Arts and crafts with toucanBox

I am the first to admit that when it comes to arts and crafts, it doesn’t come naturally to me. Although I can stretch to cutting and sticking and the occasional junk model, I lack creativity in that department. I spend hours trawling Pinterest for inspiration, especially at this time of year, but so often I am put off by the fact that every craft requires so many random components which, for three children, can soon become very costly. And so, more often than not, you’ll find my children making towers from empty toilet rolls and cereal boxes, and that’s about as far as it goes.

So when I heard about toucanBox,  fortnightly subscription craft box delivered to your door, I knew that my children would love to sign up. Available in three different sizes, petite, grande and super, each box contains everything you need for exciting, themed activities and, even better for novices like me, a step by step instructions for each craft.

Priced at £3.95 (plus £0.98 postage) we selected the petite boxes and excitedly awaited their arrival. I had high expectations of the boxes, given that each craft has been designed by educational experts to challenge a child’s problem solving skills and aid their creative development, all whilst being good fun to do.

When our boxes arrived the children were over the moon, mostly due to the fact that each box has the child’s name on the front, making it a very personal experience.

kids-with-boxes

At four, Eva has never received anything addressed to her in the post before and, being able to read her own name, she was very excited!

toucan-box-front

Each box is carefully packed to include everything you need for the fortnightly theme. On opening our boxes we discovered that our first theme was Treasure Islands!

toucan-box-inside

Included in our box was a Treasure Island activity book, crayons, glue and everything we needed to make a pirate treasure map and our very own parrots! Each box also includes details of the next fortnightly toucanBox.

toucan-box-contents2

First of all we decided to make our pirate parrots, and the children couldn’t wait to get stuck in. Each pack contained a pre cut-out parrot, an assortment of coloured feathers and a “wonky eye” to finish off the look.

haz-making-parrot

I have never seen the children so quiet as they coloured in their parrots and began to stick on the feathers. I love that each of my children had their own pack so there was no arguing over who had the glue stick, or who stole all of the pink feathers. With three young children crafts can get quite stressful and yet other than helping Harry to stick on his “wonky eye”, they managed to make the parrots all by themselves, and the results were fantastic!

meggys-parrot

Our next task was to make a pirate treasure map. The pack included the paper for the map, stickers, crayons, a paint brush and even a tea bag to soak the paper in to give it that authentic feel. And with step by step instructions there was no room for error!

eva-scrunching-paper

After scrunching up our maps, the children painted their paper with tea and impatiently waited for them to dry.

meggy-with-tea-and-brush

eva-with-tea-and-brush

harry-with-paper-and-tea

Once the maps had dried we were able to arrange the stickers, draw out the map and all that was left to do was to find the treasure!

eva-drawing-on-map

eva-holding-finished-map

The pirate boxes were such a hit with the children, and for £3.95 I was so impressed with the contents. Had I bought each of the items individually to create our pirate crafts, it would have cost substantially more.

Our second box was themed “Kings and Queens” and contained an activity book, coloured pencils, and craft supplies to make royal finger puppets and a royal crown.

activity-book-contents1

It was lovely to see the children sat together at the table, heads down, colouring away, really concentrating on their task. At two, three and four, it’s a very rare sight, although again it made a huge difference that they each had their own individual supplies and there was no squabbling over someone “hogging” all of the pencils!!

kids-colouring-in

After making the finger puppets the girls couldn’t wait to make their royal crowns. “I am the queen and you are the princess!”, Eva told Megan, who nodded obligingly, “I am Princess Jasmine!” she said, as she carefully stuck jewels to her crown. Other than helping the children to cut out the felt for their crowns, they were able to decorate them by themselves before I helped them to attach the ribbon. And with their crowns finished the girls took their place on their “royal throne”.

girls-with-crowns

I was equally impressed with the Kings and Queens box, for the price you get such a lot of supplies and even after making the finger puppets and crowns there was still enough left over to create something else in the future.

We are very excited to receive our next box, as all orders placed before the 15th of December will contain limited edition Christmas crafts built around the idea of Christmas tree decorating! Alongside this, toucanBox are also offering various special offers and treats in their Christmas advent calendar, found here in the toucanBox shop.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend toucanBox to anyone whose children enjoying arts and crafts. Not only are they excellent value for money but they are just so convenient, having all of the materials delivered to your door instead of trawling around the craft shop or ordering from various websites on line. I love that everything we need is right there in one little box, with clear, step by step instructions and individual components for each child.

To receive your own FREE toucanBox simply enter BLOGGERTREAT here and trial a subscription for your child. I’m certain that you won’t be disappointed!

 

3 Little Buttons
Run Jump Scrap!
Cuddle Fairy

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Dear Bear and Beany
Mummuddlingthrough
Admissions Of A Working Mother
Follow:
We were sent the toucanBox for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own.

58 Comments

  1. December 13, 2016 / 11:54 am

    This looks like a lovely box! I do love boxes like these because everything is ready and you can simply just sit down and get on with the fun without any of the usual prep!

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 12:57 pm

      Me too, I hate having to dash around trying to get hold of everything, and it costs an absolute fortune! xx

  2. December 13, 2016 / 12:30 pm

    Sometimes all we need is inspiration when it comes to crafts and these sound just the thing x

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 12:57 pm

      Definitely! I would never have thought of these by myself! xx

  3. December 13, 2016 / 2:13 pm

    My girls would have loved this! How exciting to get something addressed to them full of art and craft stuff! Perfect.

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 5:45 pm

      I think that’s so exciting for children isn’t it? Seeing their name on something, they literally couldn’t contain their excitement when we opened them up! xx

  4. December 13, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    What a lovely idea, I know these would be really popular in my house with not only my four year old, but also my teen girls! (I’m Janet Robertson-Peverley on FB)

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 5:45 pm

      Hi Janet! They really are fab and we had so much fun making the crafts together! xx

  5. December 13, 2016 / 5:53 pm

    I love the idea of these toucan boxes as they sound ideal for when ur a bit stuck of ideas. I think kids would love receiving these definly something I’ll consider for my son when he is a little older.

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 6:45 pm

      Definitely. I think they are aimed at children a little older than my youngest but he loves to join in with his big sisters and he managed the crafts with only a little bit of help! xx

  6. December 13, 2016 / 6:11 pm

    Awww, they look like they are having a blast, I have had similar product and great with having al lthe stuff in one place X #mmbc

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 6:45 pm

      I’ve never had a subscription like this before, such a good idea! xx

  7. December 13, 2016 / 6:23 pm

    I’ve been toying with the idea of toucan box for awhile, but I can’t justify it as I have a whole room full of craft supplies. But If I ever ran out I’m pretty sure I’d be using Toucan Box for our son, I think he’d love it.

    • Laura Dove
      December 13, 2016 / 6:44 pm

      They are great boxes, and I love the crafts included. I’m hoping they inspire me for future craft projects although I really do lack creativity! xx

  8. December 13, 2016 / 10:48 pm

    I love the ‘treasure island’ / pirate theme, it is an excellent idea and who doesn’t like pretend play especially when it involves crafts?

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2016 / 10:50 pm

      My kids LOVED their pirate parrots, so much fun! xx

  9. December 14, 2016 / 6:24 am

    oh wow! that looks really fun! I love the craft games, they are excellent to develop creativity in children xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2016 / 10:50 pm

      It was so much fun! xx

  10. December 14, 2016 / 8:02 pm

    What a lovely box. It looks full of fun and creative ideas. They all look like they were enjoying crafting 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2016 / 10:45 pm

      They had a fab time, and not too messy which was a bonus! xx

  11. December 14, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    A great review. This is exactly what I need to keep the kids occupied over the Christmas holidays.

    • Laura Dove
      December 14, 2016 / 10:43 pm

      Yes! They are fab for rainy days! xx

  12. December 15, 2016 / 8:55 am

    This really looks like a fun box for kids! It keeps kids occupied for a while, doesn’t it? And that’s what every mum wants..:) Great review! #coolmumclub

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2016 / 11:17 am

      Anything that keeps my children busy is a hit with me! xx

  13. December 15, 2016 / 1:37 pm

    Popping back over from #coolmumclub xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2016 / 4:46 pm

      xxx

  14. December 15, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    Oh wow! What a great idea! Never heard of this before, definitely looks like so much fun. Could be perfect for kids parties.

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2016 / 4:45 pm

      Yes it would! Well worth trying a free box! xx

  15. December 15, 2016 / 5:22 pm

    Super cute! My girls would love it!
    #brillblogposts

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2016 / 7:47 pm

      We had so much fun! xx

    • Laura Dove
      December 15, 2016 / 11:21 pm

      They are fab, you’ll love it I’m sure! xx

  16. December 16, 2016 / 4:01 pm

    I’ve not looked into anything like this before as Max has been too young, but he’s at just about the right age now where he’s starting to really love crafting, and these don’t look too messy either, which I know means he’s less likely to turn his nose up! I love the themes, and the price is really reasonable! Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

    • Laura Dove
      December 16, 2016 / 7:56 pm

      They are so reasonable, you should send off for the free one and see what Max thinks of them, Harry LOVED it! xx

  17. December 16, 2016 / 4:59 pm

    I do love a craft and our craft supplies are quite large as I am guilty of buying in bulk when places like Sainsburys change their stock they reduce the old range to penny prices and I can’t resist! But even so it is a bit annoying when you don’t have all the right bits to hand, so this all in one box option is good. Looks like you had great fun!

    • Laura Dove
      December 16, 2016 / 7:55 pm

      I bought LOADS in the Sainsburys sale too! That’s what I love about these, you have all the bits so there’s never that moment when you realise you’ve ran out of wonky eyes, ha! xx

  18. December 16, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    I love this! Arts and crafts activities are so up my street so this is fabulous to read 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 16, 2016 / 7:54 pm

      They are just great boxes, we have really enjoyed them! xx

  19. December 16, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    I love that it comes with everything that you need and the price is brilliant. Alice loves to do crafts and with us now only having weekends to do it, things that make my life easier are a win win. Plus they are great to have in the cupboard ready for a rainy day. Thank you for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove x

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2016 / 7:47 pm

      I agree, I hate having to trail round looking for all of the bits to do activities, this was so easy! xx

  20. December 16, 2016 / 10:05 pm

    Oh these look fab and seem very reasonably priced! And as always, I love the gorgeous photos of your children! Thanks so much for linking this up to #DreamTeam 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      Thank you, they are really good value considering what you get! xx

  21. December 16, 2016 / 10:21 pm

    These boxes are such a great idea if like me you lack in the creative department. Love the pictures #brillblogposts

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2016 / 7:45 pm

      And me! I’m not very good at thinking up ideas for crafts! xx

  22. December 17, 2016 / 2:00 am

    oh look at them in their crowns so cute! I have to say Laura that I am terrible at craft and get so annoyed with the mess too. Yet all 3 of mine LOVE craft. One year I brought (well Santa) brought Aspen a huge box full of craft and she was thrilled but I was not. I loved her being happy, but oh it was so hard to bare. Now they tend to colour and draw more thank goodness as that I can handle! Sending you lots of Christmas love xx #FabFriday

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2016 / 7:44 pm

      Haha me too, that’s why I love these – the mess was totally minimal!! I don’t mind colouring as long as there is no felt tip pen or paint! Agggh!! xx

  23. December 17, 2016 / 10:16 am

    We love toucan box, such great activities packed inside for rainy days

    • Laura Dove
      December 17, 2016 / 7:41 pm

      I can’t believe we’ve never heard of them til now! Such fun! xx

  24. December 17, 2016 / 10:06 pm

    that’s look really awesome I’m sure tat I will be buying something like that to my son when he will grow up a little bit
    #FabFridayPost

    • Laura Dove
      December 18, 2016 / 5:01 pm

      They are fab, we have really enjoyed them! xx

  25. December 20, 2016 / 9:24 am

    Oh I do love the personal touch – looks great. Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    • Laura Dove
      December 20, 2016 / 10:03 am

      They are so much fun, thank you for hosting! xx

  26. December 21, 2016 / 11:53 am

    I love it when these sorts of boxes actually turn out to be better than they sounded even 🙂 Looks like a lot of fun. Thanks for linking up to #Picknmix

    Stevie x

    • Laura Dove
      December 21, 2016 / 7:12 pm

      Me too! Sometimes you think they’ll turn up and be a bit rubbish, but they are fab and my kids really do love them! xx

  27. January 1, 2017 / 7:05 pm

    These look awesome! I like the treasure island theme and the parrots you made : ). It’s great that they have the tools inside as well. Looks like you had loads of fun and they are reasonably priced, I’ll have to check these out! Thanks for sharing with #StayClassyMama!

    • Laura Dove
      January 2, 2017 / 8:48 pm

      They are so much fun, the kids have gone crazy for them! xx

  28. January 3, 2017 / 3:11 pm

    I’ve heard of this company but didn’t know what you actually get – thanks for lifting the lid, literally!! #twinklytuesday

    • Laura Dove
      January 3, 2017 / 5:25 pm

      They are fab! The Christmas boxes were amazing, I’m already looking forward to the easter boxes! I mean the children are…..obviously! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *