A new room for a new year

At two and a half years old, Harry is still in our bedroom, something which causes our friends and family great amusement. “You do realise he’s not a baby anymore?” my friends always tell me, “You can’t keep him in your room forever!” And whilst I am guilty of refusing to believe that he is no longer a baby, and with him being the last I have definitely held onto the baby days for as long as possible, the main reason he hasn’t moved into his own room yet is because we simply haven’t got round to decorating it! The last two and a half years have been so manic, so stressful, so impossibly hard, that we just haven’t found the time to do it, until now.

And given the fact that it has taken us this long to decorate in the first place, it’s safe to say that we probably won’t get round to re-decorating any time soon, so it was important for us that his bedroom was decorated in a way that can be adapted as he grows.

After some thought we settled on plain coloured walls and a neutral carpet, and decided to simply accessorise the room with as many space rockets as possible, something which Harry is very much obsessed with at the moment!

1. Stickerscape Blast off space rocket wall sticker.

img_2189

Wall stickers are a great way to decorate a bedroom, brightening up a plain décor and even better, can be removed over time without damaging the paint work. This rocket ship wall sticker starts at just £16, comes in a choice of colours, with the option of personalisation to incorporate your child’s name or date of birth onto the rocket. Additional glow in the dark stars are available to continue the space theme across throughout the bedroom, and I know that Harry is going to love this!

2. Debenhams Blue Zoo Space bedding set.

img_2193

Perfect for our little spaceman, this space print bedding set comes in the most gorgeous, bright colours and at £23 is a real bargain for the quality of the set.

3. Fair Trade Astronaut Book Ends.

bookends

Harry loves books and so these astronaut bookends are such a useful addition to his new room. At £19 they are a sturdy, heavy weight book end which means that unlike other bookends we have used previously, his books will actually stay on the shelf and not topple onto the floor!

4. Le Toy Van Space Rockets.

img_2187

Sold individually, each rocket measures 16.5cm high and they are a real bargain at just £3.72. I am a huge fan of Le Toy Van, they produce such gorgeous, traditional wooden toys, that really do stand the test of time. I’m sure that these will look fabulous lined up on Harry’s shelves, although with his imagination, they will be blasting off in no time!

5. Aloka Sleepy Light.

 

img_2194

As soon as I saw this Aloka Rocket Night Light I knew I had to have it! We have tried a whole host of night lights over the years but none anywhere near as good as this. With twelve different shades to choose from, the night light changes colour using the child friendly remote control, or simply choose the rainbow function to cycle through all twelve colours – what could be more perfect for our little rainbow?

There are so many amazing features to the light – four brightness levels, a timer that will turn off after one hour, a sleep function that allows the light to be left on all night on a low level that will not disturb your child’s sleep and a pure white light for older children who wish to read in bed without straining their eyes.

With Harry having been in our room for such a long time I am nervous about how he will feel when he wakes in the night and we are not there beside him, so a good night light was really important to me and at £39.95, available from KiddiesKingdom.com,this was a really good investment.

6. I love you to the moon and back

il_570xn-194525035

Measuring 8 x 10 this space themed wall art will look fantastic in Harry’s new room. “I love you to the moon and back” is a phrase that we use quite often, and at £13.51 it’s a really lovely addition to his room.

We are hoping to have Harry in his own room by the end of the month and I will be sure to share the end results with you all. I’m hopeful that Harry will love having his own space, even though I will miss waking to his snuffly little murmurs, and that his room will be out of this world.

*Groan*

 

Diary of An Imperfect Mum

“>
My Petit Canard

 

Follow:

68 Comments

  1. Jo
    January 15, 2017 / 4:17 pm

    Those are some great ideas! I suspect Harry is going to love his room!

    • Laura Dove
      January 15, 2017 / 4:29 pm

      I think he will, although I’m going to miss him!! xx

  2. January 15, 2017 / 4:27 pm

    Can’t argue with that bedding! I used to LOVE my rocket ship bedding as a kid!!!

    • Laura Dove
      January 15, 2017 / 4:29 pm

      I’m sure he is going to love it too! Fingers crossed! xx

  3. January 15, 2017 / 7:20 pm

    Love this theme! very cool x

    • Laura Dove
      January 16, 2017 / 9:52 am

      Thank you, perfect for our little spaceman! xx

  4. January 15, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    If I were a little boy I would definitely love all that stuff. It makes room so nice and cosy! I like sleepy light the most- it has got great shape and useful functions:)

    • Laura Dove
      January 16, 2017 / 9:52 am

      Thanks Kat. The light is amazing!! The girls want one now too! xx

  5. January 15, 2017 / 9:18 pm

    Awww Laura! It’ll be such a strange thing to have your bedroom back, but what a GORGEOUS room you’ve got for Harry! Love the space theme, and the accessories you’ve got are ‘out of this world’ (hee hee hee!).

    • Laura Dove
      January 16, 2017 / 9:51 am

      I know, I feel really sad about it! No more babies in our room, although I’m sure he will be creeping in during the night for a snuggle! I hope so!! xxx

  6. January 15, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    What a fabulous room! I love the rocket theme. I really must follow your example and get the girls rooms sorted. They are growing up now and need a change #DreamandSparkle x

    • Laura Dove
      January 16, 2017 / 9:50 am

      It’s hard work decorating isn’t it? We’ve just done my eldests room and want our room doing next, and both bathrooms!! It never ends! xx

  7. January 15, 2017 / 10:09 pm

    What lovely decoration ideas! I loved decorating my daughter’s room and did it before she was born! When my son was born he had to share my stepson’s room so we were never able to decorate for him so when we were expecting my daughter and we had a bigger house I completely went to town on her room! I am now looking forward to doing it again now that she has turned 6! I particularly like the idea of the wall stickers and stars are my favourite! #DreamandSparkle

    • Laura Dove
      January 16, 2017 / 9:48 am

      We did our eldest before he was born, I was super excited and also super organised! The girls room took ages to do, and poor Harry 2.5 years! We’ve just done my eldests bedroom too, teen bedrooms aren’t quite as much fun! xx

  8. January 15, 2017 / 11:52 pm

    This is such an adorable bedroom for a little boy!! I hope Harry is enjoying it immensely. #EatSleepBlogRT

    • Laura Dove
      January 16, 2017 / 9:47 am

      Thanks Heather, I’m sure he will love it when we finally get him in there!!! xx

  9. January 16, 2017 / 11:00 am

    What a gorgeous room, I wouldn’t mind sleeping in there myself! I hope the transition goes well 🙂 #MMBC

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:42 pm

      Thank you Tara – me too! xx

  10. January 16, 2017 / 11:29 am

    That’s so sweet that he’s in with you still. I love having morning snuggles with my two, in face, my six years old recently started coming back into our bed in the night! These look amazing, I absolutely love the space theme. Thanks for being a fabulous part of the #bigpinklink

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:39 pm

      I think I need to accept he’s not a baby anymore, he’s still in his cot bless him and he will be three in May! The problem with Harry is he can’t be trusted! We tried him in a bed a few months ago and woke to him downstairs playing with the microwave! Agghh! xx

  11. January 16, 2017 / 12:58 pm

    Aww they are great choices. Finding the time when you are a busy parent is never easy. I am sure it’s going to be a fab room. #MarvMondays

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:37 pm

      Thank you. We’ve just spent the last two days doing Lewis’s room and my lovely Dad has put together all the furniture and got it all done. Harry is going into Lews old room so his turn next. This may be our last weekend with him in our bedroom, waaaaah! xx

  12. January 16, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    It is such a big step putting them in their own room – Sebby has his but almost always ends up back in with us

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:36 pm

      I’m secretly hoping that Harry creeps back in for a snuggle…xx

  13. January 16, 2017 / 6:31 pm

    These are sooo cute! I would love to do my kiddos room like this! #DreamandSparkle

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:35 pm

      Thank you lovely. xxx

  14. January 16, 2017 / 7:38 pm

    Ahh! What lovely ideas….I love that wall sticker and the night light especially!
    #MMBC

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:34 pm

      Thanks Kim, who doesn’t love space rockets?! xx

  15. January 16, 2017 / 8:24 pm

    I love these space themed items. I bought my daughter one of the leaves toy van rockets for Christmas as she loves space too. They are fantastic especially given the price. #marvmondays

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:34 pm

      They are such a bargain aren’t they? I thought there’d been an error when I saw the price! xx

  16. January 16, 2017 / 9:26 pm

    I love these ideas – having recently had a baby boy after 2 girls I have no idea how to decorate his room but I love these suggestions and the wall stickers look so good – much easier than wallpaper! #marvmondays

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:34 pm

      Keep him in your room for as long as possible and before you know it he’ll be 16 and able to tell you exactly how to decorate it! Hehe! xx

  17. January 17, 2017 / 11:31 am

    Love this theme. The wall stickers are gorgeous and I’m a huge fan of le toy van toys x

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:33 pm

      Thank you. Le Toy Van is fab isn’t it? I love traditional wooden toys. xx

  18. January 17, 2017 / 2:49 pm

    I fancy one of those Aloka night lights for myself! I’ve never seen one of those before. Wish they’d been around when my two were younger.

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:32 pm

      They are fab!! The kids love it because it’s a remote control that they actually know what to do with, although typical kids, they just want to press all of the buttons on repeat! xx

  19. January 17, 2017 / 6:51 pm

    I bet Harry is going to love going in his room with all of these goodies! that sticker is amazing!! im pretty jealous of his decor to be honest! dont worry about the late decorating – Ben’s room that should have been done 10 months ago still isnt finished hahaha ooops.
    #dreamandsparkle

    • Laura Dove
      January 17, 2017 / 7:32 pm

      Ahh I’m glad it’s not just me! 2.5 years to decorate his bedroom and yet we’ve just done my eldest room in 2 days flat! Maybe subconsciously I want to keep Harry in our room for a little longer….xx

  20. January 17, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    Aw, that is just the cutest little boys’ room ever! He’s got to just love it.

    • Laura Dove
      January 18, 2017 / 6:09 pm

      Thank you – I really hope so! xx

  21. January 17, 2017 / 10:03 pm

    I love this theme you have chosen! I’m so excited to start decorating my son’s nursery. #MarvMondays

    • Laura Dove
      January 18, 2017 / 6:08 pm

      Thank you! It’s always excited pulling a room together, next room is ours! xx

  22. January 18, 2017 / 6:04 am

    Oooo what a super duper room for your little boy. I hope he likes it. I bet it feels odd having the room back to just you and hubby! #eatsleepblogRT

    • Laura Dove
      January 18, 2017 / 6:06 pm

      He’s not quite in yet, this could be a long transition!! xx

  23. January 18, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    I hope Harry loves his room and you enjoy getting your room back too! 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      January 19, 2017 / 5:35 pm

      Thanks Grant, it’s going to feel really weird getting our corner back! xx

  24. joanna
    January 19, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    What a fab theme I am sure Harry will love his room.

    • Laura Dove
      January 19, 2017 / 5:27 pm

      Thank you, I hope so! xx

  25. January 20, 2017 / 3:46 pm

    Hi Laura, what a fab space themed bedroom Harry has now, and I bet he’ll agree it was worth the wait. I love old fashioned wooden toys and those rockets would brighten any bedroom.

    Thank you for linking up to the #MMBC

    xx

    • Laura Dove
      January 20, 2017 / 6:11 pm

      Thanks Debs, wooden toys are gorgeous aren’t they? I love bright accessories, so easy to mix and match! xx

  26. January 21, 2017 / 4:17 pm

    Love the rocket theme – the wall stickers are great. We went for simple wall colours and funky vinyl stickers too 🙂 #eatsleepblogrt

    • Laura Dove
      January 21, 2017 / 5:29 pm

      Thank you, funky stickers are fab for brightening up a bedroom! xx

  27. January 21, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    Oh what an awesome theme! He is so going to love that. We still have our teeny man in with us too! There’s no rush, that’s what I reckon anyway 😉 xx

    • Laura Dove
      January 22, 2017 / 11:05 am

      Ahh I’m glad it’s not just me. Harry is my baby, I suppose I have to let him grow up sooner or later though. Waaaah! xx

  28. January 21, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    Excellent theme. I bet he will love it. We recently redecorated our son’s room wall-to-wall race cars and he was thrilled. I think kids always love knowing something was done just for them. #BigPinkLink

    • Laura Dove
      January 22, 2017 / 11:03 am

      Oh that sounds fab!! It’s so easy with little ones, we’ve just done my almost 13 year olds bedroom and I was stuck for ideas. In the end we have gone for black, white and grey, its’ so grown up but he loves it! xx

  29. January 21, 2017 / 9:24 pm

    what a lovely room, I hope harry enjoys sleeping in it (the whole night) too 🙂 xx #DreamandSparkle

    • Laura Dove
      January 22, 2017 / 11:02 am

      Haha oh me too Nikki! xx

  30. January 22, 2017 / 10:22 am

    Wow what a lovely bedroom idea! With Max being 6 months and in dyer need of the cot we’ve decided that we need to bite the bullet and put Amelia in a big girl bed at last. She’ll be 2 in a few months so I plan to full on decorate her bedroom which is going to be so much fun! Can’t wait to see how Harry’s bedroom turns out 🙂 #bigpinklink

    • Laura Dove
      January 22, 2017 / 10:57 am

      Thank you. It’s a big jump into a bed, I’m not sure that Harry will even stay in his, he’s a real menace! Good luck with the big girl bed! xx

  31. January 22, 2017 / 2:52 pm

    What a fantastic bedroom- he is going to love it! Zach was in our room until he was 2 and Oscar likely will be too!! Thanks for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

    • Laura Dove
      January 23, 2017 / 9:31 am

      Oh I’m so glad it wasn’t just me! My friends all seem to ship their babies out at a few weeks old, I just can’t bear to part with him just yet! xx

  32. January 22, 2017 / 4:16 pm

    We’re big fans of themed rooms for kids. Love what you’ve picked here and we find that Etsy is a great place to pick up custom ‘one-offs’ #TwinkyTuesday #DreamTeam

    • Laura Dove
      January 23, 2017 / 9:31 am

      I agree, Etsy is fab!! Thank you for reading. xx

  33. January 22, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    Popping back with the #DreamTeam this time. I do love your rocket theme idea. We went for stickers too. I love how easy it is to change a theme with them. xx

    • Laura Dove
      January 23, 2017 / 9:30 am

      Thank you lovely. xx

  34. January 24, 2017 / 9:58 pm

    I know what you mean about keeping them in the room with you as long as you can. Our youngest has her cot with us and we’re thinking of moving her into her own room. (We’re lucky to have the rooms, really.) But there is a nagging sense of making the most of her while she’s still young – she’s not one yet. I think two-and-a-half years might be a bit long for us, though. 🙂

    • Laura Dove
      January 25, 2017 / 9:32 am

      Haha I think two and a half is a bit too long for most people!! To be fair it’s pure laziness really, we just haven’t got around to doing his bedroom, but I also think subconsciously there’s a reason why I haven’t done it. I love waking up to his little face each morning, watching me from his cot, it’s going to feel weird having him next door!! xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *