over the holidays.

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 12:03 pm

      It’s great isn’t it? We are huge fans and it’s so cheap too! Less than one of those crappy magazines they ask for! xx

  36. September 8, 2017 / 10:36 am

    I really need to try the Reading Egg app. Youngest has just started school and I really struggle to engage her with reading. This sounds like it would really work 🙂 The stat 91% is really impressive too!

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 12:01 pm

      I definitely recommend it. You can download it on the ipad and the kids think they are doing something really exciting on there, little do they realise they are working hard!! xx

  37. September 8, 2017 / 3:09 pm

    The programs they have for the kids now is just so much more amazing than it was in years past. I wish I had seen more of these as my daughter was growing up.

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 11:54 am

      I totally agree, my eldest is 13 and I see such a huge change in what is available for my youngest three! xx

  38. September 8, 2017 / 3:41 pm

    This Reading Eggs sounds like exactly what I need for the kids. I will check it out. Trying to increase the number of words they say at the moment.

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 11:52 am

      Oh I totally recommend it then for you! It’s fab! xx

  39. September 9, 2017 / 5:18 am

    This sounds amazing. Can’t wait to try it when my little one is older. Definitely bookmarking!

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 11:47 am

      I definitely would recommend it! xx

  40. September 9, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    This sounds like an excellent tool to support early years reading. I have to try it with my daughter as she doesn’t think reading is fun at the moment

    • Laura Dove
      September 9, 2017 / 5:13 pm

      I bet she would love this Zena, its such a fun way to enjoy reading. xx

  41. Claire
    September 9, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    These days with a lot of kids wanting electronics, I think it’s great to use those tablets to really help with the educational aspects. While it’s made as a game, I’m glad you found the right app to help kids learn!

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 11:38 am

      Definitely! The kids think they are having a treat on the ipad but really they are learning! Win win! xx

  42. September 10, 2017 / 6:37 am

    It sounds like a great program and one I will remember for when my youngest gets to reading age.

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 11:34 am

      I’d definitely recommend it! xx

  43. September 10, 2017 / 7:45 am

    I love the sound of Reading Eggs, I think my youngest could really benefit from it, thank you for sharing.

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 11:33 am

      You should try the trial, they are fab! xx

  44. September 10, 2017 / 8:51 am

    I love the idea of this but I know we would never end up using it as much as we should, we never seem to have much time after school and during weekends. We do a lot of reading though and enough books to open a library x

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 11:32 am

      Reading is so important, I think that as long as you read lots with your children you cant go wrong! xx

  45. September 10, 2017 / 9:32 am

    Reading eggs sound brilliant, my daughter just started school so I am sure she would love this!

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 11:32 am

      They are great Melissa, so useful for helping with reading! xx

  46. September 10, 2017 / 10:47 am

    We love reading eggs – my son, Jacob, has access to this via his school which is fantastic. Such a good resource!

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 11:27 am

      That’s great that they use these in school! We love it! xx

  47. September 10, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    Reading eggs looks like so much fun, what a fantastic way to prepare for school. I didn’t realise I had tests to assess reading skills too, how fantastic.

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 6:32 pm

      It’s a really great idea Su, definitely helps with their reading skills. xx

  48. September 10, 2017 / 6:55 pm

    Wow that sounds fantastic, the more we can get our children reading and learning and home the better I think 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 9:16 pm

      I totally agree, we do so much reading in our house! xx

  49. September 10, 2017 / 7:18 pm

    Glad to hear this is working well for your little ones. Mine had Reading eggs when they were younger and always enjoyed it. Mich x

    • Laura Dove
      September 10, 2017 / 9:15 pm

      I think anything which makes learning fun is a hit! The kids love it! xx

  50. September 10, 2017 / 10:12 pm

    We have been trying it out as well and really loved it. I liked the test st the beginning so it means you start at the right level. I will definitely be keeping this on for Monkey. Xx

    • Laura Dove
      September 11, 2017 / 11:51 am

      Us too! Its been a big hit with the girls! xx

  51. Joanna
    September 11, 2017 / 8:21 am

    It sounds like a great and fun learning program for children. Reading is very important and if not practice enough during the school hours it can have repercussions in the future. It’s great that there are such programs that will make it fun for children to want to read.

    • Laura Dove
      September 11, 2017 / 11:41 am

      I think that’s the main thing, to make learning fun! The girls love it! xx

  52. September 11, 2017 / 9:50 am

    I have heard so many great things about Reading Eggs. I am definitely thinking about trying it out especially as Harri starts her school journey. Great review.

    • Laura Dove
      September 11, 2017 / 11:38 am

      Thanks Natalie! I’d recommend it to you, its really helped the girls. xx

  53. September 11, 2017 / 10:15 am

    Awww it’s so lovely hearing that they loved it so much they asked for their lessons. So glad it was a hit x

    • Laura Dove
      September 11, 2017 / 11:37 am

      We really enjoyed it, I’m definitely keeping up with the subscription! xx

  54. September 11, 2017 / 3:54 pm

    I’ve seen a lot of people say how impressed with reading eggs they are, definitely something I will look into when my little girl is older.

  55. September 11, 2017 / 6:56 pm

    I really love it, I love that you can see exactly where they are in their learning and that they are learning through what is essentially play. Great app!

  56. September 11, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    We absolutely LOVE Reading Eggs. I think I’ve recommended it to pretty much every friend I have with kids 😀

    Louise x

  57. September 12, 2017 / 11:35 am

    It sounds so reasonable. It’s so important to practice as home and make it fun

  58. Danielle
    September 12, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    It is so amazing what kind of programmes there are available now to help kids. It will help me too when my daughter is old enough to learn to read.

  59. September 12, 2017 / 8:46 pm

    I love the idea of this for kids who are just starting to learn to read, or those who struggle to read. x

  60. September 16, 2017 / 1:44 pm

    Never heard of this before. It sounds fantastic. I have to say it’s very affordable too and the fact that it’s educational too! May have to add this to Christmas gifts this year!

    • Laura Dove
      September 16, 2017 / 6:15 pm

      It’s so affordable and definitely worth it to further your child’s reading! xx

  61. Via Bella
    September 18, 2017 / 12:39 am

    Did you get to review it through the old schoolhouse? It’s very interesting because they’re doing something for a homeschool review for reading eggs as well. This seems like a good product to review and to get for kids.

    • Laura Dove
      September 18, 2017 / 10:09 am

      No I didn’t? That sounds great though! xxx

  62. Laura H
    September 18, 2017 / 10:18 am

    I am all for programmes and games that help children get into reading. It’s a shame that kids spend so much time glued to technology these days, glad it can be put to good use!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:32 am

      I agree, but if they are going to be on the ipad I’d rather them be doing this! xx

  63. September 18, 2017 / 9:00 pm

    You convinced me! Sounds like a great idea. My boy will be in reception year from next September but he can already spell and knows a few words. It might be a good game for him!

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:13 am

      For the price it would be crazy not to, if we can help our children to read more, and better, it’s worth it! xx

  64. September 19, 2017 / 7:16 pm

    That is a very reasonable subscription. I’m wanting to give it a go, as I feel that my little girl has lost confidence over the summer holiday.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:01 am

      Yes! We did this over the holidays for that exact reason. The girls really enjoy it! xx

  65. Niki
    September 19, 2017 / 7:36 pm

    I think I need to invest in this. My girls would love it I’m sure and I e heard nothing but good things from lots of people.

    • Laura Dove
      September 20, 2017 / 10:00 am

      I’d definitely recommend it Niki. xx

    • Laura Dove
      October 4, 2017 / 11:00 am

      Yes it’s such a bargain, cheaper than one kids magazine a month! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *